We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Save Saved
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the Beresford Arms for three nights. It is a lovely place - the re-furbished lobby is very charming and made us think about what a grand place it must have been. The morning continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were really nice --more like a B & B as we chatted with other guests. The rooms are large and very clean but have some problems - the wi-fi didn't work well; the closet doors couldn't be moved easily and the dresser drawers were difficult. Some noise at night but not too bad. That being said, we enjoyed the hotel - its location near Union Square and easily accessible public transportation were really convenient. The staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    327
    123
    30
    21
See reviews for
172
246
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are surpinsigly big and weel equiped. Of course, the cattle with coffee and tee is there ! Due to particular confuguration of the streets there, when we had a room at -2 it meant we were still at the level of the street, of course the back side street, which we found very funny. The staff is friendly and helpful. They organise "cheese and wine" serving in the afternoon for the guests to meet and socialize which we found a very good initiative. And to be honest the Californian wine they served was extremely good - bravo for the one who choose it. The location is conveniently closed to old town, commercial center, China quarter which can be reached on foot.Although an old fashioned Victorian-like style, it is a cosy hotel that I recommend.

Room Tip: Don-t be affraid of -1 or -2 levels, this is not in the basement,it-s worth trying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beresford Arms has some old world charm - combined with some very spacious rooms - which are kept meticulously clean, a continental breakfast (its a bit too sweet for my palette) and close proximity to the Union Square.

I have stayed in this hotel over several visits, almost a dozen or so - and sometimes on longer stays. The big plus for longer stays is that there is a small kitchenette (with some rooms) that have a fridge and microwave - else the area is home to a variety of restaurants. I have found the area safe, the location very convenient yet not so noisy. There are some nice breakfast places close by, a Walgreens pharmacy - bus stops and shopping areas within a walking distance.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Wifi router - if thats of importance to you. Some rooms are undergoing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Mass
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best Christmas tree in all of San Francisco. Friendly staff, tasty cheesy wine evenings, warm muffins & fresh morning coffee! Room are truly comfortable, glinting bathrooms always clean, kitchenette perfect homey size. The photographs in the hallways are truly interesting, not paint by numbers art. Nearby restaurants are truly delectable -mainly Vietnamese- and if you crave deli you can't get better than Dave's down the block. Our cat it so at ease here it doesn't hide under the bed! Best compliment you can five a hotel is that you don't want to leave it! Clean sheets that make you fall asleep instantly.

Room Tip: I have yet to stay in a bad room after decades of going there so hard to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found this to be a nice, well kept older property. Staff was great, very helpful and friendly. However, it was hot the first night we stayed here and you had to open the windows for cool air. Not a big deal except the street noise was very bad. It was Saturday night and LOTS of people
were out LATE. IT WAS AFTER 4 am when it finally got quiet between sirens and people. This is not something we are used to.
The room was spacious, well appointed and clean. The stocked items in the room were very affordable. This was one of the few places where we could find an affordable room for 5. The hotel had a charming old appearance. Beds were decent. Housekeeping left us fresh towels outside our door since we left the do not disturb sign out while we were gone. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms would be great so you don't have to mess with the elevator. The hotel has love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel near Union Square in San Francisco for 5 nights over Thanksgiving. Our family traditionally spends time in the city every year over the holidays for shopping, enjoying the holiday atmosphere and doing various touristy things we don't normally do. Since our favorite hotel in Union Square got converted into condos, we had to find a new place this past trip. The Beresford Arms offered large family suites with ample sleeping accomodations for the 5 of us. We have 3 teenagers. The suite included a large bathroom with a spa tub and a kitchen. The hotel is at the edge of the Union Square area, on the fringes of a neighborhood that feels a little "sketchy" later at night. The room was large, but the furnishings are old and the upholstery on the sofa and chairs in the living room needed a good cleaning. The spa tub didn't work when we first arrived, but the staff fixed it the next day. It is an older spa tub, but it worked well and was nice to soak in after a long day of shopping. Our HUGE complaint is that it was impossible to get a good night's sleep, The hotel is old, and the windows are old glass panes, uninsulated, and NO soundproofing. All night long we heard EVERYONE walking down the street and firetruck and police sirens all night. We were up on the 4th floor, but still heard all the noise. I don't know if there were so many sirens because it was a busy time of year in Union Square, so more "problems". Or if it is like this all year long, but I imagine that the crowds of rowdy,noisy people late at night is a typical problem, as there are lots of bars/pubs in the area. If you want to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. We wouldn't stay here again because of this problem. However, the good things are that the staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is beautiful. They serve breakfast daily, nothing special, but it starts the day. They put up the Christmas tree while we were there, and it was quite festive. They also have a late afternoon spread with cheese, crackers and wine. We were never there during that time to take part. All in all, not a bad place, but since we actually like to get some sleep, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is as far away from street noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through hotels.com. It was a good choice. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful when booking transportation. A breakfast with pastries and coffee is available each morning with cheese and wine served in the afternoon. It is in a great location-walking distance to Union Square and a cable car stop.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had a street view-could hear cars and fire engines all night but we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.