We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buchanan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Buchanan to your Saves list
The Buchanan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Hotel Tomo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
SFO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

i came in this hotel maybe twelve times or more !
like my second home in san francisco!
great location great staff!
quiet rooms !
heart of japantown
easy to park in the neighborhood
Good prices !
Manga decoration !
Good restaurants and shopping center in japantown acroos the street !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Please join us again soon, upon your next visit to San Francisco. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    481
    148
    41
    22
See reviews for
245
348
68
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was looking for a safe, clean, friendly place in that area because it was close to my family. Hotel
Tomo fit the bill perfectly. ( I knew I would not spend much time in my room....the goal of the trip was to be out & about, so I was not in the mood to spend a lot for amenities I would not use.)
Front desk folks were nice, the hotel was clean & well organized. The decor was fun....even tho
it is not my usual thing. (I mention that bec i wasn't sure exactly what I'd be getting into!)
And yes....I will stay here again. It met my needs and was actually beyond my expectations.
A great deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel certainly has a unique design! We hope that you'll return again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Location, location, location. I love that this hotel is in the heart of japtown. Also the fact that their staff is super friendly and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable and cute atmosphere. Probably the ONLY thing I can complain about was the lighting in the bathroom was really dim. It didn't bother me so much, but it needed to be brighter, lol. Maybe it was just our room. Also, this was NOT a noisy hotel at all. Which was a plus! It was quiet unlike most hotels in SF. Overall, a great hotel for a decent price. I'll definitely stay here again when I'm in SF!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom light. We are looking into that situation further. We hope that you'll return to the Hotel Tomo soon, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff at Hotel Tomo was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I stayed there for eight days and i was very impressed with everything. The room was very spacious and had a great view. It is definitely a hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Tomo, and in San Francisco. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a very good experience at Tomo.
The good: The room was affordable for a get-away weekend. Located in a neighborhood I'd never been to but very much enjoyed. The staff were friendly, helpful, and quickly responsive. The place is clean and attractive. The electricity, air, plumbing, and other items in the room all worked. The computers in the lobby are free for the first 20 minutes. The WIFI in the room worked perfectly. I read a lot of reviews and the room was exactly what I expected it to be.
Nice room features: We choose a Tomo King. The window is a little alcove you can sit in and enjoy the sunrise and sip coffee from the kurig machine in the room. Fun decor - my GF loves Manga and Anime. The view was nice (not a postcard skyline, but not an alley either - just an interesting neighborhood with trees and birds).
Other concerns: This is not a luxury boutique hotel, rather it's a cleverly decorated, well run, off-the-beaten-path, Best Western Hotel with a really fun theme. Keep your expectations in check. Also noticed some door-slamming noise in the morning.
Japan Town is my new favorite neighborhood in SF. I've been to the city 6 times before but never bothered to try Japan Town. It offers great food, night-life, conveniences, and an escape from heavily travelled tourist traps.
The location is great if you want to try SF's Muni bus system or like walking. Union Sq. is a 25 minute walk. Golden Gate Bridge is a 35 minute bus ride on the #2 and switch to #28, $2 bus ride.

Room Tip: The slot in the wall next to the light switch: Stick your key in there, it turns the power on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your comments! The Hotel Tomo takes great pride in being run by the Joie De Vivre family of hotels, and our eccentric feel is certainly unique. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very polite reception, clean room, and excellent location. We enjoyed walking around Japan Town. Ate breakfast at Sweet Maple, just a few blocks west, which is a great place with fantastic service. We spotted several interesting restaurants and pubs along Fillmore that we plan to explore next time. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Midweek was very quiet for a S.F. hotel. Plus, easy walking distance to some wonderful restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at The Buchanan, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#68 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#51 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#107 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#88 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buchanan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buchanan

Address: 1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Hotel Tomo)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buchanan 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco is known for its style and sophistication. So it takes an exceptional hotel to standout. With its sleek urban lines, distinctive design and prime location at the intersection of three of San Francisco's best neighborhoods, it's easy to see why The Buchanan has an attraction all its own. Surrounded by the designer shops, local boutiques, foodie-fave restaurants and live music venues, The Buchanan also puts you minutes from other top attractions like Union Square and Golden Gate Park. Pair it all with our spacious, artfully imagined accommodations and yes-we-can staff, and you have the makings of the ultimate San Francisco stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your The Buchanan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tomo
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western
Best Western Hotel Tomo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buchanan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.