We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cornell hotel de france” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cornell hotel de france”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

charming oasis of french calm and charm very close to union square. the restaurant was unfortunately closed for vacation. my loss . it was wonderful on a prior trip. a lovely experience. it was everything i had remembered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    366
    61
    23
    20
See reviews for
120
446
66
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during a girls trip to SF. The hotel's location couldn't have been better for us. It was ON the streetcar line, and only two blocks from Union Square. Chinatown was also within walking distance. The staff was very friendly. If you drive, be prepared to park your car in a nearby garage. Patrons of the hotel get a reduced rate, but we still paid $84 for 4 nights parking. The room was very quaint, but beautifully decorated. I loved the claw-foot tub and the painted ceiling in our room. All in all, I would definitely recommend a stay here, and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Perfect location to everything! Trolley right outside, buses 1 small block in any direction. Walk down hill to union square & tons of shopping, either trolley takes you directly to wharf or Chinatown. Restaurants, cafes, diners- all within easy walking of hotel. This charming, beautiful boutique hotel was amazingly comfortable in every way. Staff incrediably friendly & accomodating to our schedule, allowed us in room 3 hrs earlier than check-in time, and held our bags for us for 6 hours our last day. We stayed 4 nights, slept wonderful each night, very quiet, very comfortable. Bkft included, in the charming basement french restaurant, was very good and filling. The decor and even the "lift" (elevator) were SO charming! Even the ceiling in our room had a mural painted on it. Loved it. The room was clean, neat, closet small BUT there was also a dresser, so plenty of room for our belongings. Was nice to have a window that opened. An iron/ironing board and blow dryer were all in room also. The shower had great water pressure always. We stayed in the "cozy room", room 207, myself and my 11 yr old dgtr. Was just right for us. Next time will try another room, would like room with one of their claw foot bathtubs!

Room Tip: This hotel is tucked in between 2 buildings, in lower Nob Hill. Don't expect any spectacular vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is all about location, situated 2 blocks from Union Square, difficult to beat that. The oldfashioned interior decoration didn't appeal to us and things like an oldfashioned tub with fixed shower affects the comfort. The heating was on only short periods each day and we felt a need for sweaters most of the time although the outside weather was warm for March. The corridor outside the hotel room was used to store replacement beds the main part of our eight day stay. The staff was very helpful and positive. Breakfast was included, always a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous in every way. We had arrived direct from Australia via LA that day and were tired but able to check in late morning. The room was as you would expect, was clean and in good condition. We had a medium size room on the 2nd floor at the back, we had no trouble sleeping, it had plenty of storage and good wifi. We used the stairs rather than the elevator. We had the 3 night, 2 dinner package and the restaraunt is wonderful, great service and fantastic food, the breakfast is excellent as well, it sets you up for the day. The location is perfect, close to Union Square and Chinatown, cable car and shopping. Overall the hotel is charming, the service great. It is a refreshing difference from the bland hotel chains. The price is fantastic value for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

(The only way to enter a ranking is to write something, although I don't have a lot to add to what others have already said. But I thoroughly enjoyed my recent three-night stay at Hotel Cornell de France, and wanted to say so.)
In any case, the location two blocks from Union Square (and 20 yds. from the cable car line) is indeed ideal, yet my rear-facing room was always quiet; the room itself was compact, but warmly decorated with lots of French art and with first-class bedding; the elevator looked historic, but always worked; there was a pleasant front sitting room; and, above all, the staff were always friendly and helpful. There's a fine French restaurant in the cellar; and a B&B-quality breakfast (included in the price) is served there in the morning; and the price, finally, is very reasonable by San Francisco standards - I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice hotel, room were very nice but smallish. Short walk to theater. Close to Union Square. Jeanne d'arc was closed so we didn't get to eat there which was sad since we had heard so much about it. Wifi was very good. Tub is old fashioned with claw feet and shower is the old fashioned in the tub with wrap around curtain. Tub is very high and if you have mobility problems it does pose a problem. No safety bar. Shower was very good however, with great water pressure. Only negative was breakfast. Only had two choices and could not mix. Eggs and bacon or waffles. Could not get waffles with bacon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.