We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get away trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area to your Saves list
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #158 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“get away trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Okay location close to cable cars safe area. Older hotel needs new carpet in hallway. Staff were exceptional. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We would love for you to come back! We will take your review into consideration. Thank you for spending your time with us in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    87
    118
    39
    34
See reviews for
38
103
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to Union Square and the Hop on Hop off bus . Was a small room but was clean. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Had to pay $35.00 per night for valet parking but that is mentioned on the Web site. At least the car was in a safe place as we had bikes on the back and a lot of stuff inside.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are glad you enjoyed your trip and for staying with us! Street parking is difficult to find in downtown, so all the hotels around use valet service. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good balance of price/location/offering. Breakfast room could be bigger or more organized (I had to wait half an hour), and noise from the WC could be more isolated, but overall experience was great.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your four star review! We will fix the noise from the WC. Unfortunately, we cannot extend the breakfast room because the rooms will be affected by it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

+
Location
Housekeeping
-
Size of the room (your door hits the bed halfway!)
Staff: no hello and no help whatsoever to make your stay plaisant even if the "hotel" isn't great
Shower was leaking (please don't tell me "you should have asked": 1) I asked for other things to the reception and the girl had no response or help to offer 2) it should have worked in the first place 3) I've got better things to do than that.
Security not good: none of my window in my room 608 could be closed because they where broken and to old.
Breakfast: a joke. 12 seats so you'll have to eat stood up and the choice is limited. It's basically a bedroom with few tables and we were lucky to have nice customers because people try to eat quickly and clean the tables themselves in order to make things easier for the next guys.
0 service: I asked for a solution because we were my me, my daughter and my partner in the same tiny bed and the only response was: "you'll have to pay at least $100 and no I don't have a crib"... Thanks for the service but I'll not come back and I'll make sure some people choose a different hotel!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconveniences. The rooms were built small since the hotel was first constructed. The hotels around the area, all have small rooms. Our staff are very helpful. We are sorry if you did not feel comfortable around them. The breakfast is continental so that is all that we are suppose to put out. We truly apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

its just a matchbox size, with a large bed in it, hardly any space to keep your stuff and move around.. only good thing is its in middle of downtown and also, the cheapest hotel we found (150$ a night!!!) for the weekend we were visiting. not got a big parking lot so we had to go round and round in SF downtown looking for a parking space near the hotel, and most of the places are restricted parking....as for SF downtown--- am not a big fan !!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience. Parking is very hard to find so the hotels around the area, along with us, have valet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The location is excellent, five minutes walking to mainly bus stops and bart station and shopping stores. The room was very small but cosy. The bathroom was great size and enogh hot water and clean. Breakfast was only banana, coffee, cereal, yogurth and bread. Services vs price very good !

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, March 22, 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We can only serve continental breakfast. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.