We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Union Square Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Union Square Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived by car. No parking at hotel so you have two choices. Park in the street. Be very careful to read all the parking signs and note which side of the street you are. We got a £60 fine. The other is the paid parking, which we used. We made sure we could take the car in and out freely. The hotel is clean and very basic. No facilites in room or the rest of hotel. There is a starbucks very close for coffee etc.Great location and we used the trames and open top buses to get around. Cheep with great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, RF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has perfect location, just 3 min walk from Union square, from where you can take city tour buses. Masy's and historic tram - 3 min walk from hotel. Lots of cafees in the district. Bus station - 10 min by taxi. The room is rather big, about 20m2, but furniture is old. Bathroom is not big. Reception staff doesn't care much about guests, I asked them to get a taxi for me, the answer was: " just go in the street and do it yourself",- not nice. Still the hotel is good for students and those who have no car.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Oly_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Dirty, no shampoo, poor tv, no free wifi, long elevator, super loud trucks at 4am, no locks on huge Windows, no mirroor in room, phone did not work... Old style, only go if youre on a budget, only positive, is the location...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

San Francisco is home to an almost endless array of small, "boutique" hotels. Some are quirky in a fun way, others just scary. The Union Square Plaza Hotel fall somewhere in the middle. Overall it is clean, with a decent bed and TV. No radio though and the internet connection for a $5.00 / day charge is slow and sometimes non existent. Be sure to bring your own soap and toiletries because there is no shampoo or conditioner for the shower (although there is a hair dryer, iron and ironing board.) The little packets of soap are made in India and probably gotten at close out for 10 cents a case of 1000. They break apart on opening. No coffee makers in the room and only a small hot water dispenser ( no hot cups) in the lobby should you want to make a cup of coffee.
My one complaint would be the water pressure for a showering. My room, on the fourth floor had very low water pressure, making a shower a somewhat extended activity - but the water was hot.
All in all a reasonable value though a bit sparse. Consider it for location price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Geary Street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank microsciences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to union square many times. My favorite time is Christmas ! All the lights the beautiful Christmas tree and of course to watch the kids and adults ice skate. With all the stores decorated with different scenes it is just beautiful . A must do to experience !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimical65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Positives: clean, comfortable, relatively quiet (you are downtown, after all), great location, courteous staff (minimal interactions), price (especially considering location)

Negatives: no extras, really, but like I said, you get what you pay for. WiFi is extra, but if you're opting to stay downtown you probably aren't doing it so you can stay in your hotel room.

Note: I booked through Hotels.com and the gentleman at reception had no record of me. However, he quickly made accommodations and I was given a room prior to the posted check-in time, so kudos for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Centrally located, convenient and cheap. But this is an old building, small and worn down rooms and noisy. We were on the first floor and you could hear the traffic. The room and the bed were not in a good condition. This is a super budget hotel and has no conceirge or room service. Just one guy at the front desk (who was pretty friendly and helpful). It was a bit of a pain to park our car on the road (which was a no parking zone at the time) and take out our luggage and check-in at the hotel without concierge.

It is a good option to crash for a short stay and if you want to avoid the expensive SF hotels. We stayed here for just a one night stopover, so it was fine. I would avoid it for longer stays. We paid $105 (with taxes) for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Legal_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#177 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#89 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#143 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#132 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Address: 432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing