We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and were extremely happy with our stay.The service was excellent The room was rather small for an hotel in the States but the bathroom was spacious.There was no fridge or airconditioning but the windows opened.Decor was very French .The dining was amazing.Breakfast was very good.There was public space available to residents too. The overall appearance was jaded but it didn't detract from the positives.The location was perfect for Union Square , China Town and bus links to the waterfront one way and the end of the Embarcadero the other way.The Cable Cars ran passed the end of the street and were noisy from early morning til late at night. There were diners and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Susan,

Happy to have been able to surprise you.
We worked very hard in our small hotel.
Your good comments are a reward for all of us.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    447
    78
    27
    23
See reviews for
148
581
76
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cornell Hotel has worked hard for their well deserved reputation as a great hotel. The hotel is located close to public transit (0.5 blocks to a cable car line) within easy walking distance to China Town and the financial district. I had no safety concerns in the evening.

The rooms are very comfortable and well kept and the restaurant is fantastic. I was somewhat concerned about not having air conditioning, but SF is often pretty cool, so it was very comfortable with just the windows open. If I ever make my way back to San Francisco, the Cornell is where I'll stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor are more exposed to street noise (the cable car line, sirens, etc...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Yes Jordan, we worked very, very hard in our small hotel.. but what a satisfaction for all
of us, now, to be able to compete with more well known establishments.
Merci encore.. for your good comments.
We send you our best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Cornell twice at the start and end of our 2 week holiday traveling around California. The hotel with charming and had a very rustic French feel. Beds were comfortable, there were additional areas to sit and relax and the breakfast was great. The location couldn't have been better; ideal for Union Square and it's shopping as well as easy walking distance from Chinatown and a 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf.
We were particularly impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. During our first stay our airline had lost our cases and the staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us during this period of stress. We were also rewarded with an upgrade on our return.
We would certainly recommend the hotel to others and not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear annagardet,

Thank you so much Anna for your good comments.
It has been a pleasure for us to welcome you in our
Cornell Hotel de France and able to help you.
Needless to say that we would be happy to welcome
you again or friends at our small place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If I had to find just a few words to describe my recent visit to the Cornell, they certainly would include delightful, just like Paris but much much better, attention to the smallest detail, a hotel with an artform all of its own, a shrine to Joan d'Arc, service personified, a fabulous restaurant, very reasonably priced, and much more.

Having decided to come to San Francisco with just a day's advanced planning, I found this lovely hotel on TA and was absolutely blown away. It is just what the doctor ordered for any true Francophile...and more. The main differences between this hotel and one in Paris is that this place is reasonable, they are friendly, helpful, and they are exceedingly polite.

First of all, the location is superb. Within a two block walk, you can be at Union Square or in Chinatown. Across the street is the parking garage.

The rooms are small, but all individually and beautifully decorated and exceedingly clean. They have an artist who comes in on a regular basis and is one of the best painters of murals and decorations I have ever seen in a hotel. The owner, who is from Orleans, France, has owned the place for 48 years and obviously takes great pride of ownership, unlike many of the mundane chain hotels. He has made the place a virtual museum. Floor two is dubbed the Etage Toulouse -Lautrec and features painting of the famous Albi artist up and down the hall way. Add to that, the hotel's artist has painted numerous little scenes of France throughout the public areas and in the rooms.

The restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc is a museum to this medieval lady. There are oil paintings, reproductions of her famous fighting armor, a collection of irons collected over the years by the owner, and much much much more. The basement location looks like the interior of a medieval castle. It's just so well done. The best part of the restaurant is the food ....and the price. $42 gets you a four course dinner. Mine included a wonderful soup to start, the best salad I ever had that was sprinkled with bleu cheese, pears,walnuts. Then, my duck l'orange rivaled the duck at some Michelin rated Paris restaurants in taste and quality. The dessert choices were a tartelette framboise, a delightful chocolate cake, or a Grand Marnier souffle. Everything was first rate and delicious.

A bottle of Alex Croton 1st cru for $48 and a Gevrey Chambertin for an unbelievable $32 just capped off the evening. I just can't get over how they do all of this for so little. As a comparison, I had a dinner the next night at the famed Gary Danko's that was three times as much, but no better quality. Service at the Joan d'Arc also rated a 10.

There is no doubt that I will return......... and thanks to the readers of TA who turned us on to this experience.

Room Tip: Room 201 has a queen and a single and overlooks Bush St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Azmusicman

Beautiful description of our small hotel. It is so nice to have customers
who can see and appreciate the artwork of a place.
We like to make our guests happy, and yes we are proud, now, to be able
to compete with renowed competitors while staying unpretentious and
reasonable with the prices.
Merci encore... for these rewarding comments

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a very quirky hotel in a good location.
French music plays through the hallway, the decoration is strange but wonderful and I have never been to a place quite like it. It was nice to be somewhere with personality unlike many modern hotels which are stripped of any personal touches. The price was one of the best we could find in the area and the product was quality.
The room was a bit small but perfectly acquitted for what we needed. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. The included breakfast was tasty and the service down in the restaurant was good - the restaurant also has great decoration and was a super fun place to be. The location is great and close to union square, china town and little italy - all of which are worth seeing !

I would certainly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear miss rachael- leigh,

So glad you liked and appreciated the personality of
our small Cornell Hotel de France.
Thank you for your good description and comments.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

With our warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been staying at the Cornell for 30+ years. We find it very convenient to public transportation, shopping and many venues we enjoy. We love visiting San Francisco and enjoy the Cornell staff. It is like seeing old friends when we call and stay there. Joan and Mimi make us feel so welcome. Thanks, ladies!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Patngeom,

Thank you for being so faithful to our small hotel.
Returning Guests are like family to everybody.
We are grateful for your good comments

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Az
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cornell Hotel de France is both enchanting and quaint. The room is filled with charm and comfort. I particularly enjoyed the crisp White Bed Linens and the claw foot bathtub.

The Dining room creates the atmosphere of a cottage Inn and the music allows you to drift peacefully to another place an time.

We have stayed once before and the revisit allowed us to renew our passion and desire to visit France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sabrina,

Our small hotel has been described as a vestige of the past...
So glad you appreciated what we offer and try to achieve..
For your kind comments..merci beaucoup

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,189 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#6 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,449 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#21 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.