We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed, Breakfast & Dinner!
Ranked #35 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, they really made our stay so enjoyable. Hotel is a 10 minute walk to union square, and is an ideal base for touring the city. We were placed here initially for one night because our original hotel was double booked, but were happy to stay for the full 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to extol the services of our attentive team. It's our extreme pleasure to host first time guests, and we're happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We'd love to have you back and to share the many amenities and perks of our centrality, and we hope that you'll reach out again as you plan return trips to the area. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    758
    248
    71
    30
See reviews for
219
852
118
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great hotel in a great location. Lovely clean room. Customer service in this hotel was amazing, so helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed our stay here, we got upgraded as it was our honeymoon and were also given a bottle of wine to celebrate which was a nice touch. Free wine for half and hour every day, which also went down well with the guests. They have a restaurant on site, which we never actually ate at, but it always seemed busy and the food looked lovely.
Rooms had very thin walls so you did get noise coming from others rooms, however I think most people are aware of this and it didn't really other us too much and in general people do tend be courteous to others. We also spent very little time in the hotel as we were there to explore the city. I would def return to this hotel if I were to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such enthusiastic words of praise with us. It's an immense pleasure to be able to host such special occasions, and we'd love to offer our congratulations and well wishes on your marriage. Please me sure to reach out as you celebrate future anniversaries; we'd love to be a part of your memories and to share more of our property, services and region with you. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great place to stay in San Francisco. We stayed with 2 adults and 2 children. Yes the rooms are a little small but we were out all day so really didn't matter. The rooms are clean and have all the basic amenities including free WiFi. The staff very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a coin laundry 1 block away if you choose to wash your own clothes. It may not be suitable for really small children as it is a 15 min slightly hilly walk to union square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Marcus. We're happy to hear that your stay was an overall enjoyable one and that you enjoyed the outgoing hospitality of our attentive team. We'd love to host you again and to share more of our property and region with you, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the area. Many thanks again for your time and review; we'd love to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel Carlton by accident! We were booked at another boutique hotel that had a water break on the day of our arrival and could not accommodate our reservation. They re-booked us at the Hotel Carlton and we couldn't have been happier. The staff at the Carlton treated us as if we were booked there all along. We were only staying for one night -- but we were treated as if we were VIPs staying for a week. Recognizing the inconvenience (that wasn't their doing), we were given an exceptional room, welcome bag and chocolates for the kids and every courtesy imaginable. The location was fantastic and the staff was incredible. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're sorry to hear of your initial misfortune, it was a pleasure to have had you as our guest and to introduce you to the world class services of our property. We're happy to have discovered a fan in you, and we look forward to hosting your family again. Please be sure to reach out as you plan return trips to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My lady had booked this hotel and in truth wouldn't have been my first choice but WOW was very pleasantly surprised. Good caring staff, clean throughout, wonderful bedroom and bathroom.

Only complaint was that they get a lot of folks going there for the weekend to go out and party so not impressed with the loud noise and banging of them returning BUT the staff asked us to ring down if any more noise.

Would I return - YES and will do. Nice wine freebie at 5.30 and great music played live in the lounge area.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good
See more room tips
Green Features: They promote good environmentally-friendly policies and very much care about the safety of women travelling on their own and advise them accordingly.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such positive words regarding your stay. We're thrilled to hear that your reluctant beginning turned into a pleasant end, and I'll certainly pass your praises along to the team for their efforts. We apologize again for any disturbance caused by other guests, and we will continue to provide diligent attention in such matters to assure the comfort of each of our visitors. We'd love to hear more from you soon, and we hope that you'll reach out to us as you plan return trips to the area. Thanks again for being our guest and newest advocate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great hotel to relax in...granted I was here for work. But the hotel staff, which all had a great sense of humor, made the stay perfect. Relaxing atmosphere made working in the hotel easy and I even had a meeting in their lobby without a single complaint. Highly recommend. Free wine at 5:30 too for thirty min. They call it their happy half hour.
Also they saved me money on the trip back to the airport with their relationship with a shuttle service!!! A+

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to share such kind words with us. Our dedicated team is committed to creating an unparalleled experience for each of our guests, and we're happy to hear that your stay was complemented by their playful and attentive professionalism. We'd love the opportunity to host you again in returning visits, and we hope that you'll reach out to us the next time you visit the area. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have stayed there several times over the last few years and it's always very good. The staff is very attentive. The rooms are well maintained and a comfortable size. Great location - walking distance to Union Square, Civic Center and Market St. If there is any negative it is that their valet service is a bit slow, but they warn you to call from your room 30 minutes before and I've not seen it take longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to share your experiences with us, Tom. We're happy to be able to provide you with our attentive services and unbeatable location, and it would be our pleasure to host you again soon. Please be sure to reach out as you plan future San Francisco travels, and many thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.