We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area to your Saves list
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #157 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Don't let the online video fool you. This hotel is in a really bad location. The homeless, bums, and general riff raff in the area hit me up for money no less than three times before I even set foot in the door. Then there's the charge for the 'valet' parking. $25? There's no warning, no explanation, nothing that says there's a charge, and even the person behind the desk said nothing about a cost for this service. Plus I felt very uneasy walking the three or four blocks to the metro so I could get to the ballgame. I can guarantee I'd never stay at this location again. While the room was just okay it definately could have used a good cleaning. I was really happy I only stayed here one night.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room - go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I can appreciate your concern for the homeless folks around the area. Unfortunately, this issue is not limited to our hotel. You are talking about a very densely packed metropolis like San Francisco, where homeless population roam throughout the financial district, union square, fisherman's wharf. The business on our block attempt to address this issue as best.

The Valet service charges are listed on our website as well as the stand in front of the hotel. Typically a "valet" type service has additional charges otherwise it would say "Free parking". Our downtown area has hundreds of rooms, and very little parking. The valet company we use is the cheapest in the area, others charge over $30 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    87
    118
    39
    34
See reviews for
38
103
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Super 8 Union Square. Excellent location. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly. However, the breakfast wasn't good and there wasn't enough of it. Still, I would recommend this hotel! It is a bargain found in Downtown SF.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Our breakfast is fully compliant with brand standards, however I will continue to look for ways to improve the breakfast. until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the super 8 for two nights we found the hotel to be clean and comfortable the staff were polite and nothing was to much trouble when we asked them any questions.We would have no problems in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we go to a city like SF we are looking for a reasonable price and comfortable bed that is clean. This hotel was great for us. The manager was friendly and helpful, location is great for catching street cars or buses and taxis are always around.. We will stay here again next year. Thank you to the staff for keeping our room clean and being there to help... See you next July

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Marathon event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is basic but rooms and beds are clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly, breakfast is good enough to start the day off. For $460 - 3ad - 5nights inc tax I have def no complaints. The guy at front desk marked an area on our map not to wander into, if only i remembered the map that night, pretty scary but only a few streets are involved. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, General Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. I am sure other guests will appreciate your incite on the "questionable" areas of town and not on our block.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.