We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....Really a nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tomo to your Saves list
Hotel Tomo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location....Really a nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was looking for a safe, clean, friendly place in that area because it was close to my family. Hotel
Tomo fit the bill perfectly. ( I knew I would not spend much time in my room....the goal of the trip was to be out & about, so I was not in the mood to spend a lot for amenities I would not use.)
Front desk folks were nice, the hotel was clean & well organized. The decor was fun....even tho
it is not my usual thing. (I mention that bec i wasn't sure exactly what I'd be getting into!)
And yes....I will stay here again. It met my needs and was actually beyond my expectations.
A great deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel certainly has a unique design! We hope that you'll return again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    445
    128
    32
    12
See reviews for
226
319
61
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Location, location, location. I love that this hotel is in the heart of japtown. Also the fact that their staff is super friendly and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable and cute atmosphere. Probably the ONLY thing I can complain about was the lighting in the bathroom was really dim. It didn't bother me so much, but it needed to be brighter, lol. Maybe it was just our room. Also, this was NOT a noisy hotel at all. Which was a plus! It was quiet unlike most hotels in SF. Overall, a great hotel for a decent price. I'll definitely stay here again when I'm in SF!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom light. We are looking into that situation further. We hope that you'll return to the Hotel Tomo soon, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Hotel Tomo was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I stayed there for eight days and i was very impressed with everything. The room was very spacious and had a great view. It is definitely a hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Tomo, and in San Francisco. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a very good experience at Tomo.
The good: The room was affordable for a get-away weekend. Located in a neighborhood I'd never been to but very much enjoyed. The staff were friendly, helpful, and quickly responsive. The place is clean and attractive. The electricity, air, plumbing, and other items in the room all worked. The computers in the lobby are free for the first 20 minutes. The WIFI in the room worked perfectly. I read a lot of reviews and the room was exactly what I expected it to be.
Nice room features: We choose a Tomo King. The window is a little alcove you can sit in and enjoy the sunrise and sip coffee from the kurig machine in the room. Fun decor - my GF loves Manga and Anime. The view was nice (not a postcard skyline, but not an alley either - just an interesting neighborhood with trees and birds).
Other concerns: This is not a luxury boutique hotel, rather it's a cleverly decorated, well run, off-the-beaten-path, Best Western Hotel with a really fun theme. Keep your expectations in check. Also noticed some door-slamming noise in the morning.
Japan Town is my new favorite neighborhood in SF. I've been to the city 6 times before but never bothered to try Japan Town. It offers great food, night-life, conveniences, and an escape from heavily travelled tourist traps.
The location is great if you want to try SF's Muni bus system or like walking. Union Sq. is a 25 minute walk. Golden Gate Bridge is a 35 minute bus ride on the #2 and switch to #28, $2 bus ride.

Room Tip: The slot in the wall next to the light switch: Stick your key in there, it turns the power on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your comments! The Hotel Tomo takes great pride in being run by the Joie De Vivre family of hotels, and our eccentric feel is certainly unique. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very polite reception, clean room, and excellent location. We enjoyed walking around Japan Town. Ate breakfast at Sweet Maple, just a few blocks west, which is a great place with fantastic service. We spotted several interesting restaurants and pubs along Fillmore that we plan to explore next time. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Midweek was very quiet for a S.F. hotel. Plus, easy walking distance to some wonderful restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hotel Tomo is perfect for families, as it is well located to Japan Center and Fillmore St. shops and cafes. It's Japanese anime decor is fun and kid-friendly, and my children loved the little goody bags the staff gave to them upon check in. The only negative was with WiFi issues even though the hotel advertises free WiFi for all guest rooms. We had to call an off-site technical support center 3 seperate times in a 24 hour stay. That said, good Keurig coffee in every clean and spacious room made up for the quirks. I would recommend this hotel to travelers on a budget. It is good bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. It was nice to stand outside for a bit of San Francisco foggy air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTomoManager, Manager at Hotel Tomo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered with the Wifi. We are pleased to hear that it was not too much of a disruption, and that you still enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Tomo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomo

Address: 1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomo 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco is known for its style and sophistication. So it takes an exceptional hotel to standout. Like the Hotel Tomo. With its sleek urban lines, distinctive design and prime location in San Francisco's centrally located Japantown, it's easy to see why the Hotel Tomo has an attraction all its own. Surrounded by the shops, boutiques, restaurants and festivals of this vibrant neighborhood, our San Francisco boutique hotel also puts you minutes from other top attractions like Union Square, the foodie-fave restaurants in Lower Pacific Heights and The Fillmore's jazz clubs. What should also be music to your ears are all the perk-filled extras we offer in our design-forward hotel. Pair it all with our spacious, artfully imagined accommodations and yes-we-can staff and you have the makings of the ultimate San Francisco stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tomo
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western
Best Western Hotel Tomo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.