We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cheap.. but shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Union Square Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Square Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and cheap.. but shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Centrally located, convenient and cheap. But this is an old building, small and worn down rooms and noisy. We were on the first floor and you could hear the traffic. The room and the bed were not in a good condition. This is a super budget hotel and has no conceirge or room service. Just one guy at the front desk (who was pretty friendly and helpful). It was a bit of a pain to park our car on the road (which was a no parking zone at the time) and take out our luggage and check-in at the hotel without concierge.

It is a good option to crash for a short stay and if you want to avoid the expensive SF hotels. We stayed here for just a one night stopover, so it was fine. I would avoid it for longer stays. We paid $105 (with taxes) for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    92
    104
    74
    64
See reviews for
41
128
51
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, VT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was an awful smell in the corridors. The room I was in was rundown and did not give the impression of being particularly clean. The front desk staff were helpful and the hotel is convenient for downtown SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Union Square and do not care about appearance or quality, this is the place. The building is very old, as are the windows which makes for very noisy nights. The bathrooms are very tiny with the sink in the room versus inside of the bathroom. This can, however, be a benefit if you're traveling with multiple people. We received no washcloths and the towels are dingy. The elevator is creaky and often takes several minutes to get where you're going.

This hotel is great if you plan on spending very little time in the hotel, but don't expect any extra amenities, like shampoo, conditioner, coffee maker, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was a bit worried when I booked this hotel after reading the other reviews. I just needed a centrally located hotel near the Hilton for a conference, and didn't want to pay $300 a night for a room I would only be sleeping in.
When I arrived at the hotel I was very impressed by its location, a block from where I needed to be, and opposite a theatre. The front desk staff where very friendly, and as my luggage hadn't made it over with me they suggested a couple of local options for buying some essentials.
The room was clean and tidy, a little aged, but I would classify it as charming and quaint. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well, and it had a decent size bathroom and closet. It didn't have air conditioning, but did have opening windows, and San Francisco is not exactly warm in October, so it wasn't an issue.
Everything I needed was within walking distance, fast food for late night cravings after a 16 hour flight, decent restaurants on the other side, drug store, and decent shops a few blocks away.
If you are after 5 star opulence, then pay the $350 a night down the road. If you need a clean functional room near the centre of town, this is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, N.J. 08007
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was in need of a face lift...was not a 4 star as advertised. On the positive side....the sheets were clean and the bathroom, although dated was clean. The noise on the street was a bit much especially on weekends, but the price was cheap for San Francisco...so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The 1st thing that ' greets ' you is the smell , which rather resembles a body decomposing at a guess .
On entering our room it was quite apparent they've never hired a window cleaner . The wallpaper hanging off the wall was just as obvious as the window sill crumbling away .
It looked like the rust on the radiator had merely been painted over . The wooden block propping up the radiator to stop it falling off the wall was a 1st for me .
We ordered a roller bed for the room . When this eventually arrived , we had to remove some furniture to get it in . Needless to say , when we tried the door to the room it couldn't fully open .
We booked this room for 2 nights . How we managed to stay just the 1 is beyond me .
The following morning we packed our bags and checked in at the hotel 2 doors up , deciding to take a hit on our money rather than deciding to stay another night .
WORST HOTEL EVER .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my first trip to San Francisco, CA. We chose the hotel based on its "quaintness" and location. Loved the location and wasn't expecting a 4 star room. It was small, but adequate. Was surprised there was no refrigerator or ice machine. (The Jack in the Box nearby has a great $1 Lg. drink special - we ordered that and asked them to hold the soda!) Our room overlooked the alley and, living in Florida, we were looking forward to opening the windows. During the day, the city noises are not too overwhelming. At night, windows open or closed, you're going to hear lots of noise: street people rummaging through the trash bins for bottles or arguing amongst themselves; being jarred out of a sound sleep between 2-5 am by the trash trucks - and they don't all come on the same day; and nearby employees park their motorcycles in the alley. Windows offer no muffling of the noise, you will wake up! You WILL also be awakened each morning at 7 am by a group of protesters with bullhorns at a nearby hotel. That got us up and out early, at least the city wakes up early. We simply turned in early each night - had to in order to get some sleep before the noise started!

Room Tip: Do not get a backside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Address: 432 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Square Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.