We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Perfect Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous in every way. We had arrived direct from Australia via LA that day and were tired but able to check in late morning. The room was as you would expect, was clean and in good condition. We had a medium size room on the 2nd floor at the back, we had no trouble sleeping, it had plenty of storage and good wifi. We used the stairs rather than the elevator. We had the 3 night, 2 dinner package and the restaraunt is wonderful, great service and fantastic food, the breakfast is excellent as well, it sets you up for the day. The location is perfect, close to Union Square and Chinatown, cable car and shopping. Overall the hotel is charming, the service great. It is a refreshing difference from the bland hotel chains. The price is fantastic value for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    399
    68
    24
    21
See reviews for
123
494
70
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

(The only way to enter a ranking is to write something, although I don't have a lot to add to what others have already said. But I thoroughly enjoyed my recent three-night stay at Hotel Cornell de France, and wanted to say so.)
In any case, the location two blocks from Union Square (and 20 yds. from the cable car line) is indeed ideal, yet my rear-facing room was always quiet; the room itself was compact, but warmly decorated with lots of French art and with first-class bedding; the elevator looked historic, but always worked; there was a pleasant front sitting room; and, above all, the staff were always friendly and helpful. There's a fine French restaurant in the cellar; and a B&B-quality breakfast (included in the price) is served there in the morning; and the price, finally, is very reasonable by San Francisco standards - I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice hotel, room were very nice but smallish. Short walk to theater. Close to Union Square. Jeanne d'arc was closed so we didn't get to eat there which was sad since we had heard so much about it. Wifi was very good. Tub is old fashioned with claw feet and shower is the old fashioned in the tub with wrap around curtain. Tub is very high and if you have mobility problems it does pose a problem. No safety bar. Shower was very good however, with great water pressure. Only negative was breakfast. Only had two choices and could not mix. Eggs and bacon or waffles. Could not get waffles with bacon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a nice option to the more expensive upmarket hotels. The room was on the small side, with a more "European" style. However, added space would not have added much to the experience and really isn't needed. Our room faced the street. If you needed the window open at night for cool air there was the typical city street noise (mostly cars, not people). With the windows shut, it was quiet. Wifi speed was good enough to stream Netflix without incident. Charming common spaces. Quaint elevator.

Restaurant package deal worked well for us. Breakfast was good and plentiful (eggs or french toast), and it was nice to be able to waddle back to the room after dinner in the hotel. We found dinner to be an exceptional treat which was made more affordable with the package booking. Several restaurants at all price points around, and nearby convenience stores.

Good access to MUNI, and BART and therefore the airport, Berkeley, etc. if you are a walker (several blocks with a hill). Union Square is just a few blocks away (Nespresso cafe is a trip in itself), it is a nice (more gently sloping) walk down Bush Street (by Chinatown) to the Ferry Building (Acme bread for those of you yearning for a baguette), and on to the Embarcadero, and points beyond.

All in all I found this to be a good balance of price, comfort and location. And while I would have preferred a/c (for the street facing room at least), I would rather stay here than the upmarket chains nearby or even the options near Fisherman's Wharf. I felt more like I was in the normal part of the city here rather than in the tourist zone.

For us this was a very good fit.

Room Tip: In the warm season go for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed here a few times - never disappointed. Quaint, unique, quiet and clean. Our rate included two breakfast and dinner at Jeanne d'arc. There was discounted parking. Near cable cars, so we didn't need our car. Owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located, near to the Chinatown, the Union Square and all famous shops around it.
Beside of the old installations, it is quite functional and clean and everything works well, which gives it charm and refinement.
The breakfast is reasonable, but its menu has only two options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute getaway for a long weekend in SF. Located 2 blocks off Union Square just a couple of steps from Powell. Fast response to email reservation. Check-in was seamless. Cute antique elevator along with a variety of French themes throughout. Owners speak French if required. Brecky was included in our deal, check local listings. WiFi was free & fast. Room was clean, quiet, well lit and suited all our needs. I would definitely count this property in the romance category and likely would stay again.

Room Tip: Shoot for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.