We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A small hotel that is clean and comfortable and as a bonus has a wonderful breakfast. I only wish we had managed to fit an evening meal into our stay.

Well worth it, would definately stay there again.

If you like small boutique type hotels this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    356
    60
    22
    20
See reviews for
111
434
65
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here as a finale to our touring holiday. The location is ideal - close to Union Square and you can just walk out of the door and hop onto a cable car.
The hotel is quirky, in a good sort of way, full of French memorabilia and art. We loved the old fashioned (but fully functional) elevator, taking us back to an earlier era.
The room was large, well maintained and clean. We had thought that the lack of air con might have been a problem but with a window open, it was fine. On the 5th floor, we had very little noise from the street below and the views of the cable cars passing up and down Powell St fascinated us.
The staff were courteous and helpful, giving us advice on how to travel and suggested things to do.
The choice of menu for breakfast was a bit limited but was quickly served and nicely cooked.
We would definitely stay here again when we next visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our stay (9-26 through 9-28, 2K13) was the third in the last three years. As former San Franciscans, we like the ambience of a small and tasteful hotel rather than large convention-type lodging. Other likes: location within walking distance of Union Square, China Town, Financial District; more than delicious breakfasts; complimentary SF Chronicle; knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful staff; garage parking with in-out privileges; and, of course, the great dogs - Noel and Bayard. We prefer off-street rooms and appreciate 209. Because of previous booking in a busy month we stayed in 609, which was the only available room. Same location, but a couple of reasons for us to prefer 209 next time: 609- No light on the desk and more warmth at the top of the building - fan cured this for the most part. Other than that, we look forward to a return visit, thank you!

Room Tip: See "Review" above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location. Comfortable, clean rooms. Reminded us of the boutiques in Paris and Provence. Excellent hot breakfast included and helpful the Jose' is a wealth of information! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for six nights during August and September 2013, staying on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel (Bay window facing Bush Street in room 501).

First up, I would like to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to SF, and this Hotel made our stay comfortable. We liked all the "Olde Worlde" touches with the ornate ceiling roses and plaster work throughout the Hotel. There is art work on walls and doors throughout the building. The Restaurant (Which is in the basement) has been made up to appear like an old room inside a castle (Our view of the appearance, another couple we spoke to there thought it looked like a dungeon. But it is way too nice an atmosphere to fit that description).

The provided breakfast is adequate for the day to start. On that note, the breakfast is two eggs (In various formats, fried, scramble, omelette), two slices of toast (White or wholemeal), fried shredded potato (Sort of like shredded hash brown) and a slice of orange with one strawberry. The meal comes with one cup of coffee or tea and a glass of orange. We both got a lot of laughs out of the Asian lady that came to get our order each morning, she would say: Today, we have fried eggs or scramble on toast.... (That was all six of our days, but we enjoyed the eggs to start our day anyway, and the staff working in the breakfast area are lovely).

Our room (501) was on the small made larger with the bay window that the front rooms have, and we were very comfortable in this room for 6 nights anyway. The bathroom was adequate with a nice touch of having a claw foot plastic bath (Which we liked). There is a small cupboard in the room with a spare blanket and pillow, plus a safe in the floor (You have to ask for a locking mechanism for the safe, and they explain how expensive it is if you lose the key).

There is no air con in the room, but we never needed it. No fridge or microwave makes this stay a lot less convenient to us, but may suite others. There is a coffee making machine in the bathroom (Cannot make straight boiled water for making tea, so you may want to try to find a shop selling a 110 volt kettle if that is what you need), the machine is provided with coffee sachets, no milk provided, and if you buy milk, you have nowhere to stop it going off. Though we asked the front desk if we could use one of their ice buckets for our stay (We kept ice from their ice machine in the basement, and stored our 1litrs milks in that each day. Worked just fine.

The Sony flat screen TV was good quality and they provide a large range of stations compared to most hotels we have stayed at.

Others here say that the front rooms are noisy with all the traffic, but on the 5th floor we thought it was just fine. On a weekend night, if it gets too noisy, you just close the windows (They are double glazed and when shut you cannot hear a thing). The trolleys that run up and down Powell (Crossing Bush next to the hotel) appear to ring their bell at this junction, and the noise they make running up and down the steel runs on Powell is a unique noise, but we found it to be a noise that did not stop us getting a good sleep every night.

We chose to dine at several restaurants in the area and also at the food hall within the Westfield Shopping centre at the bottom of Powell. There are so many options for food that we were spoilt.

All in all, we loved our stay, thought the hotel was great, but would really love to see a fridge and microwave in the room. We have recommend them to another couple that we know, and they loved the fact that the owners speak French (They speak fluent French and thought that our photos and description was enough to sell them on it for their first visit to SF.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms at the front of the hotel provide an interesting view, and less noisy. Upper fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location , you can even walk to Pier 39 if you are up to it. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor overlooking Bush and Powell. Nice sized comfortable bed . Just a perfect little hotel . We ate in the restaurant at the hotel one night which was very nice. On the corner of Bush and Powell is Roxanne Cafe which was superb value, the stuffed pork loin being out of this world. We would totally recommend both

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff helpful, we couldn't get accommodation due to The Americas Cup being on and they some how found us three nights.
Clean rooms , comfortable beds close to the city Union Square (safe area)
Polite and very helpful staff.
Would return again good price

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.