We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute decor, friendly professional staff, clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tomo to your Saves list
Hotel Tomo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute decor, friendly professional staff, clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived at 9am on the day of our reservation and they found a room we could get into right away. Professional staff and helpful with directions. We liked the location in Japantown. Easy to get to other points of interest from there and great ramen down the street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're so happy to hear that our prompt and friendly services exceeded the mark and that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. We'd certainly love the opportunity to welcome you back, and we hope that you'll reach out to our dedicated team with any of your future booking needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    463
    136
    37
    17
See reviews for
234
333
67
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

RECOMMENDED: There are few decent hotels outside the downtown SFO bussle. Tomo is located in quiet Japantown (10 min cab to downtown), you can fall out to find Japanese restaurants as well as an assortment of nice places on nearby Fillmore Street.

Positives: Bedding was quite comfortable, free Internet, neighborhood has plenty of restaurants/bars within safe n' easy walking, very clean, huge TV, definitely NOT downtown, you'll get a good neighborhood feel. Despite the cheerful furnishings - property has a 1970's feel to it (typical for many properties in SFO).

Negatives: Paper thin walls (front desk acted immediately though on group making noise in next room), bathroom is nothing special, limited closet space (with a shower curtain as a closure?).

In my world travels, SFO hotels generally are a poor value for money (often rundown, no capital investment and outside the norm room rates). The Tomo competes well against it's alternatives but likely would struggle in a more competitive environment.

'Net I'd stay here again for neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It was a pleasure to have hosted your recent visit to San Francisco, and we thank you for your time in sharing this feedback with us. As you've noted, there's certainly much to see and explore within our neighborhood, and we're thrilled that you were able to enjoy it, along with the comforts of our hospitality. Should you return, we'd love the opportunity to showcase some of our many other rooms that would be better suited to your preferences. Please be sure to reach out to our front desk team directly with any of your future reservations, and all out best until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno-Stead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel Tomo is just about a block or so away from Japan town, the parking fee could be set at a lower price, but overall everything was excellent, especially mum's, the replaced my order after I saw/took a bite before spitting it out that onions had made their way to my food which I stated I am allergic to them.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the services of our Hotel Tomo, and we apologize again for the miscommunication at Mum's; we're glad that the team was able to correct this so expediently. We will also pass your feedback along regarding parking, as we make every effort to be competitively priced for the area. Unfortunately, San Francisco parking in general is hard to find and costly to attain--we understand this well. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back, and we encourage you to reach out to our helpful team the next time you're in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice Spacious room good quality bedding with fluffy pillows. I enjoyed my stay but they really need to upgrade tv channels to include SFGiants and WArriors ;) convenient to where I needed to be. I didn't try the gym but nice to have that option. Nice neighborhood felt safe to walk around.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share this Hotel Tomo Experience with us, and we're glad that the visit was an enjoyable one. We'll certainly pass your thoughts along regarding available programming, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again and to share even more of our services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Japanophiles will appreciate the area and this property even more, but everyone will realize that Hotel Tomo is a wonderful choice offering great value, a unique theme, and friendly service in a city of pricey hotels overall. The surrounding area, Japantown, is clean, walkable, full of restaurants, and an interesting neighborhood to explore in its own right.

My room is spacious with nice wooden bedframes and a mural-like wall. Beds are surprisingly comfortable with silky smooth linens and 4 pillows. A/C system is old school (in-wall conduits, not the under-window unit type), and generates white noise -- the good kind. My room was very clean except for a stubborn stain on the carpet. "Lather" brand toiletries are outstanding for this rate class. Only found 4 electrical outlets though, two of which are next to the sink.

JDV has done a great job transforming an older property into a unique anime-themed hotel, although the concept could be taken further (e.g. in-room manga & anime 24/7, figurine on the pillow, more dolls around, etc). This is my first time staying at a JDV property and I'm leaving with a good impression.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side for zero traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
It's a pleasure to have been able to share our Hotel Tomo with you, and we're thrilled to have made such a positive impression on your San Francisco experience. As you've noted, the balance of comfort and value can be hard to find in the city, so we're proud to offer both, made even better by our playful charm and signature hospitality. We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future booking needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I needed a place to stay for a last minute trip. Hotel Tomo is clean and is located in a nice, safe area with plenty of restaurants and stores just a few steps away. I only had issues with the mini-fridge but the front desk should be more than willing to help accommodate if you let them know.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for visiting and for reaching out with this kind feedback, Jamie. As you've noted, our team loves doing all we can to make a visit memorable, and we look forward to welcoming you back and to sharing future ones with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April. I looked at loads of hotels in San Fran and this one stuck out as reasonably priced. It is spotlessly clean and the staff extremely helpful. It is a short bus journey to Union Sq and Fisherman's wharf etc but also walkable if you feel inclined. The surrounding area though has some lovely bars and restaurants....Fly on Sutter serves really nice food and beer as does Pizza Inferno just a few mins from the hotel. Everyone on first visits may not look at the Japan town area where the hotel is but I'd really recommend the Tomo!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks for visiting and for sharing this wonderful feedback with us, Fiona. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our site, services, and the many offerings of our region, and we hope that you'll join us again down the road to share in even more of our hospitality. Have safe travels until then, and thanks again for your thoughtfulness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomo

Address: 1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomo 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco is known for its style and sophistication. So it takes an exceptional hotel to standout. Like the Hotel Tomo. With its sleek urban lines, distinctive design and prime location in San Francisco's centrally located Japantown, it's easy to see why the Hotel Tomo has an attraction all its own. Surrounded by the shops, boutiques, restaurants and festivals of this vibrant neighborhood, our San Francisco boutique hotel also puts you minutes from other top attractions like Union Square, the foodie-fave restaurants in Lower Pacific Heights and The Fillmore's jazz clubs. What should also be music to your ears are all the perk-filled extras we offer in our design-forward hotel. Pair it all with our spacious, artfully imagined accommodations and yes-we-can staff and you have the makings of the ultimate San Francisco stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tomo
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western
Best Western Hotel Tomo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.