We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Close to Everything
Ranked #35 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel has a nice balance between vintage and new furniture and atmosphere. The restaurant is good for breakfast. The staff in both the restaurant and hotel took the term excellent customer service a whole new level. They really like their jobs and works for the hotel. Everyone I met was always very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you Donna for the great review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the decor, the restaurant and the service you experienced while you were our guest.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    762
    249
    72
    30
See reviews for
219
855
118
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights and have a mixed review of this place:

Pros
- Staff is friendly
- Rooms are clean
- filtered water available on 3 floors
- bed was comfy
- Price was reasonable for San Francisco hotels

Cons
- Walls are paper thin...i asked for a quiet room and got a corner room. I thought this would be great until I could hear both the TVs of my neighbours and and any phone conversations they were having.

- I didn't think the neighbourhood was great. There are certain ways to get to this place so be selective which streets you take. I found walking down Sutter was generally pretty safe. So if you need to get to Union Square use Sutter as your main path.

- I needed to be in Union Square area a lot so I don't think I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you KentWeare for your review of our hotel. We know that hearing your feedback is one of the best ways that we can learn and continue to grow and improve. Thank you for the great comments about our service, cleanliness and price of our rooms!

Many thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel, as part of a Cosmos Tour. 5.30 drinks on the house! Rooms adequate, bearing in mind the location, 15 minutes walk to central San Francisco. For a sandwich Sutter Fine Foods is 3 minute walk. Inside is a deli which make the best sandwiches I've ever tasted. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much Alanbullafc for the great review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the 5:30 Happy 1/2 Hour we offer in our lobby. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity to the heart of downtown Hotel Carlton offers as well as some fantastic food and dining experiences nearby!

Thank you again! We hope to see you in the future back at Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best staff ever! Thanks a lot for these wonderful moments. We could not have found a better hotel for our first time in San Francisco! Staff and management members are kind and very helpful, and the room was so cosy. A great moment!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your first visit to San Francisco and your stay at Hotel Carlton. We are happy to be part of your experience and hope you come to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked a room cause I had a event at The Regency Ballroom that Saturday. I rarely go to San Francisco so did not really know what to expect. Easily checked in to one bed room. The staff was very friendly and informative about where to go. The only confusion there was where to park. But the staff also let me know about the garage close by. I found a good park right in front of the hotel. Great food at the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you Leslie for the great review! I'm so glad that you were pleased with your first time experience to San Francisco and your stay at Hotel Carlton with it's close proximity to the Regency Center! Thank you for the great feedback about our staff and the parking instructions! I'll be sure to touch base with everyone again and ensure we are more clear about options nearby.

We hope to see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Probably the best management and staff in town! The hotel manager and front desk & housekeeping staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed or wanted and to make us feel welcome. You will always get a smile and greeting every time you enter or leave the hotel. Our room was quaint, cozy, and clean. Not the largest bathroom but as long as you're not planning on dancing around in there you have enough room to perform the basic bathroom and shower necessities. The decor is very bright and exotic. The restaurant in the hotel, Saha, has the most amazing food. My husband and I ate our body weight in food between their small plate items and their entrees. The beef kibbeh, stuffed artichoke hearts, curried lamb, and helba & pita are to die for! We definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning to stay in the bay area.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra to get one of the city-view rooms on the higher floors: 1.) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much Nancy for the fantastic review and especially for the "dancing around" in the bathroom comment that put a huge smile on my face! Your kind words about the staff and Hotel Carlton are beyond appreciated and makes everything we do worth it!

I will be sure to share all of your kinds words with the staff during our next meeting so they receive the well deserve recognition for all of their hard work!

Come visit us again soon! You now have a home in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We could not have asked more from the hotel manager and staff. Our room was quaint and cozy. The restaurant in the hotel has the most amazing food. Would highly recommend for anyone traveling to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you fsuguy28 for the great review!! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the delicious food at Saha! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.