We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cold Winter Blues
Ranked #93 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spacious rooms, clean, friendly staff and excellent breakfast (included) made it a great stay. The craft cocktails at the Burritt Lounge are quite unique and tasty. Very charming and interesting hotel. I will stay again on future visits to SF.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    232
    112
    48
    37
See reviews for
36
292
50
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and two daughters stayed here one Saturday night in December, and were very happy. It's an ideal location--we parked our car at checkin, and then did not need it until checkout, and were able to walk to the theater district (saw "A Christmas Carol"), Union Square and a great restaurant that night (Gitane). It's one of those old-yet-hip spots. Classy rooms. And the topper was a GREAT breakfast--that really exceeded my expectations, and helped soothed the San Franicsco Union Square per-night pricing. Great location, rooms and breakfast. FYI, there's no bell service, and the entrance is on a busy street, so be ready to be "quick." And I thought that the staff could've tried to add a little personality to the place. There were professional yet...a bit stiff. The breakfast folks were robots. Only Jasmine at the Front Desk had a little personality --i.e., went out of her way to ask how we were, offer any concierge assistance, etc. We'd certainly stay again, and recommend that those who are "city walkers" do the same.

Room Tip: We requested an early checkin, and were granted one when we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Thank goodness there is still a hotel that does not serve those damn fake waffles and plastic eggs. Mystic has fresh local (?) fruit both at breakfast and the lobby. Good bread and oatmeal and even nuts and dried cranberries. Even blueberries and raspberries. Good coffees and teas and actual plates and silverware. Great service and friendly staff. Windows open, but you might not get the best view and the rooms are on the smallish side. Beautiful bathrooms, but some are in need of normal counter top space. If you like a tad of funky, this place is great. Don't expect great art on the walls. The junior rooms are better for singles or skinny people as they only have full size beds..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great boutique hotel two blocks from Union Square. I loved my stay at this hotel which exceeded my expectations. It is a relatively small hotel with a unique character that I much prefer over the large chain hotels that dominate this area.
If you are flying in and only have hand luggage you can easily get to the hotel with public transport like I did. You get the BART from the airport terminal for $9.25 to Powel street station which takes 20-30min and obviously is never delayed by traffic. At Powel street station take the Stockton street exit which is the street with the Mystic hotel. The hotel is about 6 blocks up pass the Apple store and Macys and along the plastic green grass. It is very easy to find the hotel and you can see the sign way ahead.
The reception staff at the hotel were great and my experience was completely different to that some customers on trip advisor have described. The staff could not have been more polite and helpful. I arrived late afternoon.
The room (611) was great even though the view was nothing to write home about. I loved the character and facilities of the room. This was one of the best rooms I stayed in, in terms of character and comfort.
There is free reliable and high speed WIFI access throughout the hotel for as many devices as you wish.
The “free” continental breakfast greatly exceeded expectations. The choice is much greater than you would imagine. The breakfast is buffet style and is served on the second floor which is the restaurant in the evenings. I think you have to be a very choosy and critical customer not to be satisfied with this breakfast.
Overall this was a great stay and this will definitely be my first choice hotel next time I will be in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's just 2 blocks away from Union Square and a few more from Moscone Center where I had my convention. The facade of this hotel is not very impressive but once you enter it, you will be amazed. It has a very charming reception area that serves free awesome chocolate chip cookies, water, and juice. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. The elevator is a bit old, it reminds me of some hotels in Italy and France but it surely can accomodate up to 5 luggages. This is a low rise hotel so you don't mind going up and down using the stairs. I stayed at room 614 which is a suite and it is one of my favorites so far. The room is new and sparkling clean. The sheets and towels are also new which I love. The only thing I did not like much about this hotel is the hallway but maybe for some, it adds to its charm. The bed is soft and really cures your jetlagged. Breakfast is included and although the choices are limited (pardon my being Asian who is used to breakfast bonanza) but the food is warm and good. The best part of this hotel is its location. For people like me who loves to shop until late in the evening, I did not feel scared walking alone at nights. I even managed to run a few kilometers around the area. I am definitely staying here if and when I go back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Be friendly to the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Polite attitude does not cost much effort. One thing you expect after a long flight from Europe is polite welcome. Even the immigration officer smiled stamping my passport and said "welcome to America".
The receptionist on call the same evening had such a rude attitude towards me that I decided (first time ever) to book another hotel and check out next day.
Hotel receptionist next day as the manager were so apologetic about my experience and the manger promised to address this with the employee.

This was my first evening in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I prefer smaller, more intimate hotels.
This is a charming old building walking distance to Union Square.
The bar and restaurant are fab; the decor, the ambience, it is all good.
The continental breakfast exceeds any typical continental as you know it and the coffee, deep, dark, freshly brewed and big mugs to satisfy that am Java need.
The staff were all amazing, kind, helpful and interactive.
The rooms are lovely,,the bed was fab.
The view kinda sucked and no coffee makers in rooms.
I don't care if it's 49 a night or 490 a night, having a coffee maker or espresso maker is imperative in my book.
But, if that's the only com
Ain't, they are doin pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.