We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In the heart of San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our eight floor room looked out on an air shaft with good light from above and away fro street noise. The grand lobby hosts a nice continental breakfast and a wine and cheese informal reception in the afternoon. We enjoyed chats with folks from around the US and the world. Dined at two outstanding restaurants within two blocks, but also walked from here to museums, baseball park, public transportation, and Ferry building.

Room Tip: We like walking starers -- there are two sets -- otherwise just one elevator. Might have to wait a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    416
    172
    43
    26
See reviews for
220
310
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised AGAIN to get a great price in this hotel. We were given room 610 in the back and it was great. The room was clean, the wine, cracker and cheese reception each night was nice, and the breakfast was enough to get us going in the morning.
The location is outstanding, and the parking was only $27 per night, which is a steal in San Francisco.
Don't expect 5 star accommodations for this price. But I highly recommend this place as it was clean, neat, and the staff was good. It is a quaint older hotel in a good location, close to Union Square.
They provide coffee in the lobby, and it would be nice in the room, as they do provide a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. It is fully stocked with dishes. Bring your own coffee and you will be set.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 610 has two queens, is in the back, has a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker (no coffee) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Charming hotel that doesn't get the special praises that better known hotels in SF do. Nonetheless, great staff, intimate atmosphere and close enough to everything to make staying there worth tracking the hotel down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for two days. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was fine, worked well with kids. Wine was fair( great for $10) good location some noise but your in the city!
Would stay again. Be sure to check out the white horse bar down the street. Free popcorn and shuffle board for the kids wile you sip your pint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Beresford and couldn't have been more pleased! We walked in the front door and were greeted with a complimentary wine and cheese reception in the lobby. And that was every afternoon! The staff was so accomodating - taking care of all needs, questions, and reservations! The hotel was wonderfully San Francisco and perfectly situated. We walked to the theater, dinner, and shopping. Another surprise was the fabulous breakfast in the morning, saving us both time and money! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a junior suite and didn't hear a thing all night. Perhaps this was because we were in one of the rooms facing inwards and not overlooking the street?

In addition to a a large room with 2 queen beds and a seating area, there was a small kitchen with microwave, kettle, oven (not that we cooked) and fridge. The shower controls were different to any others we have used with 3 taps - a bit confusing but we figured it out. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained, looking as if it had recently been redecorated. Beds are really comfy, too.

Breakfast consists mainly of croissants, danish pastries and fruit. Coffee was good but I would like to see orange juice too. We didn't make the cheese & wine (too busy sightseeing) so unable to comment.

Hotel is in a good position for walking to Union Square, we used the Bart but found it just a little far due to a slight incline, much easier on the return, though.

We'd definitely use this hotel again if we returned to SF and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the Beresford Arms for three nights. It is a lovely place - the re-furbished lobby is very charming and made us think about what a grand place it must have been. The morning continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were really nice --more like a B & B as we chatted with other guests. The rooms are large and very clean but have some problems - the wi-fi didn't work well; the closet doors couldn't be moved easily and the dresser drawers were difficult. Some noise at night but not too bad. That being said, we enjoyed the hotel - its location near Union Square and easily accessible public transportation were really convenient. The staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#139 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Andrews Hotel
#121 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Union Square
Baldwin Hotel
Baldwin Hotel
#79 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#98 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#66 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.