We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Lovin'
Ranked #95 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    283
    130
    51
    43
See reviews for
48
341
59
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very nice hotel, in the centre of San Francisco.
Rooms are quite small but very clean. Not sound proof, quite noisy during the night.
The lift is slow and stupid, should be fixed.
The rates are not cheap, but so are all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are looking to be wowed you'll be disappointed. Mystic hotel is a great place to crash. Clean, comfortable rooms and a decent " continental" breakfast. Location is great for Union square, trolley and cable car lines. Elavator is slow but it beats walking up the stairs with your luggage. Friendly and helpful front counter staff.

Room Tip: We phoned ahead and requested a quiet room. Given a room on the 8th floor with a decent view and rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

professional services and very warm welcome. you're in SF downtown close to everything : shopping malls, union square, the pier, the italian quarter and chinatown.
the room was really elegant and with a lot of cachet.
the restaurant and bar inside the hotel are also very useful for a tired traveller who just can't walk out anymore for dinner after a long day. the music and the coctails will cheer you up before eating a gourmet meal at the restaurant. prices are OK.
however the breakfast is fine but quite neutral, nothing real bad, but nothing really good either. i guess to please the multicultural customers probably but that maybe the weak point of the house.
but anyway i would strongly recommend it

Room Tip: get the upper floor rooms to avoid the noise from the jazz bands
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Arrived at the Mystic Hotel for the first leg of our honeymoon and were greeted with an upgrade to a suite, which was a lovely and welcomed surprise! Our room was huge, beautifully decorated and styled, with everything looking brand new and so clean. If I'm being completely picky, the only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities, but I know that's an English thing! And tea and coffee was available at breakfast.
The breakfast area in the Burrit Tavern was lovely, great atmosphere and again the decoration was perfectly executed and matched the overall feel of the hotel. Plenty of choice at breakfast.
The hotel is in a great location, few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown and close to the transport links to get you around town and over to Fishermans Wharf.
Would definitely recommend to others and stay here again.
Thanks to all staff for giving us a great start to our Honeymoon!

Room Tip: Our room backed onto some kind of service yard where vehicles were reversing and collecting trash da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I wish that my wife and I had more than just the one night to stay. The best thing that I can say is that everything at The Mystic Hotel is well thought out. From the furniture in the room to the minibar selections to the restaurant on the 2nd floor it was obvious that nothing just "fell into place" but instead everything was thoughtfully selected. The rooms are not huge but they are clean, the furniture is hip and neat and comfortable and the shower head in the bathroom that we had was about 7 and a half feet off the ground allowing for a really great shower. (Which after the day that we had was exactly what we needed.) The location is just about as central SF as you can get. Walking distance (a very short walk) to Union Square. The bar downstairs was playing a selection of 80's tunes the night that we were there. Once again, the menu selections were well thought out. The bartenders were knowledgeable and friendly, the deli plate was sold out (bummer) but the cheese plate made us just as happy. Well done Mystic Hotel... we will stay with you again AND recommend friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagrove Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The only good about this hotel is location. I don't care about small rooms as I need them to sleep only. Upon my arrival back home I found an extra charge on my credit card. Called to the hotel to find out that I was using a bar. At the moment nobody could even explain what exactly I was drinking. The staff was nice in the hotel only. They avoided talking about their charges on the phone. So now I have to deal with credit card companies to explain that I did not touch their bar. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#8 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,227 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#16 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#69 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#109 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#65 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.