We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location at a very reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location at a very reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Beresford Hotel (635 Sutter Street) in San Francisco was recommended by a friend for our one night stay in the city. The location is ideal for walking to Union Square or for taking cable cars to other famous sites (Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf or Pier 39. It is a dog-friendly hotel and all the staff was cherry and helpful. I asked for a quiet room and we were given the only guest room that I saw on the first floor, rm. 110 with a queen bed. Nothing fancy but clean and accommodating with a fridge and mini bar. Though it is across their restaurant, White Horse Restaurant, which we did not eat at but it looked very nice, we were not bothered by noise since we arrived back to retire after it was closed. We did go to their bar late that evening. It was very lively and had an old pub look and feel to it. There is a small workout room, and fax & computer access available on the first floor. Our room cost was $135 for the night, very reasonable for San Francisco and the hotel location. Valet parking is available but, we chose to park at the Sutter Stockton Garage just a few blocks away for a flat 24 hr. rate of $34.00 since we prefer to park our car ourselves. Friendly service, reasonable rates and great location. We will stay here again on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    272
    272
    91
    29
See reviews for
92
327
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Hotel Beresford. This was our third stay over a 30 year period. Not too much has changed. The hotel is very well located being on the edge of Union square and a short walk to the main cable car lines. Lots of shopping and restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel is vintage. Our first visit they still had a cage elevator with a elevator operator however the last earthquake changed that. We had a room that had a double bed, bath with shower and basic TV. The room was clean and quiet. The first night the temperature was too cool and there wasnt extra blankets provided. The next night seemed better and we got another blanket for the bed. There is wireless only in the lobby but the signal is strongest in the business centre. Continental breakfast is included. We chose not to have a car this time and did not miss it during our stay. For the price a solid choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ok the bed was comfortable and clean, but the sliding door to the bathroom was next to the bed. Heating noisy, view was air conditioning units in an alley, TV usual non-selection. Breakfast served in "pub" which was dark, decorated strangely and full of people in a slight state of shock at their surroundings. Cold coffee is standard, boxes of muffins and croissants arrived but not refilled. When you've finished, don't forget to throw your rubbish in the bin - it's easy to find next to the counter. Reception varied from helpful to offended you should ask. No wifi in room. Location: fine for union sq shops but not for good eating areas or waterfront. If it had been a third of the price fair enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you enjoy eating breakfast on a set from the Munsters, then this is the place for you. Blacked out walls, doors and windows, aging candalabras casting a ghostly light, crooked pictures, flthy, plastic fruit adorning the doors, and tables, denuded of varnish but covered in carved graffitti from previous clients - dinasuars, lover's initials and more spooky signings. The breakfast itself was also worthy of Herman. Luke warm coffee and tea, no toast or bagels but hey there's boxes of pastries that arrive curtesy of one of the Munster cousins. If you can find him, do not dare to ask for a HOT drink. Consider your fate!

We do not understand how some reviewers rate this place with the charm of the 40's. GO TO EUROPE!!! This place has the charm of the unloved. Peeling radiators, views of industrial sidewalks and no care for it's clientele. No wifi, except in the a hole downstairs with a belching ice machine and information rack carefully placed to be acecssible from knee high only.. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - so, basically, no chance of a HOT drink anywhere!

The morning reception staff matched the ambiance. On asking politely where the nearest swimming pool was I was treated to a verbal attack culminating in "Go find it yourself!".

Hey, but let's be fair here. If you want reasonably priced access to Union Square and a clean comfy bed, this place was OK. We watched a weird Patrick Swayze film on the tv and the room was fair sized and clean. Afternoon reception lady was also very nice and polite.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for a week and we loved it. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable. We arrived 4 hours early for check in and we were able to check in right away. The location was perfect for us. The cable cars was just around the corner, Union Square was just down the street, Fisherman's Wharf was just a hop on the cable cars (about 10 minutes away) and Chinatown was within walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we come back to San Fran =D.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Except the good location, just a few blocks away from Union Square and cable car station, all other services and features were rather poor: difficult communication with a part of the staff, poor internet connection, poor breakfast, noisy room due to some refrigeration unit located in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Beresford for 5 nights. Check in was smooth and reception staff very polite and knowledgeable.
Great location for getting around. Just a block and a half away from the cable car to Fishermans Wharf and a further block to Union Square.
Room was clean. We asked for a quiet room and got the top floor. Having read earlier reviews about noisy air con units from the building next door was a little apprehensive, but there was no need as it didn't keep us up. Bed was fine and shower room a little small but ok with plenty of complimentary shampoos, conditioners etc.
Breakfast consisted of a choice of two cereals, fruit juice, croissants, selection of pastries and muffins, fresh apples and grapes (sometimes bananas) and a choice of teas and coffee.
The in house pub...White horse...was handy after a long day out and a good price with 4 beers on tap and plenty of spirits etc. Can get busy in there at weekends.
No wi-fi in the rooms, just in public areas on the ground floor.

Overall we found this hotel very good. A reasonable price for a major city especially with the breakfast included in the price. If we were to visit San Francisco again, we would not hesitate to book here again....highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#104 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#98 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#120 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Baldwin Hotel
Baldwin Hotel
#79 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#167 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.