We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystic is Memorable and Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer to your Saves list
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco) (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cold Winter Blues
Ranked #93 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mystic is Memorable and Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Mystic hotel is both memorable and fabulous is several ways! From the moment your cab pulls up , the Mystic hotel overhang pops with class and excitement. Once you walk it you're greeted with the most clean and delightful smell of what I can only imagine are french flowers. On the walls are modern, simple art. As you walk up to the counter, we were greeted by a handsome and extremely kind gentleman who provided us with all of the details we needed for our stay to include directions to Chinatown and all of the best local cafes. (as shown in photo)

The elevator is small and vintage and provided a quirk that we both found exciting and quaint. Had we taken the stairs, we would have been greeted by a romantically lit red carpet with giant window at each level. (as shown in photo)

The room was small but just what you would expect from a "boutique" style hotel. The bed was a queen size bed with clean and plush white bedding with ample pillows. Above the bed was a large mirrored wall piece that provided the illusion of a room twice the size. Each side of the bed had a small table and a storage area. The window on the adjacent wall had a cute seating arrangement with a small art deco table and a dangling red spotlight above the seat. (as featured in the photo)

The bath room was small with a sliding glass door. The sink fixtures were very modern and most notably, the mirror was framed very uniquely making the area very beautiful. The shower was clean and the products offered were high quality.

The room itself was clearly a delight. It was beautiful and the best hotel experience I've had to date. Simply put, in my mind...it's my happy place :)

All of this doesn't even explain to you the value of the Burritt Room. A very swanky, hip and fun tavern with a delightful staff who are equally accommodating during slow hours as much as their peak hours. They even went so far as to explain some of their most signature drinks and talk with customers about previous life experiences and signature delights.

If you want to experience Union Square, Chinatown, Little Italy and more, Mystic Hotel is the place for you. When you're there, you feel like you're in the home you wish you could afford!

Finally, our reservations were made last minute, in fact just 8 hours before our stay. The staff provided us with a government discount and was very pleasant even at 3am!

LOVE LOVE Mystic. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    231
    112
    48
    37
See reviews for
35
291
50
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms are small, but decently decorated. Biggest problem is noise and lousy service. I asked for the quietest room in the hotel and where did they put me? Right across the hall from the door where the construction team enters and leaves! There couldn't be a louder spot. When I called the manager about it, she said "Well, all of Union Square is noisy."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I paid $269 a night + tax and received the service of a poor hostel. I arrived at 9pm at night with a 9 year old child. There was one (very rude) woman working in the hotel and it took her 1 1/2 hrs to sort out the credit card payment (and the $150 which she debited for a 1 night stay for extras) and she would not allow my daughter to go to the room to sleep. The room overlooked an alley (not the "city view" we were promised) where every morning at 6am the refuse trucks gather for half an hour making a terrible racket. I discovered the next morning from a far more pleasant receptionist that there had been quiet rooms available - he was clearly shocked that his colleague had put a child (who she kept up until 10.30pm) into what is known as being a very noisy room. The room was tiny with the tiny shower room behind a flimsy noisy sliding door at the bottom of the bed. Very weirdly, the tv was on the wall in a corner of the room - it could not be seen from the bed (there was no-where else to sit) and the hotel had not gone to the expense of getting an arm bracket - so I guess it was just there for decoration. I was told that no-one could help me with my luggage as the receptionist was the only person working in the hotel - fine for a cheap hostel - but at these prices?? In fact, I was told by the receptionist in the morning, that this was not true and there was indeed someone who should have helped with our luggage. At this receptionist's suggestion, I wrote a complaint to the manager explaining what had happened. I was assured that I would receive a reply the next day. I heard nothing. This is clearly a hotel who does not care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

- New renovated boutique hotel of an old building
- Good location (just 5 blocks away from BART station), most of the happenings within walking distance.
- Helpful Staff (Angel was very helpful when we were there)
- spacious room (we had the junior suite)
- value for money
- quiet at night but noisy in the morning when we were there, probably because they were still renovating some rooms upstairs which was fine as we needed to wake up and check out the city during the day.
- include breakfast
- free wifi (not every hotel in SF provide free wifi)
- They are a green hotel. They will only clean the bed only if you place the request card onto it which we really appreciate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

room was never cleaned in 8 days, bar/restaurant was awful (good for wannabees)
don't go there for eating/drinking!, noisy jazzy music coming from the bar until 1am-2am. However, location was great and staff was reasonably friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, mo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It was in a great location. There was something to do no matter which direction you turned. You can't beat the price for being in the center of the city, free breakfast, and wifi. I would highly recommend for a quick weekend in the city or even a business trip, it was right in the financial district. We never made it to the lounge but it appeared to be very popular with people coming and going all the time. I read a few reviews about the noise and was a little worried but there wasn't an issue. People need to realize when you are staying in a great location in the city there will be city noise..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We really liked staying here. The room was very small but for the location, price and small amount of time we spent in the room- it was wonderful. We loved that the building was very old, we had exposed brick, a very comfy bed and pillows and a fridge. Plenty. Plus it was a nice clean room.
Close to China town, two blocks from Union Square, close to the cable cars and parking was $35 a night which was a STEAL compared to the other hotels I looked at.
Breakfast was very simple, pastries and coffee, but appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.