We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed but can be loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
California Dreamin'
Ranked #93 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed but can be loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Really nice and cozy hotel in Downtown San Francisco.

Some people visiting San Francisco you might not want to be situated in Downtown SF because the more upcoming neighborhoods might be more interesting. But I think if you're visiting as a tourist, Downtown is still a good place to start your days and explore the city from.If you then also like the smaller, intimate hotels which have a mix of old architecture and modern rustic design, then Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer is a good place to go.

Also the people working there are all very friendly and breakfast for it being complimentary was quite good (serving bagels, musli, fruits, toast bread, coffee...).

Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to test the bar called The Burritt Room, it's tucked in the back of the hotel and looks like an old fashioned gentleman's bar.

Only downside, it can be loud depending on which room you book. As it's an old building (with all the advantages like raw brick walls etc.) windows are quite thin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear BK,
Thank you for your review! I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your stay to be nice + cozy. We are always looking to update our breakfast as we are a chef-driven hotel all aspects of food are important to us. Next time you come to the city we hope to have you back and this time hopefully enjoy the both the Burritt Room + Tavern!
Sincerely,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    265
    124
    51
    40
See reviews for
39
325
57
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Never stay in this hotel. They will charge You for a bar usage U never touched. Poor people. I dont need your junk stuff. Find another housekeepers which will not take any of your cheap alcogol and chips!!!! And change your manager. She!! Promised to fix that charge but never EVER called back. Its a shame.
Stay away of this shame hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Victoria P,
I sincerely apologize about your experience here with our honor bar and not being billed correclty in regards to this, I would like to correct this for you as quickly as possible. I can be reached directly at 415.400.0559 or rruiz@mystichotel.com.

Best,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May. This is a quaint hotel, very sophisticated and well furnished. The room was a bit on the small side but was not a problem. Clean and modern. Breakfast was ample with a variety of choice. Easy walking distance to Union Square, china town. Would take 20 mins to walk to Fishermans Wharf. A really enjoyable stay. Oh as for the lift... Never a problem and we were on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: High floor facing towards Union Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear CarolineMal,
Thanks for your great feedback and compliment on our breakfast. As we are a chef-driven hotel we are always looking to make changes improvements seasonally with food in our honor bar, breakfast, room service, and restaurant. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to our lovley city and have you try some of our new menu items!

Best,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We had great time in San Francisco and this was also thanks to this hotel and its ideal location, right in the city center so closed to Union Square, China town and bus / cable car stops. We stayed 4 nights in this cute boutique hotel and would definitely recommend it. The atmosphere is great, a mix of art and vintage, very cute furniture in the room, maybe a bit small but confortable and clean. Wifi was excellent in the room, breakfast was very good and healthy although not very varied. Staff was friendly and available. Because of its location and great price-value balance, we would definitely consider this hotel for our next stay in San Francisco!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Daisy_Casey,
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your time both in our lovely city and at the Mystic! In regards to our art work we change the artwork in the lobby and the 2nd floor foyer near the entrance of the Burritt Room + Tavern as we work with local artist to showcase their work. It's not your traditional gallery but we are very excited to have the opportunity to work with such amazing artists! You'll be in for a treat on your next visit!!!
Looking forward to your next stay at the Mystic!
Best,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great trip here in San Francisco , Stacy at the front desk was really helpful, loved the location very central to everywhere we needed to go, loved this city cant wait to go back. The area had a Starbucks within walking distance which seems to be the thing in San Francisco , there is literally a Starbucks on every corner,overall had the best birthday here and would return whenever i had the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Stephanie B,
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time visiting our lovely city and that Stacey our Guest Service Agent was helpful throughout your stay with us! I hope to welcome you back soon here at the Mystic!!!
Best,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small and cute hotel! Boutique like, small room but very well decorated! I adored the room, organic snacks and located right up the street from Union Square. Close to shopping and Chinatown. Walkable distance to shopping and also has a great restaurant and bar. Very trendy like.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Kerrimar,
Thank you for your feedback! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mystic + liked our Honor Bar items. We have made very conscious decisions on the items we put in our rooms so they do reflect the community we live in and the history that surrounds the building itself. Our menu items and cocktails are constantly being updated to use seasonal ingredients so you'll be in for a treat on your next visit. I hope to have you again as a Mystic Hotel guest next time you're in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The experience I had here was great we had great suggestions for restaraunts from the woman who works the 3-11 shift she recommended the best chinese food ever the hotel was so cool in a great location within walking distance to cable car lines and local buses the room we had 809 was so cute and perfect I love love love this hotel only downfall the elevators are really slow other Then that thank you mystic hotel for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R, General Manager at Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Stephanieb092711,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are currently working closely with a new service company to improve the speed and overall service of the elevator. We know how important this is to our guest and their overall experience. I hope you stay with us on your next visit to our lovely city!
Best,
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.