We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn by the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn by the Bay to your Saves list
Comfort Inn by the Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #115 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I’ve had the privilege of staying here on four different occasions over past four years. The rooms are decorated of an older style but the views are worth a million dollars. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fulfilling. Give it a go, you will never know till you try.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Golden Gate Bridge views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    312
    181
    55
    35
See reviews for
180
231
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean and the beds (and pillows) were comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The hotel is located just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square and the famous part of Lombard Street. For the location, the nightly room cost was quite reasonable. There is underground parking, which was $26/night. The staff was very friendly. The hot breakfast was the average Comfort Inn fare - not great but not bad. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMF_SFO, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

location is quite good, in downtown,close to everything.

But service is not that good, not helpful, not friendly. And when booking the hotel, it was not stated clearly there is additional parking fee of USD26/day,which is a lot, while receptionist is not willing to tell you where you can park, she just said I don't know,I never park outside, I pay to park everyday.Ridiculous! But Sheraton hotel receiptionist told us when we drop by for some business.

I also asked the price to change from a standard room to a queen or king room, receptionist told us it is more than $50 balance to pay if I want to change, then I checked on line, it is only around $10 difference, how can it be this huge difference? And there is still vacancy.

Just personal experience for your reference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This well located Hotel (you can get taxis at all times) delivers what the chain promises: Standard room sizes -but definitely they need a replacement of beds and furniture- with free internet and fairly LCD TV sets in all rooms. Breakfast will satisfy all family members needs.
Price/Location is at it's best... Since San Francisco is a non-car city for visitors, you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf and you will never expend more than 10 dollars getting to the other neighborhoods like Union Square.
The limited staff wasn't helpful answering questions related to additional fees on top of the already paid by internet... bordering on rudeness.

Room Tip: Stay away from the single bed rooms, they are tiny and no view at all. Odd room numbers are facing n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the hotel was nothing specil the room could have been just about any other hotel room in the United States clean comfortibal 10 or 15 channels on the television, a safe no view in mine on the 5th floor faceing West but I didn't go to San Francisco to see a hotel room any way. I went to eat drink and see the sights and this was a GREAT location for all of the above. It was in walking distance of just about any land mark some one visiting the city would want to see and suround by good spots for a meal or a drink. I didn't have a vehical there and didn't need one but there is parking and public transport stops just out side of the door. the staff were plesent I rember the maitnace guy Alex being hellpful with directions and the desk staff tried to be hellpful but it wasn't their fault they didn't have tooth paste or shampoo at the desk. all and all I would stay there again but it is not the place for some one looking for a 5 or even 3 1/2 star stay but San Francisco is a cool enough place you won't want to spend much time in the room any way.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side at least up to the 5th floor have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent hours on TripAdvisor before choosing this hotel. We glad we did. It was a very pleasant stay indeed. The hotel was clean and the reception staff very nice. We didn't have a car. We had 2 rooms, the twin single overlooked the back of the hotel, the twin queen overlooked the "bridge". To be honest, the view of the bridge is no good when it's foggy (which is a lot of the time).
The breakfast area can get busy. There's a limited choice with the free breakfast, but it is palatable and we had no complaints about it (I really can't understand some peoples complaints I've read here, my comparison here being a New York hotel in a different chain we stayed at last year).
There's a bus stop across the road to the Bay. You could walk it in 15 minutes (the return trip is up hill for most of the journey though). There's a couple of bars and a small convenience store close by.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great views and location. Breakfast was better than I expected (waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal). Bus stop only 1 block away. Hotel was quiet even though we were on a busy intersection. Fantastic view of Golden Gate Bridge (if not foggy)Otherwise, nothing special about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.