We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beresford Arms Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beresford Arms Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice place to stay. Just a few blocks from the centre of town.The hotel is 100 years old and is very nicely laid out. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Free wi-fi in rooms. Check out the Owl Tree bar a couple of blocks down Post street.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the free breakfast unless you like to eat muffins everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    406
    166
    41
    25
See reviews for
209
304
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were warmly greeted on arrival and checked very quickly which was good as the afternoon complimentary wine and cheese was about to be served.
Our room was comfortable and quite spacious, breakfast was american style, croissants, coffee or tea, fruit and pastries.
the reception are well informed and helped with all enquiries, and helped with booking the tours, I would highly recommend the Beresford Arms.

Room Tip: we were in room 105 which was on the second floor downstairs, the bathroom has a shower cubicle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago for the first time. We have traveled to San Francisco many times over the years and decided to stay near Union Square for the first time. We knew we wouldn't be needing a room for anything other than sleeping so wasn't concerned with high end amenities. The room was fine - clean and comfortable, bed was fine, bathroom was fine. The television didn't work but wasn't really a big deal. Location near Union Square is great. For the price - minus the crazy taxes you pay to stay in San Francisco - you get access to a great location for much less than other hotels in the area. The street noise was incredibly loud at night (we were on the first floor with windows right on the street) so if you are a light sleeper you will want to ask for a room on the quiet side.

If you are just needing a place to crash then this fits the bill quite nicely.

Room Tip: There is definitely a noisy side - if you are a light sleeper ask for the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 8 days there and returned home this past weekend. There was not one thing that I felt could have been better. Every aspect from the lovely lobby, light breakfast, and delightful wine "party" every afternoon. This was especially fun as it gives the guests an opportunity to meet fellow travelers.
The people at the front desk were extremely helpful and were all the staff. There is no airconditioning, but a fan is provided. The rooms were fine and had a large bathroom.
The other real plus was the location. Very easy to access the MUNI or walk to so many wonderful areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First time at this hotel and it was perfect for myself and two adult daughters. Large bedroom with sittiing room and kitchen. The bathroom was large enough for 3 to share. The staff was friendly and responsive to any request or questions. Super location and the price is the best value in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our 2nd time in the city but 1st at this hotel. It is ideally situated just 3 blocks from the buzz of Union Sq. The place has a great charm & nice architecture. The staff are all bright, happy & helpful. The room we had was lovely, with 2 queen beds & a really well appointed en suite. There is a stocked fridge that can be used if you need a drinks & you pay for what you use. Breakfast is a simple but adequate continental style laid on in the beautiful lobby. If there is a down side, it is that because the building is old it is not well soundproofed by modern standards & the regular emergency vehicles that are inevitable in any big city can on occasion disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Rear rooms probably less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First thing that hit me were how large the rooms were. For being a heritage building I was expecting more 'European' sized rooms. Lots of space, large bathroom and a little kitchenette. It was the best price in this area that didn't have horrible reviews, and we were so glad we stayed here. There was some street noise, but we found turning on the fan that was in the closet created the perfect 'white noise' and allowed us to sleep soundly.
Location was great, close to Union Square, restaurants and transportation. We were here 3 days and got the 3 day MUNI pass which was great, well worth the $21 each. Used it for cable cars, subway and buses, quickest way to get anywhere in the hilliest city I've ever been in.
I would definitely stay here again and for those who complain, you can go spend $400/night to stay at a chain hotel a block down the road.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#135 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Andrews Hotel
#124 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Union Square
Baldwin Hotel
Baldwin Hotel
#80 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#96 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#83 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#62 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.