We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Center Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Civic Center Motor Inn to your Saves list
Civic Center Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   364 Ninth St, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you aren't used to spending money, you soon will be in San Francisco. The Civic Center Motor Inn was a nice price for our overnight without taking money out of the food and fun budget. Combined with free parking, our stay at $200 for two people was a real bargain. The hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise. The room could have been quieter, but I did choose the first floor. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom clean and the stay was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Climb the stairs and stay on the second floor. Then take off those shoes and be kind to your downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    55
    30
    31
See reviews for
42
67
31
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here five nights. The managers and desk staff took excellent care of us, very helpful and accommodating. Room was clean and comfortable. The immediate neighborhood is kind of sketchy, but we had no problems. Very convenient to Castro and Mission districts as well as downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back to be father away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazadero, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff is always exceptionally Friendly and the motel is inexpensive and close to several South of Market Gay Bars and Dance Clubs. We drive into San Francisco from the North Bay area and enjoy the convenience of location near places where we can have a few drinks and afterwards not need to worry about driving...The rooms are clean, and they have a free breakfast room run by a friendly person .....They has a swimming pool and free parking inside the boundaries of the Motel.
So summary is: an average, inexpensive motel, with a very friendly Staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a motel and it's not in the nice part of town, we weren't expecting much but were in a bind for a last minute room on Saturday night of PRIDE weekend. We were pleasantly surprised! Free parking, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This motel is clean and quiet. Internet was spotty, at best. I was unable to work from here due to internet signal dropping. This is a good motel to spend the night at, but if you need to work online, you'll want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Car parking next to your room door (drive-in hotel - I should have known).
Loud traffic - the whole night (drive-in hotel - I should have known).
Loud guests - the whole night - o.k. if you like hearing what others do in their bed.
Bad smell in the room (aircondition or hidden humidity ?).
Toilet doesn't flush - but easy to fix if you are a craftsman.
located in an area in SF that residents try to avoid after sunset.
My local business partners did not let me walk there alone - but I did not experience own threads.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

To get to downtown San Francisco from the CCMI, you walk up 9th street and take a right onto Market Street. On Market Street you WILL encounter a lot of homeless people, crack heads and people with mental health issues, some of who are having psychcotic episode (talking/shouting to invisible people). You may find this unnerving if you are not used to it, and I would avoid the side streets at night. There is a big chain burger bar on market street that looks OK, but when we went in just for a cold drink, the majority of customers were people who live on the street, so be warned. Before anyone says, "they have to go somewhere", yes they do, I am just making people aware so they can choose where to stay. You do not see any further into central San Francisco and the touristy areas, I assume they get moved on, (towards 9th street?), you do see plenty in the parks, living rough in the hidden areas, very sad sight realy.The hotels street is noisy, we were woken every night by sirens or noisy bikes/cars. Relatively handy location and free parking, student style buffet breakfast with very limited choice. The rooms are very used and tired. It's cheap for all these reasons. We were on a 21 day road trip and stayed in 10 different locations, this was the worst by a long way. If I could rewind the clock, I would spend an extra $50 per night and be able to relax.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Address: 364 Ninth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civic Center Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.