We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, big rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Plaza Hotel

Best prices from these 6 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Union Square Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Union Square Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Moscow, RF
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Perfect location, big rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has perfect location, just 3 min walk from Union square, from where you can take city tour buses. Masy's and historic tram - 3 min walk from hotel. Lots of cafees in the district. Bus station - 10 min by taxi. The room is rather big, about 20m2, but furniture is old. Bathroom is not big. Reception staff doesn't care much about guests, I asked them to get a taxi for me, the answer was: " just go in the street and do it yourself",- not nice. Still the hotel is good for students and those who have no car.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    92
    104
    75
    64
See reviews for
41
128
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, no shampoo, poor tv, no free wifi, long elevator, super loud trucks at 4am, no locks on huge Windows, no mirroor in room, phone did not work... Old style, only go if youre on a budget, only positive, is the location...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

San Francisco is home to an almost endless array of small, "boutique" hotels. Some are quirky in a fun way, others just scary. The Union Square Plaza Hotel fall somewhere in the middle. Overall it is clean, with a decent bed and TV. No radio though and the internet connection for a $5.00 / day charge is slow and sometimes non existent. Be sure to bring your own soap and toiletries because there is no shampoo or conditioner for the shower (although there is a hair dryer, iron and ironing board.) The little packets of soap are made in India and probably gotten at close out for 10 cents a case of 1000. They break apart on opening. No coffee makers in the room and only a small hot water dispenser ( no hot cups) in the lobby should you want to make a cup of coffee.
My one complaint would be the water pressure for a showering. My room, on the fourth floor had very low water pressure, making a shower a somewhat extended activity - but the water was hot.
All in all a reasonable value though a bit sparse. Consider it for location price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Geary Street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been to union square many times. My favorite time is Christmas ! All the lights the beautiful Christmas tree and of course to watch the kids and adults ice skate. With all the stores decorated with different scenes it is just beautiful . A must do to experience !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Positives: clean, comfortable, relatively quiet (you are downtown, after all), great location, courteous staff (minimal interactions), price (especially considering location)

Negatives: no extras, really, but like I said, you get what you pay for. WiFi is extra, but if you're opting to stay downtown you probably aren't doing it so you can stay in your hotel room.

Note: I booked through Hotels.com and the gentleman at reception had no record of me. However, he quickly made accommodations and I was given a room prior to the posted check-in time, so kudos for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Centrally located, convenient and cheap. But this is an old building, small and worn down rooms and noisy. We were on the first floor and you could hear the traffic. The room and the bed were not in a good condition. This is a super budget hotel and has no conceirge or room service. Just one guy at the front desk (who was pretty friendly and helpful). It was a bit of a pain to park our car on the road (which was a no parking zone at the time) and take out our luggage and check-in at the hotel without concierge.

It is a good option to crash for a short stay and if you want to avoid the expensive SF hotels. We stayed here for just a one night stopover, so it was fine. I would avoid it for longer stays. We paid $105 (with taxes) for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, VT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was an awful smell in the corridors. The room I was in was rundown and did not give the impression of being particularly clean. The front desk staff were helpful and the hotel is convenient for downtown SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Address: 432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Square Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.