We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munsters style breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Munsters style breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you enjoy eating breakfast on a set from the Munsters, then this is the place for you. Blacked out walls, doors and windows, aging candalabras casting a ghostly light, crooked pictures, flthy, plastic fruit adorning the doors, and tables, denuded of varnish but covered in carved graffitti from previous clients - dinasuars, lover's initials and more spooky signings. The breakfast itself was also worthy of Herman. Luke warm coffee and tea, no toast or bagels but hey there's boxes of pastries that arrive curtesy of one of the Munster cousins. If you can find him, do not dare to ask for a HOT drink. Consider your fate!

We do not understand how some reviewers rate this place with the charm of the 40's. GO TO EUROPE!!! This place has the charm of the unloved. Peeling radiators, views of industrial sidewalks and no care for it's clientele. No wifi, except in the a hole downstairs with a belching ice machine and information rack carefully placed to be acecssible from knee high only.. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - so, basically, no chance of a HOT drink anywhere!

The morning reception staff matched the ambiance. On asking politely where the nearest swimming pool was I was treated to a verbal attack culminating in "Go find it yourself!".

Hey, but let's be fair here. If you want reasonably priced access to Union Square and a clean comfy bed, this place was OK. We watched a weird Patrick Swayze film on the tv and the room was fair sized and clean. Afternoon reception lady was also very nice and polite.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    232
    219
    78
    27
See reviews for
61
272
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for a week and we loved it. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable. We arrived 4 hours early for check in and we were able to check in right away. The location was perfect for us. The cable cars was just around the corner, Union Square was just down the street, Fisherman's Wharf was just a hop on the cable cars (about 10 minutes away) and Chinatown was within walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time we come back to San Fran =D.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Except the good location, just a few blocks away from Union Square and cable car station, all other services and features were rather poor: difficult communication with a part of the staff, poor internet connection, poor breakfast, noisy room due to some refrigeration unit located in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Beresford for 5 nights. Check in was smooth and reception staff very polite and knowledgeable.
Great location for getting around. Just a block and a half away from the cable car to Fishermans Wharf and a further block to Union Square.
Room was clean. We asked for a quiet room and got the top floor. Having read earlier reviews about noisy air con units from the building next door was a little apprehensive, but there was no need as it didn't keep us up. Bed was fine and shower room a little small but ok with plenty of complimentary shampoos, conditioners etc.
Breakfast consisted of a choice of two cereals, fruit juice, croissants, selection of pastries and muffins, fresh apples and grapes (sometimes bananas) and a choice of teas and coffee.
The in house pub...White horse...was handy after a long day out and a good price with 4 beers on tap and plenty of spirits etc. Can get busy in there at weekends.
No wi-fi in the rooms, just in public areas on the ground floor.

Overall we found this hotel very good. A reasonable price for a major city especially with the breakfast included in the price. If we were to visit San Francisco again, we would not hesitate to book here again....highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff were knowledgeable and the location is pretty good. However, for the price we expected more. For starters, the room was freezing cold and there is no air con dial. The heat usually came on after we had left for dinner and the boiler made loud noises. Our window was stuffed with newspaper to try and stop the wind getting through the massive crack. The room was very small and so was the bed. The bathroom taps needed two hands to turn on and off. Breakfast didn't involve any bread or toast or bagels. No wifi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is so close to Union square.5 mins walking distance.Room was clean.When you put on No disturb tag on the door drill.House keeping staff left one set of towl in front of my door.Although I didn't use it,I still appreciated what he/she did.Breakfast was included in the room fare.It can be better in the future.No a lot of options.Free wi-fi can be linked in the lobby.But I accessed the Free Wi-fi in my room 208.It took me 10 mins to walk to the metro station.Also 10 mins to China town on foot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you're looking for a short walk to Union Square this is an excellent hotel. Unfortunately the rooms require a much needed facelift and clean, as does much of the rest of the hotel. Wi-fi access is restricted to the lobby and you'd be better off missing the very mediocre breakfast.

Ok for one or two nights stay, but certainly no longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.