We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good.Breakfast can be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
China
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Location is good.Breakfast can be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is so close to Union square.5 mins walking distance.Room was clean.When you put on No disturb tag on the door drill.House keeping staff left one set of towl in front of my door.Although I didn't use it,I still appreciated what he/she did.Breakfast was included in the room fare.It can be better in the future.No a lot of options.Free wi-fi can be linked in the lobby.But I accessed the Free Wi-fi in my room 208.It took me 10 mins to walk to the metro station.Also 10 mins to China town on foot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    231
    219
    77
    27
See reviews for
60
272
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you're looking for a short walk to Union Square this is an excellent hotel. Unfortunately the rooms require a much needed facelift and clean, as does much of the rest of the hotel. Wi-fi access is restricted to the lobby and you'd be better off missing the very mediocre breakfast.

Ok for one or two nights stay, but certainly no longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice older hotel but very clean and well kept. Right in the center of the city. Two blocks to the park
Lite breakfast included. Rooms are very small but who cares for price is right and who stays in their room when San Francisco awsits

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What else can I say? If you are looking for a charming, old style San Francisco hotel, this is it.
It is like going back to a long gone era. Back to the 40s.
Location is simply great and the cost, for such well located property, is very acceptable.
The thing is, do not expect contemporary amenities in an old hotel like this. It is well kept and clean but you will not find plasma TVs, internet access and fairly large rooms.
In some cases rooms are indeed small but totally acceptable for a couple.
The bathrooms as others mentioned are small and again, like they were back in the day. :-) But certainly clean and totally usable.
If I had to coin a term for this hotel I would use "Charming value".

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the elevator (i.e. ending in 05) and try to get a room in the higher floors (7t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much from this 2 star hotel, as it was such a good deal. On arrival we had a very friendly welcome. Our room was lovely and comfy bed.

Continental breakfast included, which was a bonus.

Location of the hotel is brilliant and walking distance from the train station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Beresford perhaps five times in the last 40 years. We are pleased to report that the hotel,although old, is well kept and has been modernized in significant ways, including a new elevator since our last visit. In our room the TV set was old and a few favorite channels were missing, but the room was nicely kept up.There was no hair dryer and no coffee maker in the room, which we did not find a problem. New doors and locks were visible, carpeting in the halls was super.. The front desk staff, bell staff and maids were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Our stay was for two nights, and we were allowed to delay our checkout for an hour so that we could await our pickup in comfort. The continental breakfast was as advertised, and was pleasant (including the best chocolate muffins I have ever had). It would be nice if some protein were added, such as little yogurts.

For the price, and given the great location, we like the place.and will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's very central, you can easily walk to Union Square and the cable car. The rooms are pretty small and dated, but what else should one expect from a hotel that's this price? I personally thought it was pretty cozy. The beds were quite honestly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was super tiny, but everything worked well.
The continental breakfast was pretty terrible. There's a box of some stale pastries, coffee, orange juice, corn flakes and bananas, and the room in which it's served is pretty shabby.
Really though, it gave us everything we needed. The room was totally clean, and the hotel staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.