We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Pad See Ew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benjarong Thai Cuisine

Benjarong Thai Cuisine
1968 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2807 (Marina District)
4154418999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina District
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Superb Pad See Ew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had our dinner delivered to our hotel and this is one my our best Thai meals out of Asia for this price range. The Pad See Ew had all the right flavours and they were generous with the fresh prawns I added on. Sweet, salty and savory flavours were spot-on. My son had the ginger chicken, to be sure it wasn't in the least spicy, and I wasn't expecting much, as the non-spicy Thai meat dishes usually don't impress too much, but it was definitely cooked by a skillful chef. It was tasty and they didn't try to add too much vegetables to skimp on the chicken. There was plenty of chicken and the onions, ginger, capsicum, spring onions were all added in just the right quantities to serve to flavor the dish appropriately. No more, no less.

My only gripe is that half the steamed jasmine rice was scraped from the bottom of the rice cooker pot. So it was hard and we don't eat this quality of rice. Rice is our staple and we are accustomed to only eating soft fluffy rice. My son didn't need so much rice, so that didn't bother us as much as it could have.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good Food, OK Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I had very good food at a very reasonable price. Our food arrived at the table rather sporadically over a 10 minute timeframe, which seemed rather odd to us since there were only three parties in the restaurant due us eating early.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Mmmm excellent Thai food & great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our family of four ate at the restaurant, very good food, plenty of food and very good value $44 plus tip. The Thai green curry was very nice, I liked their iterpretation, which included eggplant. The staff/owners were really friendly and the restaurant was welcoming and a good space to eat in. We ate at the restaurant twice in three days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles louisiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner - Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Although we were only one of three tables occupied in the restaurant, the take out and delivery business was hectic. We really enjoyed the food . Fabulous desserts. Loved the mango with sticky rice and coconut ice cream.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Selected this place based on Tripadvisor reviews. Thanks contributors! Went there for lunch. We ordered 2 lunch specials consisting of the soup of the day (a clear broth with veggies and tofu), an appatizer, rice and either an entree or curry with your choice of meat. My wife had the chicken cashew and I had the pumpkin curry. Since I also wanted to try the highly touted tom ka soup I gave my lunch soup to my wife. Unfortunately when the tom ka came she sample it and I had to share. We both agreed this was perhaps the best soup we have ever had. My wife has no tolerance for spicy food and loved her entree. I like mild spice and loved the pumpkin curry.
Can't wait to reteurn. Only oddity was a lack of removal of used dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong Thai Cuisine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Benjarong Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjarong Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.