We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California road trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“California road trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Cornell excellent location and very helpful staff, rooms are on the small side but totally adequate for what anyone would need for a few days in the city. Breakfast was provided and proved a good start to the day although by the 3rd morning the French music in the dining room was becoming a bit tedious

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    400
    69
    24
    21
See reviews for
123
496
70
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My granddaughter and I stayed here two nights in a "large" room with two beds. All rooms are small, but you are only there to sleep, so they are entirely adequate--and also quiet. Bathroom was good size with claw foot tub and shower. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great! Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, great restaurants, cable car, etc. Breakfast was wonderful. Only wish there had been "real" coffee (not the horrible stuff hotel rooms provide) available before breakfast (full breakfast included in room price) was served at 7:30 a.m. in the restaurant downstairs. If you want space and luxury, look elsewhere. If you want a good, clean room, some charm, and a GREAT value, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Cornell Hotel de France was a delightful discovery for my wife and I. We know San Francisco well and wanted to find a hotel that was near Union Square, but away from all the hustle and bustle. The Cornell was perfect. It has a warm, relaxed feel. The owners and staff are personable and helpful, and you can't beat the rates in the Union Square area. We stayed in room 500, which looks out on Bush Street. Even though we left the window open during our entire stay, noise was not a problem. The room was quite clean and comfortable. Free wifi was included, as was breakfast in the restaurant on the lower floor. Parking was available directly across the street at a price that is much lower than the typical Union Square overnight parking charge. Union Square is just two blocks away, but even better, we bought a day pass for the San Francisco muni and hopped on the cable cars that run up and down Powell Street--an easy way to get across town.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the Cornell and plan to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Friendly reception, pretty good location and free breakfast are very attractive. Rooms are ok, quite small so when only staying a couple of nights it makes it a bit tough unpacking the suitcase. Only real issue we had was with the temperature - even though it was bloody freezing outside (something we've since found out is very normal for SF basically all year round!), the rooms were boiling! Both my fiancee and I woke up covered in sweat on numerous occasions during our two nights.

That said, we still enjoyed this hotel - very comfortable bed, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I almost always stay at the Cornell Hotel when I vacation in San Francisco. The rooms come with a full breakfast and the french toast is the best. The rooms can be small, but the bathrooms have a clawfoot tub and are a good size. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located on Bush St. and Powell St. Nice homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked this 'Hotel' (more accurately described as a Pensione), in the hope of experiencing something different from the usual hotel experience. The hotel carries a French theme, with a model of Joan of Arc in the hallway.

One advantage is that the hotel has an arrangement with the parking garage across the street. You can park there for 24 hours for about $20.

One thing we noticed is that there was a lot of dust. Everywhere. The room was tiny, barely enough to fit two people with luggage. The heater in the room was dilapidated and not working, which is a must for San Fran.

Each morning you go down for breakfast, and the cheerful and helpful waitresses will give you the same options - french toast or bacon and eggs (with very minimal bacon). I'd suggest the toast.

If I had my time over, I would pay the extra and stay closer to Fisherman's Wharf, which is where the action is. It is quite a long walk from the hotel (due to the terrain, potentially up to 45 min).

However if price is an issue, there are a number of similarly priced hotels in the Nob Hill area which you may wish to investigate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLE VALLEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights recently. It's a lovely little hotel. Very well maintained, and the staff is extremely friendly. We booked one of the small rooms, and it was quite small - the size of a bedroom vs a hotel room. However, we were hardly ever in our room so it didn't matter to us, and the bathroom was good sized so that was nice.

The hotel is a very short walk to Union Square and Chinatown, and it's right on the cable car line. There are a lot of restaurants in the area within walking distance. It's not far from BART, and we walked to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ferry Building from the hotel. It's quite hilly, but other than that, it's an easy walk.

Breakfast was included with our stay. The breakfast was very nice. They did have a small selection of cold cereals, but they also offered home-made french toast or eggs made to order. The eggs were served with two pieces of toast, a strip of bacon, and some hashbrowns. They also served orange juice, coffee, and tea. It was much nicer than your typical hotel breakfast.

The owners of the hotel, as well as their staff, were extremely friendly, and they went above and beyond to make you feel at home. We really wish we would have had an opportunity to have dinner at the hotel because I had been told by some locals that they have wonderful food in their French restaurant. We would certainly stay here again if we're in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.