We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!........Service, location, comfort, character.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Holidays are Near!
Ranked #35 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choice!........Service, location, comfort, character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I must admit that I was slightly disappointed when first arriving as the hotel room seemed musty and a bit more aged than I had expected but this was quickly dispelled by the charm and character of the hotel and its staff. The rooms have the aged bones of the building but have been updated and are immaculately clean (the mustiness was the closet only and quickly aired). I appreciated the beautiful, cultural decor of the lobby......so much more soothing and interesting than the normal generic lobby. The location is great, being in a quiet neighbourhood with close access to coffee shops, but a 10 min. walk from the bustling Union Square. Tip for a wonderful, cheap and cheerful coffee shop is Jin's Cafe at 965 Sutter.....we had take-out coffee, fresh squeezed juices and snack every morning due to the quality and value. We did try the hotel restaurant, Saha, for breakfast and was thoroughly impressed by the food and service...wish we had gone more often. The staff is what make the place outstanding....they were all genuinely friendly and helpful. By the end of the week stay the Hotel Carlton started to feel like 'home'. I feel guilty that I first doubted the hotel upon my arrival and would choose to stay there again on my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the staff and ambiance of Hotel Carlton during your recent stay and that you were able to experience our restaurant Saha. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    747
    242
    71
    30
See reviews for
217
837
118
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in the month of August. It is located at Sutter, one of the many major streets of the city. It is within walking distance to both the Civic Center and the Union Square, where you find shops like Macy or attractions like the Asian Museum. The China town is also within walking distance (20 minutes) too. The Fisherman's Wharf is too far to walk but you can catch a nearby cable car (long wait during peak tourist season, $6 per trip) to get there. Wi-Fi is free. Plenty of restaurant choices around, and different kinds of coffee houses in addition to Starbuck. Our room was clean, and kept clean daily. At night, however, you will run into homeless people while walking the streets. Most of the time they don't bother people. When we departed we ordered a limo to the airport for $50, through the front desk, which had been helpful. So for a central location this is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the central location at Hotel Carlton! We will be sure to let the housekeeping team know what a great job they did in keeping your room immaculate throughout your time in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hubs and I like to stay at the boutique type of hotels sometimes as they are cute/funky, and the service is good. This place fit that bill. Nice room, giant closet...we got a corner room with lots of windows too. The gentlemen at the front desk were super friendly and helpful. There were several restaurants in walking distance, even a little bar/grill next door. This place even has a wine tasting each evening for free!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Hotel Carlton! We hope you are able to visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Carlton. The best thing about it was the service and how friendly the staff were! Especially the manager! The rooms were clean and beds were amazingly comfy.

The hotel does a free wine hour (which ran over quite frequently) which was a great bonus and the manager jumped on the keyboard to play a few tunes!!

Within walking distance to all main attractions so great location too.

Taxis cheap so would recommend eating out in little italy (tony's pizzeria).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you TravellerUK3103 for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed Theo's service and keyboard playing and your entire stay at Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Carlton was exactly the kind of accommodation we hoped for in San Francisco - great location, friendly and quirky staff, and lots of character in the hotel itself. We stayed for several nights across two very comfortable and considerably large rooms (family of four; children 17+), allowing us to properly appreciate the location (a short walk from Union Square and amidst plenty of great local dining and art galleries), the helpful service of all the staff, and the lively daily wine receptions - amongst many other things. There was also a very evident element of environmental consciousness, as there is across most of San Francisco, which was nice to see. The hotel was good value and overall offered a lot of charm, making it a very fun experience. We would definitely recommend the hotel and return ourselves when back in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Higher floors may avoid some of the common street noise, though perhaps inevitable to be heard anywh...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very active on the environmentally-friendly practices; encouraging guests' mindfulness of linen and towel usage, though still offering services as often as requested.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you Julie for your 5-star review of your stay at Hotel Carlton! We are thrilled you enjoyed the service, location and character of the hotel and that it made your time in San Francisco memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is super clean and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. They gave us great directions and were very patient. The rooms are comfortable and look good. The walls are a little thin; we could hear our neighbors. The hotel is overall very nice, especially for its cost.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you Gmaley for the great review! I'm so glad to hear that you found the hotel clean, welcoming and centrally located! Thank you again! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

What I like: Very friendly and welcoming staff at the reception. Room size is pretty good given the location. I love the modern decor and the ceiling fan (just realized that AC is optional in mid-summer SF). Valet parking is a bit pricey but responsive and efficient. Union Square is within walking distance.
Caveat: Breakfast offering at the hotel restaurant is more on the expensive side, but there are plenty more affordable eateries nearby. The neighbor looks a bit rough, and I do not recommend walking at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you Xiaofeng for the great review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and close proximately to Union Square while visiting us.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.