We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
APTOS, CALIFOORNIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Reasonable parking $ for the area. Breakfast was better than expected, Free WIFI, Great Euro Vibe. Water pressure was fine in shower. Liked the artistic accents. Liked that we could open the windows. I Will Return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear GS WEBER

We are waiting for your return..
Thank you for your good comments.

Sincerely

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    360
    63
    24
    20
See reviews for
107
433
65
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very well run boutique hotel at Bush and Powell - walkable to shopping, theater, Muni, cable cars, and even AT&T Giants park.(flat - 1.5 miles) We stayed in small room which was fine - but if you want a bit more leg room go to the next larger room. It has a great old elevator which runs more efficiently than modern varieties. Breakfast is cooked eggs, hash browns, bacon & toast or a pancake alternative (waffles, french toast) with orange juice & coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you, Boston friend, we shall be happy
to welcome you again

With our best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

this hotel is truly a gem, very quaint and within walking distance to union square and train station. 20 minute walk to the waterfront area. The lobby, room, hallways, and restaurant were all perfectly clean and bright. Its an older hotel and the rooms and bathroom are small but it has everything you need and this didn't bother us at all. It reminded us of being in Europe which only added to our stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing coffee and breakfast included in the restaurant downstairs. The price for what you get is great for how expensive the city is. We will only ever stay here in San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
It will be our pleasure to have you back, dear Sir MSK917, we are
glad that you liked our place, thank you for talking nicely about us.
.
With our best regards,.

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and were extremely happy with our stay.The service was excellent The room was rather small for an hotel in the States but the bathroom was spacious.There was no fridge or airconditioning but the windows opened.Decor was very French .The dining was amazing.Breakfast was very good.There was public space available to residents too. The overall appearance was jaded but it didn't detract from the positives.The location was perfect for Union Square , China Town and bus links to the waterfront one way and the end of the Embarcadero the other way.The Cable Cars ran passed the end of the street and were noisy from early morning til late at night. There were diners and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Susan,

Happy to have been able to surprise you.
We worked very hard in our small hotel.
Your good comments are a reward for all of us.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cornell Hotel has worked hard for their well deserved reputation as a great hotel. The hotel is located close to public transit (0.5 blocks to a cable car line) within easy walking distance to China Town and the financial district. I had no safety concerns in the evening.

The rooms are very comfortable and well kept and the restaurant is fantastic. I was somewhat concerned about not having air conditioning, but SF is often pretty cool, so it was very comfortable with just the windows open. If I ever make my way back to San Francisco, the Cornell is where I'll stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor are more exposed to street noise (the cable car line, sirens, etc...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Yes Jordan, we worked very, very hard in our small hotel.. but what a satisfaction for all
of us, now, to be able to compete with more well known establishments.
Merci encore.. for your good comments.
We send you our best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Cornell twice at the start and end of our 2 week holiday traveling around California. The hotel with charming and had a very rustic French feel. Beds were comfortable, there were additional areas to sit and relax and the breakfast was great. The location couldn't have been better; ideal for Union Square and it's shopping as well as easy walking distance from Chinatown and a 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf.
We were particularly impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. During our first stay our airline had lost our cases and the staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us during this period of stress. We were also rewarded with an upgrade on our return.
We would certainly recommend the hotel to others and not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear annagardet,

Thank you so much Anna for your good comments.
It has been a pleasure for us to welcome you in our
Cornell Hotel de France and able to help you.
Needless to say that we would be happy to welcome
you again or friends at our small place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If I had to find just a few words to describe my recent visit to the Cornell, they certainly would include delightful, just like Paris but much much better, attention to the smallest detail, a hotel with an artform all of its own, a shrine to Joan d'Arc, service personified, a fabulous restaurant, very reasonably priced, and much more.

Having decided to come to San Francisco with just a day's advanced planning, I found this lovely hotel on TA and was absolutely blown away. It is just what the doctor ordered for any true Francophile...and more. The main differences between this hotel and one in Paris is that this place is reasonable, they are friendly, helpful, and they are exceedingly polite.

First of all, the location is superb. Within a two block walk, you can be at Union Square or in Chinatown. Across the street is the parking garage.

The rooms are small, but all individually and beautifully decorated and exceedingly clean. They have an artist who comes in on a regular basis and is one of the best painters of murals and decorations I have ever seen in a hotel. The owner, who is from Orleans, France, has owned the place for 48 years and obviously takes great pride of ownership, unlike many of the mundane chain hotels. He has made the place a virtual museum. Floor two is dubbed the Etage Toulouse -Lautrec and features painting of the famous Albi artist up and down the hall way. Add to that, the hotel's artist has painted numerous little scenes of France throughout the public areas and in the rooms.

The restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc is a museum to this medieval lady. There are oil paintings, reproductions of her famous fighting armor, a collection of irons collected over the years by the owner, and much much much more. The basement location looks like the interior of a medieval castle. It's just so well done. The best part of the restaurant is the food ....and the price. $42 gets you a four course dinner. Mine included a wonderful soup to start, the best salad I ever had that was sprinkled with bleu cheese, pears,walnuts. Then, my duck l'orange rivaled the duck at some Michelin rated Paris restaurants in taste and quality. The dessert choices were a tartelette framboise, a delightful chocolate cake, or a Grand Marnier souffle. Everything was first rate and delicious.

A bottle of Alex Croton 1st cru for $48 and a Gevrey Chambertin for an unbelievable $32 just capped off the evening. I just can't get over how they do all of this for so little. As a comparison, I had a dinner the next night at the famed Gary Danko's that was three times as much, but no better quality. Service at the Joan d'Arc also rated a 10.

There is no doubt that I will return......... and thanks to the readers of TA who turned us on to this experience.

Room Tip: Room 201 has a queen and a single and overlooks Bush St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Azmusicman

Beautiful description of our small hotel. It is so nice to have customers
who can see and appreciate the artwork of a place.
We like to make our guests happy, and yes we are proud, now, to be able
to compete with renowed competitors while staying unpretentious and
reasonable with the prices.
Merci encore... for these rewarding comments

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.