We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel terrible staff....thanks Stacy & Ellie for leaving such a hostile impression” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
California Dreamin'
Ranked #92 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel terrible staff....thanks Stacy & Ellie for leaving such a hostile impression”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a very nice hotel to stay at....central and comfortable. Having stayed there on two other occasions, we thought we would return for a third time as we are frequent visitors to San Francisco. However, the third time is booked for June 2014, and I need to cancel one night of a 5 night refundable booking. The confusion came about when I decided to add another night which was not refundable. That was OK except that the customer service officer of the 3rd party I booked through combined both transactions to make them non-refundable. Even if that doesn't make sense to you, all that is necessary to know is that when I rang the hotel to explain my predicament I was told that I chose to go through a 3rd party and they were not responsible or prepared to listen AT ALL. Stacy got quite aggravated on the phone and hung up on me....NICE! When the 3rd party rang and spoke to Ellie, the 3rd party was hung up on also....I am not saying the refundable/non-refundable issue was the hotel's fault and I believe the 3rd party will sort it out. However, the customer service of 2 of the hotel staff was unexpected, unnecessary and inappropriate. It's scary to think that any place of business has the license to treat their customers in such an aggressive manner, especially when the guest has paid for the 6 nights in advance and only wants to cancel one night from the refundable portion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    260
    120
    49
    40
See reviews for
38
318
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is not the Marriott or Hilton and that's a good thing. This is a small boutique hotel that gets everything right. Staff have been very attentive and efficient. Every request I made was handled quickly and correctly. Bed is comfortable and room size is decent. The price is great for San Francisco although if the price goes up much higher, I would have to look somewhere else. The continental breakfast was very decent - 2 kinds of fruit, 2 kinds of cereal including a great granola, 2 kinds of very nice pastries and the usual bread and bagel Even the coffee was good. Also glad that they have fast and free wifi. That's a minimum entry point for hotels these days and it works well.

So if you crave big hotel excitement and services, don't stay here. If you like a great value and great location in a clean and comfortable boutique-style hotel, then this is the best place I have found in SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor and one with good wifi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne aust
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

stayed 5 nights early jan was easy to find after long drive from la we were greeted at reception by stacy who i must say did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant as could be the breakfast was amazing value once again i will mention stacy as a great asset to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

No ability to have coffee if you wake up early-and front desk won't help you. Marginal shower pressure. Miniscule sized ironing board. Not a clean iron. Anything else?
Perhaps good if you fancy standing at a Starbucks queue at 6:00am to have coffee?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked my business trip to SF for a short weekend, so of course I was in the search for a nice hotel that had the amenities I was looking for: location, cleanliness, and space. This was my first time staying at the Mystic, and I can say I would book this hotel again in the future. Its location is phenomenal, close to almost everything you need on a vacation or business (restaurants, shpos, etc). Public transportation is easy. The hotel does not look fancy on the outside; however, the inside is cozy, nice,and with friendly staff. Room was decent in size, clean, and modern, as it seems it was recently renovated. The brick wall gives a nice touch to the room. All and all I can say it’s a neat place to stay, so give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The place is new, spacious and luxury (for the price) and the reception staf were very helpful and genuinely... And the location is perfect in the center of San Francisco. The bed was the best. I could sleep here for a long time. Also the view from the window is great

Room Tip: Ask if the suite is avaible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I happened upon this property (for a bit of holiday travel) thanks to the reviews read here on Trip Advisor. While not a top choice of SF travelers, it had a number of things we were looking for...namely price, location and covered parking and many of the reviews said some very positive things consistently making this a safe choice.

Given the number of hotels I stay in due to work travel, it takes quite a bit to impress, but this place did just that. The front desk folks and manager were awesome. They were hugely helpful with everything from booking to things to do/see. I won't name names....in order to protect the innocent (haha...she wasn't that innocent) but one particular front desk expert made the trip that much more special..with a room upgrade and a free drink at the restaurant/bar on-site and her wonderful personality. We both loved her.

By the way, the on-site bar, Burritt Tavern has the best cocktails I've ever had and is a totally cool place to hang out with the locals. Live Jazz and a great vibe made this a favorite spot to frequent.

The rooms are kind of a mix of modern minimalist and traditional architecture (okay, I lifted that off the website), but in short the rooms are really appealing. The bed was comfortable, the room was large and clean and met all our needs. There was a snack bar and drinks and a small fridge. All-in-all it was perfect for us.

I was a bit concerned about the parking situation, but am happy to report that not only was the parking convenient (just around the corner) but it was safe, covered and very reasonable for Downtown SF.

That's about it. I would say that if you are driving to SF don't park in front of the hotel to check-in...it's not legal...I would call the hotel and see if you can go straight to the garage.

Thanks for reading.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.