We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice way to stay in S. F.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice way to stay in S. F.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We have found our stay in S. F. at Cornell Hotel to be great. It's a pleasant small hotel with 6 floors. We were on the 6th floor with a two bedroom suite. My wife and I were with our college aged daughter. She had her own room and we had ours, but we shared a bath. It worked out great. The location is terrific and a very safe place. Very close to everything. The breakfast each day is very good and is served in their own French restaurant downstairs.

We highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    399
    69
    24
    21
See reviews for
123
495
70
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AUCKLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My son (14) and I stayed here in late June for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. More than a place to rest your weary bones (we had flown 11 hours) it is a great location with quaint (but small) rooms. Staff and owners are friendly and helpful, internet is fast and breakfast is the same everyday - which means it is great! Totally recommend as it is great value and you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The owners were awesome and the place is completely charming. When I came down to breakfast at 9:30 - the time the stop serving - they were happy to serve me and made me feel welcome to my excellent breakfast. The rooms aren't much but the bed was comfy. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The value is outstanding for SF. I felt like I was staying in Paris!

Room Tip: The owners were awesome and the place is completely charming. When I came down to breakfast at 9:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for only one night but we had an excellent experience! This hotel has so much character- the rooms are small but fitting with a hotel of this era. The complimentary breakfast was great and the service was beyond our expectations. Internet in the rooms was fast and there are a lot of great restaurants and shops nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is really nice, clean, rooms are spacious enough and location is absolutely great. Breakfast is good - but during weekends be prepared to wait since it starts quite late and everyone is there waiting to be served at the same time. Reception people are ok and Noel the Manager Dog is really nice;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cornell for three nights arround the July 4th holiday. I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor and followed the advice offered. We had a medium size room on a higher floor in the back. Room 536 on the Etagere Matisse, or the Matisse floor, was perfect. We openned the windows at night and had a lovely breeze with minimal noise. The bathroom was large and roomy. The cable cars do start early in the morning, but this did not bother me (I do use ear plugs when I travel). The hotel is charming and in an excellent location. Each floor is named after an Impressionist artist and has framed prints as well as miniatures hand painted on each door. The elevator has a sliding, accordion door like you see in the old hotels in Europe. The most charming part is the restaurant downstairs where you have breakfast or a fixed price dinner. The decor is renaissance France with stone walls that have hand painted vignettes all around, pictures of Joan of Arc, old tools and artifacts tastefully placed to compliment the decor and French music! Breakfast was eggs or French toast. Eggs come with two any style, a peice of bacon, two pieces of toast, hashbrowns, fresh fruit juice and tea/coffee. Sabine, the owners daughter, waited on us both days. The day time manager was Louis who was very helpful with ideas and directions. We loved this hotel and will go back on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall this was a lovely property with helpful management. The Queen room was small, but clean. However, the window in the bathroom which opened to an alley (we were on the ground floor) would not lock and therefore was a bit worrisome. The big draw back, however, was that we were jolted awake at 6:30am by what sounded like a flood of water in our bathroom, but turned out to be the water heater. It continued for a half hour, and was spouting hot air into our room. With no one at registration until 7:30 we did not have anyone to contact with our concerns.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.