We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal San Francisco Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal San Francisco Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although we only stayed at the Beresford arms hotel 3 nights we thought it was a great hotel. It was fairly priced in the expensive city of San Francisco. We loved that the hotel was older as we had not stayed in an older hotel in the US. The hotel was in the perfect location just a 2 minute walk to union square. The rooms were huge, like an apartment with a kitchen. The rooms were clean and beds super comfy. The staff always willing to help you out with anything you may need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    358
    146
    38
    23
See reviews for
191
273
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely older hotel, very good location and within easy walking distance to Union Square, grand reception area where a complimentary breakfast is served, pastries, muffins, fruit, tea and coffee, adequate to get your day started,there is also an evening wine and cheese reception which was a nice touch and good way for chatting to other hotel guests. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a really good size and we found everywhere in the hotel to be very well cared for and spotless, the staff were all helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Don't be put off by how the main entrance looks from the outside when you arrive, as it's a little Gem on the inside. We had a lovely quiet room to the rear of the hotel, therefore street noise wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our last couple of nights in SF. I was delighted when we walked in and they told us we were being upgraded to a nicer room, king size bed, etc. The room was very nice, but then that evening, we found out that it was also one of the noisier locations, right in the front. Nevertheless, it is a decent place for the price. The breakfast is very basic and in the lobby of the hotel, not in a dining area. No place to sit, juggling coffee and a danish, we decided to eat breakfast out instead. There are other places in the area that I would recommend over this one, but as a last resort, for the price, the rooms were decent and clean.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, and an inner room, if possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely olde world hotel just 2 minutes walk from union square rooms are large and very clean and comfortable and the staff can't do enough for you . It is old fashioned but perfectly comfortable . The complimentary breakfast is basic just melon croissants and muffins but there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby offering more options if you prefer that . The hotel also provide a complimentary cheese and wine on the afternoon all in all good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely staff, clean rooms even though they are a bit tired. No bar or restaurant however complimentary breakfast was simple, fruit and pastries but quite good. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Close to Union Square is a bonus.

Room Tip: No coffee or tea in the satanard rooms, but the junior suite has a separate full kitchen for only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights in the beginning of Sept. 2013. We found it to be a lovely atmosphere and clean and friendly. Good location. Walking distance to many of the city's attractions. However, if in-room wifi is a priority for you, do not stay here. Their internet is almost non-existent. We had to be in the lobby to check our email and sometimes it didn't work there either. It wasn't that big a deal for us so I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a jr suite. Very nice with two queen beds, big bathroom and separate, full kitchen. No air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the games played at reception regarding the standard of room we had actually booked (thankfully our receipt was detailed) to being provided the noisiest room/worn down room we have ever seen. Yep this is the worst we have ever experienced. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.