We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serrano Hotel

Save Saved
You added Serrano Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bracknell, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October and found the staff to be helpful and friendly and the hotel itself to be well maintained. The room was a good size, it was clean and not at all tired, the bed was comfortable and really the only thing I could complain about was the porters at the hilton across the street using a horn/siren to get the attention of taxis late at night, but that's not the Serrano's fault.

The location was good, although on the edge of an area that you wouldn't want to walk through - luckily to get to the centre / union square you walked the other way so it didn't end up being an issue. It's about a 5 minute walk to union square, the cable car turnaround and the main shopping street so well located for getting around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    553
    176
    56
    25
See reviews for
154
417
85
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and had a fun filled extended weekend. The staff at the Serrano are so nice and accommodating. The Doorman is very helpful with luggage and information. The room is comfortable and clean. The bed is a queen and very comfortable. Even though it is in a busy street, the noise level is very low. The room is dark for a restful night. Plus, the wine hour is fun to experience.
The only criticism is that our room could have used an end table on both sides of the bed. Otherwise, everything was great. We would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Serrano during a convention in San Francisco. While everyone else complained about the tiny rooms and high prices at the other hotels, I was perfectly pleased with mine. They offered me the room with the 'best view' which happened to be right off the elevator near the top floor. I couldn't hear the elevator at all in my room, but you do hear the noise of the city. (Which, I heard from others, even happened in the higher end hotels) Serrano is an older hotel, but the things that matter are very nice. Bathrooms seem to have been recently remodeled and the bed was so comfortable. I have to admit, I slept like a baby. The location is super handy. I was within walking distance of all the best restaurants and even the convention center was an easy walk from the hotel (sans heels). The front desk staff and doormen made sure I knew where I was going and how to get there at every point, making me feel as if I was a special guest. I had a chance to eat at Jasper's, the attached restaurant, and was more than pleased with their elaborate food and drink choices. Overall, you cannot go wrong with the Serrano considering the price, location and staff. If you're a snob and cannot deal with an older building, stay somewhere else.

4 stars because I would've liked coffee in my room, but they serve it downstairs and also serve wine every evening.

Green Features: Enjoyed they were environmentally friendly with a recycling trash can in my room.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having stayed at the Hilton and other big boring box hotels, finding this little place is such a relief. It is old and you will find the paint on the door trim is peeling. But so what. It is so cute and full of character. They offered me a room next to the elevator or a quiet room facing a wall. I chose the quiet room without hesitation. And indeed it faces a wall. It is also perfectly quiet in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: If you choose the quiet rooms facing the wall be prepared - it is just an alleyway away. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and requested quiet room after flying from UK. Room was excellent, this is a period hotel and we loved it. The room was sumptous and the leapord robes are different. The free wine tasing each day is fun and we made sure we made it back for this after sight-seeing. Easy walk to Union Square and to Cable car stops to Fisherman's Wharf which I would recommend. We ate in Jasper's the first night and had a great burger and beer, the place was busy with great atmosphere, we had breakfast included and was fruit and bagels/pastries which was more than adequate for us. We also ventured to the Italian quarter to eat after that (take the bus, really easy). The beautiful hotel certainly enhanced our stay in San Fran and I would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a high room on the same side as Jaspers and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Catherine H,

I am so happy to read about your time with us, it's always pleasant to hear that our hotel enhanced our guests visit to our charming city.

We hope you will be back soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were small but clean and adequate. Location was fine as long as you took O'Farrell or Geary east to Powell or Mason. One block south on Taylor gets pretty sketchy. Restaurant is cute, but food was super salty. Service was prompt at times and lacking at others. I was excited to stay at Kimpton again after an amazing experience in San Diego, but sadly did not match up. Still would try their brand again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear KelkieAnn,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Serrano - I am sad to read your stay wasn't as flawless as your San Diego experience... certainly an opportunity for us to tighten our procedures here. I will talk to our restaurant team about your comments as well.

I hope that you'll give us a second chance in the near future.

Until then,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Only a few blocks to Union Square. Great restaurant located at hotel, Jasper's. Bathrooms are small, but it is an older property. Nice leopard robes in the closet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Weezee42-
We are so happy you enjoyed our property, location, and Jasper’s Corner Tap! We look forward to your return… Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#81 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel elegantly embodies the spirit of San Francisco. Housed in a beautifully restored 17-story Spanish revival building, this welcoming boutique hotel provides an extraordinary and engaging focal point for an unforgettable stay. In the center of the city, the Serrano Hotel is within easy reach of Union Square, Moscone Convention Center, the Financial District and San Francisco's best theaters and shops. Adjacent to the Serrano Hotel is the lively Jasper's Corner Tap & Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.