We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beresford Arms to your Saves list
Beresford Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

First thing that hit me were how large the rooms were. For being a heritage building I was expecting more 'European' sized rooms. Lots of space, large bathroom and a little kitchenette. It was the best price in this area that didn't have horrible reviews, and we were so glad we stayed here. There was some street noise, but we found turning on the fan that was in the closet created the perfect 'white noise' and allowed us to sleep soundly.
Location was great, close to Union Square, restaurants and transportation. We were here 3 days and got the 3 day MUNI pass which was great, well worth the $21 each. Used it for cable cars, subway and buses, quickest way to get anywhere in the hilliest city I've ever been in.
I would definitely stay here again and for those who complain, you can go spend $400/night to stay at a chain hotel a block down the road.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    347
    141
    37
    22
See reviews for
186
268
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights @ this hotel last weekend. The location is excellent! We were only a few blocks from just about anywhere - cable car, Union Square, BART station. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Coffee was always on early & we enjoyed the nice continental breakfast every morning. The room was spacious & the service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is a few blocks west of Union Square on Post Street. Post is much safer and quieter than Geary St. where I stayed last time. There aren't as many pan handlers. Market St. is also just a few blocks away. There are many ethnic restaurants a block down the street on Jones and on Post. A drugstore is a block or so away on Geary and Taylor. There are numerious neighborhood groceries within a block as well.

The hotel is packed because the rates are very reasonable for a well-located hotel.

I was in a ground floor renovated room. The hotel has the potential for grace and comfort. Sadly, the owner did not not invest adequately in its renovation. The windows are thin, letting in drafts and street noise. There are no window screens and flies visit, looking for supper. The construction of the shower stall did not allow for proper closing of the door. However, unlike many newer hotels, the furnture, though shabby, offers plenty of drawer space. The ceilings on my floor were relatively high. The rooms could have been comfortable and lovely, if only the owner had invested in adequate quality renovation and spent just a bit more for furniture and room fans.

The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast is sweet rolls and coffee with some fruit. There is a Happy Hour with snack mix, Ritz crackers and sliced supermarket cheese. Free wine is provided but I don't drink so I can't report on that.

There are also computers for guest use in the lobby and in the first floor hallway. Wifi is available in rooms. I could not get cell phone reception in my room but I really didn't mind.

San Francisco is so expensive that for the $150.00 per night that I paid, I am not sure that I could get anything better. I also don't spend that much time in my room so the accommodations met my needs.

I think I would have paid a bit more to see this lovely old building get the treatment it deserves. The ghosts of those who frequented these rooms when the hotel was grand must be sighing in despair. If they appear this Halloween, perhaps they can ask the owner to properly restore their former haunt.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as you can if you are sensitvie to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We prebooked at the Beresford Arms and was pleased with the city price. Although the valet service was at an additional charge it was super efficient. Definately don't let no parking put you off, because lots of hotels lack parking due to the nature of the city. It's an excellent location, near to the cable cars, union square and if your a walker then its probably only about 1 hour to pier 39. Post Street is home to all the designer shops too. Old fashioned in its decor and a little bit tired and shabby in places, the rooms were adequate with only one pillow each on the bed (i supposed we could've asked for another). We had a front room and it was noisy in the morning when the traffic started, but we expected this in a busy city. Most of the staff were lovely and a nice touch was wine with cheese and biscuits late afternoon. There seemed to be unlimted wine too and a great chance to mingle with some of the other travellers. Street maps available at reception with lots of other info. A simple continental breakfast was available in the morning, the coffee was left out after 10am on our last morning and when we attempted to make another and ask for the milk, a member of staff said it wasn't available after 10am The man 'tutted' at us, then clattered and banged the drinking facilities in an ignornant and spoilt manner whilst putting them away. It was rude and unnecessary and let the hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It is an old hotel, but I noticed that they are updating some of the rooms.
The service was awesome, the staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The location was excellent, just 3 block away from union square.
The only thing that I didn't like was the breakfast, they served very few types of pastries, fruit amd coffe, no juice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had the rare treat of arriving at an older hotel that was every bit as nice as the pictures featured on it's website. Centrally located, with valet parking available($27....still a deal for downtown San Fran). The hotel was built in 1910 just after the big earthquake. It was built as small apartments for people who were waiting for their homes to be rebuilt. The lobby is right out of that era, but nicely preserved. High ceilings, gold leaf and period pieces. There is a free wine and cheese hour every day at 4:30pm.
Our room was huge. An entry area, large king bedroom, a small full kitchen and a very large bathroom (large enough for my friend in a wheel chair to enter and spin around with ease) including a bidet. It looks as though the rooms were redone in the early eighties, but every thing look fit and worked well. There is a continental breakfast each morning also. Our room was right next to the elevator, so I feared a lot of noise....not so...very quiet elevator. I read some reviews that complained about the area and the homeless; this is a real city and reality shows itself. There really is no problem for city savvy travelers. There are many good ethnic restaurants in the area and you are within walking distance to all the major attractions. I've a few reviews that say it is not a good value...other hotels of this quality in the area are at least 15 to 20 percent more expensive and don't have the same helpful staff and great atmosphere. The clientele of this hotel is very international (an added treat). My only concern would be a mid-summer booking...there was no a/c in our room, just fans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great place to stay, enjoyed the breakfasts and the afternoon drinks. It is very easy to walk to Union Square and the shopping area. Hotel is older in style, but this is what we liked about it. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Shops for food and drink just across the road. There is an excellent restaurant down the road called Fino, it is worth a visit. We had two room next to each other, they where large with plenty of seating. We also had kitchen is our rooms, this was very handy. We even worked out how to use the coffee maker to make a cup of tea!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.