We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Noisy Noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy Noisy Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a horrible place to try and sleep noise from rooms upstairs and each side (plumbing noises from the toilets, showers and who knows what else). The rooms were pretty small but clean enough and the furniture is pretty dated.
The breakfast was very average and unless you like sweet pastries there is not much else to choose from. There is some kind of cereal but it did not look tempting, so do not choose this hotel for the breakfast inclusion as you will most likely not eat it.

The manager is pretty rude and needs to take a customer service course some of the other staff were not too bad but english is not there strong point.

The location was pretty good but I wish I had researched the hotel a bit better.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any, and do not believe everything they have written it their blerb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    222
    188
    72
    25
See reviews for
52
216
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for price and location and we got what we paid for. Room was clean and comfy rather small and outdated bathroom. Parking $27 pr day. It served it's purpose well, great location 2 blocks from union square. All reflected in the price. My only negatives were the breakfast is rubbish except for the coffee and our stay would have been greatly enhanced had the front desk staff been more friendly and helpfull. They looked bored and disinterested. I don't think they would call an ambulance for you if you were having a heart attack, they would quickly give you the number then go back to staring at the computer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this room for price and location, must admit I had no idea what to expect. The hotel was perfect for our needs. We traveled with our 21 yr od daughter so the rooms were tight. It was difficult to spead out the luggage. But the rooms were spotless. On first night we had 2 double beds. After the first night we thought we would come back on Sat. They said they were sold out but to keep checking back. they did have a cancellation for a double/twin which was perfect. Location was great, they have continental breakfast which was fruit/cereal/muffins. We needed nothing more. If I had any complaint it was that wifi was only in the lobby could not access in rooms. Would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander,WI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I mistakenly booked the Beresford instead of Beresford Arms . I can say the place is clean. That's about it. The mattresses are only springs and the radiator clinked all might so I had no sleep. The continental breakfast was dreary and not well provisioned. This is a very high priced hotel with low quality rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is good enough for the price and the location is great if you want to stay in Union Square. However - there are various issues noise levels. Try and avoid rooms near the lift as it is very noisy and is used ALL night and we had an air ventilation unit outside the window that was far too noisy. But the noisiest part was the glass bottles from the on-site pub seemingly being thrown into the bins outside at 2am!! Every night!!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the lift as possible!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, a 5min walk uphill from Union Square. The room was reasonable, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was again just like the room, acceptable and not particularly remarkable. My only piece of advice would be to make sure you request your valet car at least 30 minutes in advance of when you need it, as there was a long wait on the morning of departure. Other than that this hotel is perfectly reasonable if you're on a budget and just want somewhere close to Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and it was OK. The noise level was a bit high and would have put a lot of people off but shutting the bathroom door helped. The decor and furnishings were very dated but it was clean and as another guest wrote 'we were only sleeping there'. Breakfast was disappointing ' no toast' even 'help yourself can be done better with more variety but there was certainly plenty of what was available. View was shocking and my brother and sister-in-law who were accross the passage from us didn't fare any better. Value for money it was fine so long as you're not looking for luxury. Can't say we had problem with the reception staff, they weren't particularly friendly but answered any questions we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.