We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely room, may be a little smaller than other places we stayed but plenty of space for my husband and I with our suitcases. Obviously in the heart of San Francisco you aren't going to get lovely views but the location was great! Just around the corner from Union Square itself and you can get cable cars from here. Taxi to Fisherman's Wharf for the Alcatraz tour cost us $10 which we were happy with as we didn't want to be driving around as it is a little confusing with all the one way streets! Valet parking was excellent (although expensive as we knew it would be anywhere in San Francisco!) and we were told when checking in that it would take 30 mins to get our car so we were advised to plan for this. We put the do not disturb sign on the door and housekeeping left clean towels and new toiletries in a sealed bag outside which was an added bonus! Doorstaff were great. Nice breakfast - better than we'd had in a lot of places across California (cereal, muffins, croissants, fruit, juice and tea / coffee). We stayed for 2 nights and had a great, comfortable sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    233
    219
    78
    27
See reviews for
62
272
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This place is a cheap, safe place to stay downtown. The location is why I picked it. It is within walking distance to Chinatown and the trolley car station. There is no AC but opening the windows cooled the room down. We were in the back of the hotel so the noise was not bad. The room itself was simple and small but clean and comfortable. There wasn't much of a breakfast but it got the job done. Overall if you are looking for a above average, inexpensive place downtown this is a good pick.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was small but cute. The location was great! It was a close walk to many bars and restaurants as well as shopping. It was a $10 cab ride back from the Warf after our walk there.

The walls were pretty thin so we were lucky our neighbors were not loud -- but I could hear the shower run and a nose being blown.

There is no air conditioning but the breeze was nice coming in the window. It was, however, loud being in the middle of the city.

We stayed for 2 nights. We really don't have any complaints. The only negative is that it took 1/2 hour to get our car back from valet which we didn't plan for as we headed to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When we arrived my boyfriend wrote me a note saying "what is this hell hole"
We were taken up stairs to our room and after travelling around the US for over 5 weeks it wasn't our favourite hotel to say the least, however it was a "hell hole" it's just dated and small.
The staff were helpful especially the evening front reception who helped us check out a day early after we decided to head to wine country earlier. (Purely because after 5 weeks I needed to get out of CBD's).
Breakfast is super simple almost not worth it, I myself did not attend the bar but my other half did and he was happy. Location was pretty good and we walked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Beresford for 3 nights from the 22nd July to the 25th July 2014.

I initially booked the hotel as it was the cheapest and closest to Union Square, and which had some good reviews on here.

The hotel is in an excellent position and close to lots of bars, restaurants, and shopping stores. Its also very close to the train station in Powell Street, and is where got the train to and from SFO internnational airport.

We stayed in room 504 which was a fairly good size and could just about accomodate the two of us. The bathroom was very small and dated, but functioned ok.

There was no air-conditioning in the room which meant we had to open the windows to let some air in every night, which meant we was kept awake each night with the noise of the pub below, which is ajoined to the hotel.

There was also a terrible noise in the room each time one of the neighbouring rooms used their water (shower, sink bath) and it sounded like a plane was taking off in our room as the noise from the water pipes was so loud, and it was certainly a shock to hear this at 05:00am after our first night here.

The free continental breakfast is pretty poor, but it is ok if you just want a coffee and a juice.

The hotel is old and dated which initially appealled to us, but after 3 nights of terrible sleep and early wake ups from the neigbours water pipes, I was ready to go home!

Apart from the noisey rooms and lack of air-conditioning, the hotel is ok and you get what you pay for (I paid around 100 GBP a night).

Unfortuately, I would not recommend this hotel (unless you are on a budget) and I would pay a bit more just to get a decent sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been staying at the Hotel Beresford since the late 1970s. The rooms are often small and it is a budget hotel, but one with lots of charm that is clean and in the best location in downtown SF. The breakfast is minimal but free and gets you by till lunch. The staff is nice and helpful. Don't expect luxury here but it has character and is a great value. But if you want a nice traditional hotel with room service, expect to pay an extra $100 per night and have rooms with much less character and tradition. The mini bar and laundry service in this hotel are the best bargains I have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent 2 + 2 nights here and were perfectly happy in the busiest, most central district of SF. The rooms are comfortable, if a little camped. Great bed, fine bathroom, noiseless rooms facing the courtyard. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast kind of sucks but has decent coffee and fresh croissants at The White Horse bar (which is attached to the hotel). This bar can be fun for Happy Hour after 5 pm for those craving free hot dogs and popcorn. But most of all, I would recommend this hotel for its location and "walkability" to just about anywhere in the city. A thrifty "find" for all travellers.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 6th and 7th floor. Both were surprisingly quiet considering the central location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.