We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Save Saved
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old but cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms at this hotel are surpinsigly big and weel equiped. Of course, the cattle with coffee and tee is there ! Due to particular confuguration of the streets there, when we had a room at -2 it meant we were still at the level of the street, of course the back side street, which we found very funny. The staff is friendly and helpful. They organise "cheese and wine" serving in the afternoon for the guests to meet and socialize which we found a very good initiative. And to be honest the Californian wine they served was extremely good - bravo for the one who choose it. The location is conveniently closed to old town, commercial center, China quarter which can be reached on foot.Although an old fashioned Victorian-like style, it is a cosy hotel that I recommend.

Room Tip: Don-t be affraid of -1 or -2 levels, this is not in the basement,it-s worth trying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    333
    132
    34
    22
See reviews for
179
251
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beresford Arms has some old world charm - combined with some very spacious rooms - which are kept meticulously clean, a continental breakfast (its a bit too sweet for my palette) and close proximity to the Union Square.

I have stayed in this hotel over several visits, almost a dozen or so - and sometimes on longer stays. The big plus for longer stays is that there is a small kitchenette (with some rooms) that have a fridge and microwave - else the area is home to a variety of restaurants. I have found the area safe, the location very convenient yet not so noisy. There are some nice breakfast places close by, a Walgreens pharmacy - bus stops and shopping areas within a walking distance.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Wifi router - if thats of importance to you. Some rooms are undergoing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Mass
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best Christmas tree in all of San Francisco. Friendly staff, tasty cheesy wine evenings, warm muffins & fresh morning coffee! Room are truly comfortable, glinting bathrooms always clean, kitchenette perfect homey size. The photographs in the hallways are truly interesting, not paint by numbers art. Nearby restaurants are truly delectable -mainly Vietnamese- and if you crave deli you can't get better than Dave's down the block. Our cat it so at ease here it doesn't hide under the bed! Best compliment you can five a hotel is that you don't want to leave it! Clean sheets that make you fall asleep instantly.

Room Tip: I have yet to stay in a bad room after decades of going there so hard to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found this to be a nice, well kept older property. Staff was great, very helpful and friendly. However, it was hot the first night we stayed here and you had to open the windows for cool air. Not a big deal except the street noise was very bad. It was Saturday night and LOTS of people
were out LATE. IT WAS AFTER 4 am when it finally got quiet between sirens and people. This is not something we are used to.
The room was spacious, well appointed and clean. The stocked items in the room were very affordable. This was one of the few places where we could find an affordable room for 5. The hotel had a charming old appearance. Beds were decent. Housekeeping left us fresh towels outside our door since we left the do not disturb sign out while we were gone. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms would be great so you don't have to mess with the elevator. The hotel has love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel near Union Square in San Francisco for 5 nights over Thanksgiving. Our family traditionally spends time in the city every year over the holidays for shopping, enjoying the holiday atmosphere and doing various touristy things we don't normally do. Since our favorite hotel in Union Square got converted into condos, we had to find a new place this past trip. The Beresford Arms offered large family suites with ample sleeping accomodations for the 5 of us. We have 3 teenagers. The suite included a large bathroom with a spa tub and a kitchen. The hotel is at the edge of the Union Square area, on the fringes of a neighborhood that feels a little "sketchy" later at night. The room was large, but the furnishings are old and the upholstery on the sofa and chairs in the living room needed a good cleaning. The spa tub didn't work when we first arrived, but the staff fixed it the next day. It is an older spa tub, but it worked well and was nice to soak in after a long day of shopping. Our HUGE complaint is that it was impossible to get a good night's sleep, The hotel is old, and the windows are old glass panes, uninsulated, and NO soundproofing. All night long we heard EVERYONE walking down the street and firetruck and police sirens all night. We were up on the 4th floor, but still heard all the noise. I don't know if there were so many sirens because it was a busy time of year in Union Square, so more "problems". Or if it is like this all year long, but I imagine that the crowds of rowdy,noisy people late at night is a typical problem, as there are lots of bars/pubs in the area. If you want to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. We wouldn't stay here again because of this problem. However, the good things are that the staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is beautiful. They serve breakfast daily, nothing special, but it starts the day. They put up the Christmas tree while we were there, and it was quite festive. They also have a late afternoon spread with cheese, crackers and wine. We were never there during that time to take part. All in all, not a bad place, but since we actually like to get some sleep, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is as far away from street noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through hotels.com. It was a good choice. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful when booking transportation. A breakfast with pastries and coffee is available each morning with cheese and wine served in the afternoon. It is in a great location-walking distance to Union Square and a cable car stop.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had a street view-could hear cars and fire engines all night but we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel (circa 1910) on Nob Hill shows a dated elegance. The lamps, headboards and dressers are ornate. Very stylish paintings adorn the walls of the rooms and hallways. The bathroom fixtures are European style double knobbed faucets, but the shower fixtures show their age. We had a junior suite with a kitchenette. There's a small sitting room alcove with a small desk and sofa, 2 beds, a large bathroom (with a large tub/jacuzzi, and 2 sinks), and a modern kitchenette with full sized refrigerator, compact microwave oven, electric cooktop and oven and toaster. Rooms are clean, although the towels had a few flecks of colored lint. The sound of the water in the heating radiator and the cooing of pigeons in the central "courtyard" lull you to sleep, although you can hear the muffled conversation and creaking of the guests walking in the room above, or the closet door sliding closed in the adjoining room. The main door to the room from corridor has a 2" gap at the bottom, so I plugged this with a bath towel to block out the hallway lights at night and stifle the sounds in our room.The television is old (cathode ray tube, not flat screen), and there were very few channels available (NBC, CNN, PBA, CW, ESPN, ESPN2), even fewer than those listed on the TV channel card provided. The hotel is located on Nob Hil near Union Squarel, so be prepared to walk up and down some steep side streets to get to the Powell BART station. Tenderloin district is adjacent, so be careful where you walk, especially at night. Continental breakfast with croissants, muffins, pastries and fruit, coffee and tea. Still, for <$175 a night through AAA discount for midweek during a convention, it was a great deal, close to the Moscone Convention Center.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.