We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff for a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Of Champions
Ranked #35 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Carlton at a time when the rest of the city's hotels were booked up for some conference, and were able to get a very good rate. The location is good, convenient and safe. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not your usuall experience and definitely has an interesting character to it. The rooms are small but clean. The beds are comfortable. And I found the artwork on walls, the map in the elevator with all the pictures and the rest of the "imaging" quite worthwhile. Overall, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your comments. We hope that you'll join us at the Saha Restaurant upon your next visit. We look forward to you return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    853
    276
    76
    32
See reviews for
251
961
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the minute we walked into the Carlton, we felt welcomed and amused. The staff was all extremely accommodating, very friendly, and funny too. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We only had breakfast at Saha restaurant, but wouldn't hesitate to eat there even if we weren't staying at the hotel. Yemini breakfast! Yum! The location is good for access to the rest of the city. And don't even think about missing the happy hour. For the price, you can't do any better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The Saha Restaurant is certainly a treat, and thank you for mentioning how much you liked it! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Roi Yot, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment we walked in until the moment we left, we felt cared for and watched after. The staff at the Carlton went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had just flown in from Asia and were exhausted. We dropped the bags and went to lunch, knowing we couldn't check in until the afternoon. When we returned, our bags were ready to go to our room and it was waiting for us. We made odd calls in the middle of the night (different time zones) and used the lobby for quiet work sessions but that was no problem. We had run of the house with all the services at our disposal. The restaurant is quite a find, as well. I have been eating at that restaurant for so long I can't remember when I first went. But I have always been thrilled with the food at Saha prepared by the chef's able hands. If you need a good place to hang your hat when you are really busy with business, and you want to be centrally located without paying the crazy prices or being stuck in the noise downtown, the Carlton is the choice. I was right on the bus lines to go visit family around the city and within walking distance to some really excellent food choices. I usually don't mind hotels much, I spend most of my time outside looking around, but this was a trip "home" and I wanted to be somewhere comfortable with people who were paying attention and could answer questions and help with business needs. I got that.

Room Tip: The east side faces a playground of sorts. It is only used after school for a few short hours, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback, and we love to hear that we became your home-away-from-home. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent customer service. We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready for us. Later that evening we enjoyed the free wine reception with SNAZZ. Upon returning to our room for the night we opened the window for fresh air and the window fell out into the room. A staff was in our room within minutes to repair. When the repair couldn't be resolved we were put in a room close by, offered a free bottle of wine and breakfast the next morning. Staff were pleasant, funny, and prompt. Thank you Hotel Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, and are pleased that we could assist you in a timely manner. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have to come down on the "disappointing" side of things. Several years ago I stayed at the Hotel Vitale in San Francisco, which is owned by the same chain. They were filled up, but directed me to their "sister" property. Poor cousin is more like it! I was disappointed when I got there, but reasoned it was not entirely fair to measure Carlton against Vitale (which is more expensive). I've stayed at any number of budget hotels, and don't really have a problem with less expensive options. So I utlimately checked in with an open mind.

But three things convinced me that Carlton simply does not measure up against any decent-to-upscale hotel. First, the room was extremely cold. The rooms do not have their own temperature controls, and when I asked at the front desk, I was assured they would bring a heater up. Never arrived. Strike one. Second, when I went to give my keys to the valet, I was told it would take them 45 minutes to bring the car around. "I said really??? That's ridiculous!" They said yes, that's how long it takes. So I voted with my $$$ and parked at a public lot down the street. Strike two. Strike three was the mildew in the bathroom. I mean, the rooms weren't disgusting, but it was hardly conducive to the nice boutique feel I was looking for. Everything was just drab and dated.

There was also the very small elevators, which were fine, if dated; and the weird Eurotrash music (loud!) playing during happy hour in the common area. Didn't really phase me, but didn't make me want to come back any time soon, either. Sorry guys! Everyone was perfectly nice; but the property is in real need of either updating or a serious price drop.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were not able to live up to your expectations. The Hotel Vitale is certainly spectacular, and we are honored to be a part of a great company like Joie de Vivre Hotels. We hope that you'll give us another chance, our service is truly what we pride ourselves on. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great friendly service, I especially enjoyed the 5:30 happy hour. The staff were very knowledgeable about the area, tourist attractions, restaurants etc. This hotel is well priced and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our nightly wine reception is certainly a treat! Give the Saha Restaurant a try next time. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was one of the few hotels available in our price range on our desired dates. We were pleasantly surprised in every way. The desk clerks are friendly, and one is positively hilarious. The valet parking was easy, with in and out privileges. The lobby is pleasant and low-key, with complimentary wine at 5:30. Our room was very quiet, on the side of the building. The size was modest but we were very comfortable with the decor, bed, flatscreen TV, lighting, etc. We didn't eat at the hotel because we were meeting others, but the Middle Eastern menu looked intriguing. The staff readily agreed to store our luggage from checkout until evening, and when we arrived to collect the luggage and the car, we were brought wine even though it was after Happy Hour. We felt the staff went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant Saha is certainly a treat just as you mentioned! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,237 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#63 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#23 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#19 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.