We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beresford hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beresford to your Saves list
Hotel Beresford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beresford hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for price and location and we got what we paid for. Room was clean and comfy rather small and outdated bathroom. Parking $27 pr day. It served it's purpose well, great location 2 blocks from union square. All reflected in the price. My only negatives were the breakfast is rubbish except for the coffee and our stay would have been greatly enhanced had the front desk staff been more friendly and helpfull. They looked bored and disinterested. I don't think they would call an ambulance for you if you were having a heart attack, they would quickly give you the number then go back to staring at the computer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    262
    257
    85
    29
See reviews for
81
309
45
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this room for price and location, must admit I had no idea what to expect. The hotel was perfect for our needs. We traveled with our 21 yr od daughter so the rooms were tight. It was difficult to spead out the luggage. But the rooms were spotless. On first night we had 2 double beds. After the first night we thought we would come back on Sat. They said they were sold out but to keep checking back. they did have a cancellation for a double/twin which was perfect. Location was great, they have continental breakfast which was fruit/cereal/muffins. We needed nothing more. If I had any complaint it was that wifi was only in the lobby could not access in rooms. Would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander,WI
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I mistakenly booked the Beresford instead of Beresford Arms . I can say the place is clean. That's about it. The mattresses are only springs and the radiator clinked all might so I had no sleep. The continental breakfast was dreary and not well provisioned. This is a very high priced hotel with low quality rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is good enough for the price and the location is great if you want to stay in Union Square. However - there are various issues noise levels. Try and avoid rooms near the lift as it is very noisy and is used ALL night and we had an air ventilation unit outside the window that was far too noisy. But the noisiest part was the glass bottles from the on-site pub seemingly being thrown into the bins outside at 2am!! Every night!!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the lift as possible!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, a 5min walk uphill from Union Square. The room was reasonable, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was again just like the room, acceptable and not particularly remarkable. My only piece of advice would be to make sure you request your valet car at least 30 minutes in advance of when you need it, as there was a long wait on the morning of departure. Other than that this hotel is perfectly reasonable if you're on a budget and just want somewhere close to Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and it was OK. The noise level was a bit high and would have put a lot of people off but shutting the bathroom door helped. The decor and furnishings were very dated but it was clean and as another guest wrote 'we were only sleeping there'. Breakfast was disappointing ' no toast' even 'help yourself can be done better with more variety but there was certainly plenty of what was available. View was shocking and my brother and sister-in-law who were accross the passage from us didn't fare any better. Value for money it was fine so long as you're not looking for luxury. Can't say we had problem with the reception staff, they weren't particularly friendly but answered any questions we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a twin room on the third (English second) floor for two nights. Whilst the room wan't huge it was plenty big enough for my son and myself with a nice bathroom and decent shower. It's a bit noisy - our bedroom looked out onto the backs of other buildings and we had a lot of air-con type noise so had to keep the window shut at night. Thankfully it was not too hot whilst we were there. The complimentary breakfast of bagels, muffins, cereals, etc. is served in the attached 'Old English Pub' and is fine.

Wi-fi is free but only available in the lobby area.

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful in an efficient way. They even managed to find us a UK to US plug adaptor to borrow when we realised we'd brought the wrong ones.

The location is very good. A short walk from Union Square, good bus connections to all over town and half a block from the Mason-Powell cable car line if you want to ride it. We took it to Fisherman's Wharf for our Alcatraz trip, $6 each. There are plenty of places to eat nearby.

The valet parking is good but quite expensive at $33/day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beresford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.