We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location. Great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What else can I say? If you are looking for a charming, old style San Francisco hotel, this is it.
It is like going back to a long gone era. Back to the 40s.
Location is simply great and the cost, for such well located property, is very acceptable.
The thing is, do not expect contemporary amenities in an old hotel like this. It is well kept and clean but you will not find plasma TVs, internet access and fairly large rooms.
In some cases rooms are indeed small but totally acceptable for a couple.
The bathrooms as others mentioned are small and again, like they were back in the day. :-) But certainly clean and totally usable.
If I had to coin a term for this hotel I would use "Charming value".

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the elevator (i.e. ending in 05) and try to get a room in the higher floors (7t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    236
    220
    78
    27
See reviews for
62
275
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much from this 2 star hotel, as it was such a good deal. On arrival we had a very friendly welcome. Our room was lovely and comfy bed.

Continental breakfast included, which was a bonus.

Location of the hotel is brilliant and walking distance from the train station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Beresford perhaps five times in the last 40 years. We are pleased to report that the hotel,although old, is well kept and has been modernized in significant ways, including a new elevator since our last visit. In our room the TV set was old and a few favorite channels were missing, but the room was nicely kept up.There was no hair dryer and no coffee maker in the room, which we did not find a problem. New doors and locks were visible, carpeting in the halls was super.. The front desk staff, bell staff and maids were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Our stay was for two nights, and we were allowed to delay our checkout for an hour so that we could await our pickup in comfort. The continental breakfast was as advertised, and was pleasant (including the best chocolate muffins I have ever had). It would be nice if some protein were added, such as little yogurts.

For the price, and given the great location, we like the place.and will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's very central, you can easily walk to Union Square and the cable car. The rooms are pretty small and dated, but what else should one expect from a hotel that's this price? I personally thought it was pretty cozy. The beds were quite honestly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was super tiny, but everything worked well.
The continental breakfast was pretty terrible. There's a box of some stale pastries, coffee, orange juice, corn flakes and bananas, and the room in which it's served is pretty shabby.
Really though, it gave us everything we needed. The room was totally clean, and the hotel staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, close to restaurants and bars (some small and quaint). We like to walk so we set off for Fishermans Wharf daily which took us around 1/2 an hour, very good for the calves. The first night we stayed after driving from San Francisco and were quite tired and ready for an early night....no chance. We were in room 209 which is directly above the games area of the pub directly below which sounded like a party was on in our room. Needless to say I spoke to the night manager who was polite and sympathetic and offered another room with single beds on the 7th floor but as it was getting close to pub closing (1:30am) we decided to move the following day. We were given a queen room on the 7th floor and the remainder of our stay was pleasant. Tip:request a QUIET room.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location but is in dire need of repairs, and the service at the front desk needs improvement. I am not sure when ripped wallpaper, broken beds, and mis-matched furniture became the definition of cozy and unique. But this hotel's best feature is the location...which it shares with many other hotels. I have stayed at many hotels in the Union Square area (Sir Francis Drake, Westin St. Francis, Handlery, Marriott, Nikko) but we chose this one based on the pictures and because the others were booked due to a convention. For the price, this was terrible. The issues were numerous, but the most outstanding were how poorly the room was. I knew it would be small....that is fine, but the TV remote didn't work, the shower head didn't work, the bed literally sloped to one side and was badly broken, the wall paper was ripped on the bathroom, and no two pieces of furniture matched in the room. It looked like it was assembled at a garage sale! The staff at the front desk barely speak English, which was trouble for some of the guests from England that we witnessed trying to get help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The key factor is location, just one block from Union Square. The room is small, and the bathroom even smaller, but in San Francisco one doesn't spend much time in the hotel.
On arrival the bell hop (porter in UK) was getting the luggage out of the taxi as soon as we pulled up, a good start. Reception staff not great, certainly not attentive, however when we wanted to extend our stay it was handled with ease.
Breakfast served in the mock English pub bar, consisted of cereals, breads, pastries and fruits. Not the most comfortable breakfast venue.
A pleasant Italian Restaurant and a comprehensive supermaket within one minutes walk. On departure we walked with luggage (just 10 minutes) all down hill, to Powell Street Station to take the BART ot to the airport. We would certainly consider staying at Hotel Beresford on a future visit to the City.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 7th floor overlooking Sutter St. We could hear the lift (elevator) but it was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.