We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of San Francisco!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of San Francisco!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a great old-fashioned hotel in an excellent location. It is an easy walk to Union Square and the shopping area. The hotel itself is heritage listed and the lobby is beautiful. We had a "parlour suite" which was great as it had a bedroom with two QS beds, a living room, bathroom and kitchen. While it is old it everything is very clean and it really is great value for the amount of space you are getting. Wi-fi is not great although it is better in the lobby. We were on the 8th floor and it was quite warm in the room and there is no air-conditioning which was ok for us since it was April and not too hot, but I think it would be very uncomfortable in summer. Overall it is great value for what you are getting.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    358
    148
    38
    23
See reviews for
191
274
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is clean, breakfast was poor, room was capacious. Toilet and bathroom were very good. No air condition or safety deposit box in the room.. There is a supermarket just across the street. Overall is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

upon arrival the hotel smelt old, we got used to this after a few days. the internet was slow and dropped out often. location was good easy to walk to union square, shopping, buses, trains and tours spots. housecleaning and maintenance were helpful and clean. television was old and limited channels. noises from outside heard all night, sirens and people talking.
the hotel staff were okay, some were polite while others were rude and unwelcoming.
we stayed for a week, was okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been coming here for years now and just love this hotel. It is very close to shopping and many great restaurants - just a short walk. If you do want a taxi, the staff is so helpful and will gladly hail one. They have complimentary continental breakfast in the mornings and wine and cheese in the late afternoon. It reminds me of what San Francisco must have been like in years gone by - stately, genteel and gracious. Can't wait for my next trip to the City and another stay at the Beresford Arms.

Room Tip: This is a noisy area, but for heaven's sake - this is a CITY! Aren't they always noisy...? I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Beresford arms for 3 nights during the RSA conference. the hotel isn't new but well maintained and clean. The rooms are very spacious and the hot tub has built in jet stream which is a nice bonus. Staff was very friendly and helpful. many good dining options nearby and reasonably close to Union square (5 minutes' walk) and the moscone center (aobut 10-15 minutes).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Location, location, location! This hotel is well situated to get around the entire city easily. Close to the trolley cars, bus lines and street cars. Walking distance from GREAT restaurants of every kind - Thai, Vietnamese, Irish pubs, Indian. All good and reasonably priced.
this hotel really tries to be a great place - with a breakfast of fruit (melon and bananas) and pastry in the morning, and a wine and cheese (and nuts) in the afternoon. All included.
Our room was small but adequate. Clean. The shower was a huge walk-in with two shower heads and a low jacuzzi (which really didn't work).
You have to pay extra ($30/day) to park your car - and give them plenty of notice if you want to take it out. However, you can take it in and out as many times as you want for that price.
So far - all good.
The problem - the small room had no place to put luggage. This could easily be remedied by two folding suitcase stands. there was plenty of space in the room to place two of these stands. As it was we had to put our suitcases on the floor or on the chair.
BIG PROBLEM - the bed. They do not have king size beds - so we had to settle for a queen. It was very soft and sagged in the middle. So we felt like we were climbing the sides all night. Small bed, saggy and soft = problems with a good night sleep.
And the hotel is on a very noisy street. Cars, trucks, sirens, machines - all the time. Husband didn't mind. wife used ear plugs. It does not seem to matter where the room is located. Other people we talked to said their rooms were also noisy - and they faced various locations.
Other than that, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel represents good value for your money.
The place is old but well maintained. There is no luxury there, but the hotel has the necessary to make you feel confortable.
The best is the location: it is just two blocks from Union Square. It is easy to take public transportation; San Francisco is not the best place to drive, if you are a tourist.
I would come back, and i can recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.