We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Historic Hotel in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
California Dreamin'
Ranked #92 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small Historic Hotel in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Was here for a week for a recent conference. The building is small (by North American hotel standards) but quite nice. The rooms are a bit smaller but decorated in a modern fashion which is interesting for a historic building. The staff were fantastic. The elevator can be a bit busy at times. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    260
    120
    49
    40
See reviews for
38
318
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Truly enjoyed our trip - great location in union square - walked everywhere. Room had an unexpected sitting area as well as firm mattress. :). Breakfast a cut above with Starbucks coffee. Staff extremely friendly. Try to get a room on 4th floor or above, though - a bit noisy (3rd floor is right at street level). Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Can't recommend this place highly enough. Great location, great room and a fabulous bar but the real highlight of the place for me was the staff (Beena, Andrew & Stacy especially). They were so helpful and kind when there was a mix up with my reservation and nothing was a problem. It was a pleasure to stay there and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. The service was great. The room was pretty small, but clean and updated. The bathroom was newly remodeled and the lobby was very pretty. The hallways and elevator were a little creepy and scary, but that just adds to the uniqueness of the place. There is a free continental breakfast, which is wonderful. They also have a very cool bar on the second floor, which we enjoyed very much. They have an awesome mixologist that make some fabulous drinks and a wonderful atmosphere. Over all this is a great place to stay, the rooms are just not that big.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor and upgrade to a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed a total of 7 nights here at the hotel. The location is fantastic! You are literally a block away from Union Square, The Big Bus Tour Stop, the Cable Car Stop. That makes it very convenient for the regular tourist.

Our room fronts Stockton Street which is very noisy throughout the day.

Breakfast is pathetic! The buffet serves cold hard boiled eggs, some toasts, jam and a block of cream cheese. We only wanted an omelette / fried egg but that was not possible according to the staff. The hotel should definitely look into providing more for the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend & had a great experience! We were checked in early into room 309. The nice man checking us in gave us two free drink tickets which we thought was a nice gesture. The room was small but clean with very stylish decor. The bed was SO comfy!! I had read reviews about the trash being collected in early mornings so we knew we'd hear it. We both decided that we didn't care if it woke us up. I slept with earplugs & never heard it. My husband said it was loud but he had no trouble going back to sleep. There was no AC which was a negative and the fan speed didn't circulate the air very well either. The only window that opened was the bathroom & it looked out into the entryway for the restaurant staff so the room did feel a tad stuffy. I also wished there was a fridge!! Despite the close quarters, I believe one would easily fit! There is a stairwell on the other side of the wall that the bed is on but I only heard noise very late in the morning. I had been awake for hours so this did not bother me. The elevator is old & slow but we just used the stairs & that was fine. There's a parking lot across the street & it was only $21 a night!! We both thought that was very cheap! I thought the continental breakfast was better than your average one. They served Nutella & Starbucks coffee, which made my morning!
Burritt Room was AWESOME! Live jazz & the signature cocktails were delicious!! Bartenders were really friendly too! The location was also phenomenal for a tourist. ChinaTown is a block away & Union Square is 2 blocks in the other direction. Plus, there's a little market next door which is convenient.
All in all, if you're looking for a great, trendy, well priced, centrally located hotel with a cool bar, The Mystic is your spot. We will be back! Thanks for an incredible experience Mystic Hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks back as part of an impromptu stay in San Francisco. We hadn't actually prebooked anywhere to stay and hotels in the area were full- on arriving at this hotel the lovely lady behind the desk advised us that there was only a suite available. I don't mind paying a fair bit of money if the room is worth it but the 'suite' was basically just a room with a tiny area at the end of the bed with a sofa in it. The bathroom was tiny and had no tub. Having said that is was clean. As other reviews mentioned this hotel can be quite noisy and I was awake from around 5am due to street noise.
The hotel is nicely decorated and has a lovely bar area. Breakfast was continental only with a limited choice. Staff were friendly and helpful, although there is no bell service to help with bags etc and I probably would have appreciated that.
Although it is a nice hotel I felt value for money was lacking and if I returned to the city, which I really hope to do, I would probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the suite, not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.