We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of France” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Little bit of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Ambience, location, friendly helpful staff, decor, charm, good breakfast, every room slightly different with hand painted flowers, even quaint shower fixtures which worked perfectly after being trained by the night desk clerk who told us they were "very French". All made our first night there so delightful we retuned for 2 more nights a week later.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    392
    65
    23
    20
See reviews for
123
475
69
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Les Artigues
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Each Time I am in San Francisco I choose this little lord french style hôtel .
Very close to Union, you CAN take the câble car on Powell witch is at one door!
The restaurant is also very good with à french chef the free wi fi is apreciate and use full for the business. I came here at least five times and each Time I enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose the junior suite excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with two other couples in April, 2013. We found the hotel staff to be very courteous (definitely French), the hotel is quaint, quiet even though the SF Powell St. Trolley is only steps away, and rooms are typically European sized. Each morning we were served an American breakfast (included) and had we known about their gourmet French restaurant, would have experienced that as well. When we return to SF we will definitely look to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location and reasonable rates. The room was bright,pretty and much larger than expected, and the bed was very comfortable. My only complaint: no internal ventilation/AC system or fan in the room, so it became much too warm and stuffy overnight. While open windows kept the room breezy and cool throughout the day, the room faces Bush St. -- a noisy, busy street, so closed windows at night are a must to keep out the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bush Street will be noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

While my business associates spent $250+ for rooms and $35 for breakfast at next door Sir Francis Drake and the Marriott, I spent $145 for a small room, with a delightful breakfast included at Cornell Hotel. The staff went out of their way to please, including letting me store my bags and return to access them again several times throughout the day. (Free) internet is fast, although not accessible from the dining room. Location is perfect - 6 blocks walk to BART station and 4 blocks to Chinatown.

Only downsides were the shower smelled kinda moldy, very little water pressure in shower, and glasses provided were crusted with toothpaste residue (I hope that's what it was!).

I would stay here again, if nothing else just to have another cup of their breakfast coffee - it's perfect! See room tip for #307 below.

Room Tip: Room 307 is 9' x 11' and view is a side of the building. No view but quiet since no street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When my wife and I visit San Francisco, we usually stay at the Cornell. It has a friendly, multilingual staff with lots of hand painted ornamentation on the walls. We like that it's a European style hotel instead of a giant chain hotel. The location is excellent with bus, cable car, and BART transport close by along with restaurants and Union Square. An American style breakfast is included and there is a parking garage across the street. We also like that foreign travelers stay there so it has a more international tone. We always feel like we're going to our special boutique hotel in the City.
Larry and Delia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my fiancé spent 9 days at the hotel and had an amazing time. Staff is very good and professional, the hotel restaurant offers excellent food. The details engraved in every bit of the hotel walls and decoration were one of my favourite parts. I completely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.