We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, no major complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Monroe, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, no major complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's very central, you can easily walk to Union Square and the cable car. The rooms are pretty small and dated, but what else should one expect from a hotel that's this price? I personally thought it was pretty cozy. The beds were quite honestly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was super tiny, but everything worked well.
The continental breakfast was pretty terrible. There's a box of some stale pastries, coffee, orange juice, corn flakes and bananas, and the room in which it's served is pretty shabby.
Really though, it gave us everything we needed. The room was totally clean, and the hotel staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    207
    171
    68
    25
See reviews for
47
197
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, close to restaurants and bars (some small and quaint). We like to walk so we set off for Fishermans Wharf daily which took us around 1/2 an hour, very good for the calves. The first night we stayed after driving from San Francisco and were quite tired and ready for an early night....no chance. We were in room 209 which is directly above the games area of the pub directly below which sounded like a party was on in our room. Needless to say I spoke to the night manager who was polite and sympathetic and offered another room with single beds on the 7th floor but as it was getting close to pub closing (1:30am) we decided to move the following day. We were given a queen room on the 7th floor and the remainder of our stay was pleasant. Tip:request a QUIET room.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location but is in dire need of repairs, and the service at the front desk needs improvement. I am not sure when ripped wallpaper, broken beds, and mis-matched furniture became the definition of cozy and unique. But this hotel's best feature is the location...which it shares with many other hotels. I have stayed at many hotels in the Union Square area (Sir Francis Drake, Westin St. Francis, Handlery, Marriott, Nikko) but we chose this one based on the pictures and because the others were booked due to a convention. For the price, this was terrible. The issues were numerous, but the most outstanding were how poorly the room was. I knew it would be small....that is fine, but the TV remote didn't work, the shower head didn't work, the bed literally sloped to one side and was badly broken, the wall paper was ripped on the bathroom, and no two pieces of furniture matched in the room. It looked like it was assembled at a garage sale! The staff at the front desk barely speak English, which was trouble for some of the guests from England that we witnessed trying to get help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The key factor is location, just one block from Union Square. The room is small, and the bathroom even smaller, but in San Francisco one doesn't spend much time in the hotel.
On arrival the bell hop (porter in UK) was getting the luggage out of the taxi as soon as we pulled up, a good start. Reception staff not great, certainly not attentive, however when we wanted to extend our stay it was handled with ease.
Breakfast served in the mock English pub bar, consisted of cereals, breads, pastries and fruits. Not the most comfortable breakfast venue.
A pleasant Italian Restaurant and a comprehensive supermaket within one minutes walk. On departure we walked with luggage (just 10 minutes) all down hill, to Powell Street Station to take the BART ot to the airport. We would certainly consider staying at Hotel Beresford on a future visit to the City.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 7th floor overlooking Sutter St. We could hear the lift (elevator) but it was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is at least my 15th visit at the Beresford. I started staying in the mid-1980's. No, it is no fancy schmancy. But it is very clean, comfortable, well located, servicable, and filled with valuable. I thoroughly enjoyed my room, 716--at the top floor, with a southern view, with lots of light. I noticed it was remodeled, with a flat screen tv, and now card access, instead of a key. I even like the hallways, very Victorian, with wallpaper, charming fixtures. I did not use the fitness center, but did make use of the handy computer. The breakfast, included in the rate, while not gourmet, is more than acceptable. I enjoyed the muffins and sweet rolls, plus the orange juice, cereal, coffee--and did not fill deprived. Staff members,to be acknowledged and I apologize to those whose names i forgot.include Marlon, Patricia, Philip, Vince, and Carrie. Thank you Trisha Lo for your help. Housekeeping service was excellent--thank you, too! Rates are very, very fair for what you get. Location could not be any handier. You are three blocks from Union Square, You are across the street from several bus lines. Cable Car stop is just 2 to 3 blocks away. Lots of small restaurants and shops in the vicinity. I will happily return.

Room Tip: A high floor, especially with a south view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

nice old-fashioned hotel. friendly staff. if you need something (like a toothbrush) because you're baggage is still somewhere else - beresford hotel has everything.

don't take a room near the elevator - you won't sleep.

location is wonderful, supermarket is around the corner, everything else as well.

breakfast is...mhmh let me say sweet so we had a good selection of muffins and croissants =)

its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: don't take a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Situated on Sutter St the 'old style' hotel is in easy walking distance of all the main shopping areas and many of the departure points for city attractions. the cable cars and bus tours are on minutes away. Ideally located for those wanting a quiet weekend or traveller intending to explore far & wide. Many good restaurants are situated in the adjoining blocks so there is no need to use a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco
Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.