We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Save Saved
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best thing about Beresford Arms is undoubtedly its location and price. With a rate of about USD120+ per night (inclusive of taxes) and a 3-block walk to Union Square and a further 10-minute walk to Powell Street BART/Powell Street Cable Car station/F-Line bus stop and the shopping heart of San Francisco along Market Street, this accommodation is definitely worth it. It is also easy to get to the following major attractions in San Francisco from the hotel:
- Alcatraz and Fisherman's Wharf: F-Line bus from Market Street
- Golden Gate Bridge: Muni Bus no. 28 along Geary Street and change to Bus no. 38
- Berkeley: Take the BART from Powell Street to Downtown Berkeley

There are also 2 convenience stores directly across Post Street and Jones Street, where you can buy daily necessities, such as bottled water. Food wise, Beresford Arms is easily accessibility to restaurants of all cultures - Japanese (Sakana along Post Street and Sanraku along Sutter Street), Thai (iThai along Post Street), American (Honey Honey along Post Street), etc. One thing that may be a concern to some is that Beresford Arms is located right at the northern edge of the infamous Tenderloin (the seedy neighborhood of San Francisco). However, in my daily walk to and from the hotel, I have had no "eventful" encounters.

Although the hotel's amenities are of a 2 or 3-star standard, the room and bathroom are clean, well-kept and comfortable. There is also free Wi-Fi and 2 desktop computers at the lobby where you can access the internet. Breakfast, which is held at the lobby daily from 7-10am is free, simple and cozy where you can help yourself to a delightful mix of muffins, croissants, fruits and hot beverages (coffee, tea and chocolate), while mixing around with other guests. There's also free wine and cheese available daily from 3.30 to 5.30pm.

Service wise, the service staff are most helpful. They assisted to change my USD100 notes into smaller denominations and provided good concierge services. Airport shuttle at USD15 is also available. You just need to arrange with the service staff a day or two in advance.

The downsides are that the rooms can be noisy due to the intermittent sirens from emergency vehicles speeding down Post Street and the noise transmitted from the neighboring rooms (the walls are rather thin).

Overall, I'd a pleasant one-week stay at Beresford Arms and would recommend this to any one travelling to San Francisco for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    324
    112
    25
    21
See reviews for
157
228
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived late and tired after a long journey, and were welcomed like old friends, so were immediately revived. Staff unfailingly friendly and helpful. We were given an upgrade so had a kitchen attached to our room. The room was large and very comfortable, clean and well equipped - the free wifi worked well too. Best of all was the afternoon cheese and wine get-together where we made fascinating contacts with other guests. We were offered free wine and snacks for over an hour, with a waiter coming round to fill glasses. There was a jar for gratuities which we gave to generously because we were so impressed. Breakfast was included and this was a simple selection of pastries and fruit, with tea and coffee - really all you need to fortify you for a day exploring SF. Good position near Union Square. You CAN walk to Fishermans Wharf, but better to go on the cable car!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Let me start by saying that in San Francisco you can go from a good block to a lousy one just by making a turn, so location is very important.

I have been many times to SF (if I didn't live in Panama, this is the city I would live) and I absolutely LOVE the city. I always try different hotels each time I visit and I think this is the best one for groups.

Upon arrival I was greeted in the counter by a very helpful fellow (I should start paying attention to their names to post them too) who made the registration process totally painless and gave me a lot of information on what to do, where to go and what to see.

The rooms that we got were very spacious, the beds were comfy, it had a very nice bathroom and a full kitchen (stove, fridge, microwave, sink, dishes and silverware). It even had a table with a couple of chairs so you can eat there. This was a treat!

There are many restaurants in walking distance (Thai, Italian, burgers, etc) and a mini market where you can purchase about anything to keep in your kitchen (we made sandwiches for our wine tour the next day).

The hotel had a complementary breakfast (very basic, but still something over nothing) and a wine and cheese from 4:30 to 5:30 p.m. (sometimes extended till 6 p.m.) which was incredible. They had great wine and keep your glassed filled up all the time. This was better than going to the wineries LOL!

Part of the fun going to SF is using their public transportation system (mainly buses and cable cars). You can buy a passport for 3 or 7 days at a Walgreen's 3 blocks down in Sutter. The 7 day pass was about $24 which was a very nice deal. There are many ways to get around. We crossed the street to get the 27 bus going to Market St. and that one stopped right in front of Westfield Mall. For Fisherman's Wharf we took the 27 going north on Levenworth and then the 47 from Van Ness. Coming back was even easier taking the 47, getting off on Sutter, walking to Post and hopping on either the 2, 3 or 76. Most bus stops tell you the time the next bus is due, and that is awesome.

They do have valet parking but SF is not a driving city. You walk around and take the bus. Simple as that. But if you do have a car, expect to pay around $35 a day for parking.

I have no complaints over my choice in this hotel and I will most definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For the price this is a good pick. Hotel is quaint has a 1920s feel. Close to transportion to visit anywhere in the city. Neighborhood felt safe. Enjoyed my stay would return. Breakfast included. Stayed for two nights visited China town, wharf, Alcatraz, crazy z street

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was located close to Union Square but in a very weird area.
It was expensive and room was dirty and noisy. Staff was not friendly and breakfast was horrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I could see much better ones in the same area. My worst experience with hotels in California.

Room Tip: Probably there are better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of night with a friends, on a city break before returning to the UK.

Why would you want to stay here? The price is reasonable. The location is only a 5 minute walk from Union Square. If you like sushi, there are a couple of excellent Japanese Restaurants within a couple of blocks. The room was large and well furnished. We were "internal" so didn't suffer with street noise, but didn't have a view from the window. The Union Square car renatl locations are only a couple of blocks away, so you can drop off your vehicle and walk to the hotel. The wifi is included

Why wouldn't you want to stay here? Despite being in an old building, with lots of original features, there was no real character. The staff are going-through-the-motions.

A developer could spend a lot on money turing this place into a beautiful designer boutique hotel. When that happens, I'll no longer be able to afford to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Junee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We mhad booked a very quiet room desite previous reviews.

We arrived and 1 person on the desk, which was always the case. They had some difficulty so with the others who were checking in as we arrived so we checked our second stay in a few days time. No evidence if this stay despite our confirmed emails.

We went to our room. In the first 20 mins. there were so many sirens that knew I could not sleep there so we went back to reception, who very quickly gave us another room. Upon our check out he next morning we asked for the same room, but we had booked a junior suite, so couldn't get this.

The rooms were OK. We found that the taps in the bathroom didn't always go the same ie hot and cold were different sides or they turned the opposite way which caused a problem when I was in the shower and couldn't get to the cold tap to turn off the hot water. Rooms also smelt dusty due to work to comply with earthquake ordances.

The rooms are spacious and well presented. Location is very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is OK since it is free, but if you wnat more the look elsewhere. Happy hour the same, but it really is a great time to catch with others. We found over our 6 days there that some people went early to get the "better"spots. but it was still good.

Nearby, as in across the street there is a laundromat whre you can do your own or leave for a wash and fold service. Good price and efficient. The corner on the same side is a small store with basics and freindly staff. A resturant we found good was iThai across the road run by young people with a new view on Thai food an very reasonable in price. Yummy.

Staff very as helpful as you could want, although we had asked if, prior to our stay if we could leave a suitcase there between a short trip. Not a problem and were given a stubb to keep. When we arived back we presented the stub, but it took 3 goes to get ours.

Would I stay there agan? No. Its too noisey for me, but if this is not a problem, then yes. The staff, location would sell it.

If like me you like a quiet room and need a dark room then I would think again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Also Known As:
Beresford Arms Hotel
Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.