We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel just off Union Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Serrano Hotel to your Saves list
Serrano Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merced, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel just off Union Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Serrano Hotel is an excellent boutique hotel located in a historic building very near Union Square. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and beautiful lobby. The rooms are on the smaller size (historic building, San Francisco -- expected), but very nicely decorated and comfortable. Great location if you want to see the city...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Dan R,

I couldn't have said it best. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    622
    225
    75
    34
See reviews for
190
488
97
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a nice stay here. You can't beat the location, right in the heart of the city, near all sorts of great restaurants and dive bars. As with many hotels in the city, the rooms can be a bit small, but ours was clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the free wine reception in the lobby was a nice touch. I think it was a little pricey, but I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Head to "Shalimar" on Jones street for great, cheap Indian food, in a casual diner atmosph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jason D,

We'd love to have you again, come back soon - I am very happy to read your comments and find that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel blind on Hotwire base on location and star rating only. While my wife wasn't pleased with the hotel decoration or the size of the rooms it was very comfortable.

I must say that the best thing of the Serrano is its location. Everything you need to do or go is near by or just a hop from a bus, train or street car away.

If you want a lavish hotel with impressive rooms, and lots of amenities then this might fall short of your expectations.  If you're looking for a comfortable place to sleep after a long day of sightseeing that is near everywhere you might want to go then this is a nice choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear NetoA5,

Thank you for your review, we are certainly blessed when location is concerned and our historic 1926 building can be space challenged, but we are full of charm... just like the Titanic but I don't think we will be sinking anytime soon.

Come back and see us again soon,

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a quaint hotel. Not exactly what most American's would expect in a high-priced hotel, but very European. The room we stayed in (412) is quite small and the bathroom is large enough for only one person. The bed was not very comfortable - it was on the soft side and I felt as though I was sliding down the bed. The sheets were very soft and comfortable though they short-sheet the bed (flat sheets, not fitted), so my feet were always catching on the bottom edge of the sheet and feeling the mattress cover which was quite rough. The bathroom door is not hung level, so swings open and hits the toilet. The refrigerator made a loud noise, and when I checked it, it wasn't even cold, so I shut it off. There is no view except that of the parking garage from this room. Avoid the very over-priced honor bar - one small bottle of water is $4 and a bag of M&Ms is $5! Those are the two items we bought with our complimentary $10 allocation. They did have free wi-fi if you sign up for their rewards program - which we had to do twice because, though we signed up days in advance, when we went to sign in they had no record of us. Also, the desk has no way top look up your membership! The bar/restaurant next door is VERY loud and carries over into the hotel lobby. All in all - looks are very nice, but deep down, this is just an average quaint hotel not worthy of the prices/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear marygraham,

We will definitely look into the issues mentioned, thank you for bringing those up as we want to prevent it from ever happening at Serrano. I hope you will come back and give us an opportunity to impress.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just stayed at the Serrano last week for 5 days with my wife and 3 year old daughter. Was very impressed with the lobby - really beautiful.

The rooms were pretty small - we had a twin queen I think - which would be fine for business travel but pretty small for a family trip. The room was nicely decorated, although the beds were a little soft for my tastes. Everything was in good order and well maintained.

Overall the hotel had a few bumps and scrapes (which prevented the 5 star review), but it was in good order overall.

The free drinks reception was a really nice touch, and the free wifi was excellent - although you do need to register, and the speed was pretty patchy at certain times.

I wasn't that impressed with the breakfast at Jaspers - the adjoining bar. It was Ok, but I thought it to be a little pricey.

The area is interesting, I would say it is right on the edge of a good into bad neighbourhood. If you go straight or left out of the hotel you are just fine. If you go right, it can get a little shady pretty quickly. That said, it is extremely handy for access to Union Square and beyond, so you have to balance it all out.

Overall, I thought the hotel was consistently very good throughout our trip, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear jeepinaldo,

Thank you for your review, we can't wait to be your host again. Come back and see us soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was clean, has a very accomodating staff, comfortable beds, a great location and is quiet. I loved the morning coffee/tea and evening wine in the lobby. I could easily recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear CMSinCO,

Thanks for stopping by and commenting about your stay with us, I am really happy you enjoyed it - and we'd love to have you back. Feel free to reach out to me if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having stayed 3 nights at The Fairmont on Nob Hill, we moved here for 2 nights and loved it.
The location is great. Whilst a few people say its a bit dodgy I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we found it fun and refreshing and so close to Union Square etc.
Staff were really great, helpful and courteous.
The room was on the 7th floor and a king deluxe. It was moderate in size but as we were travelling light it was perfect and clean.
The bar next door (Jaspers) is brilliant, we had such fun in there and the food is great also. We had some of the best service in all California in there.
We will be back...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear moleandbird,

Thank you for your comments, I am extremely pleased to find out you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly strive to make our guests feel right at home, and we hope you will be back soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel elegantly embodies the spirit of San Francisco. Housed in a beautifully restored 17-story Spanish revival building, this welcoming boutique hotel provides an extraordinary and engaging focal point for an unforgettable stay. In the center of the city, the Serrano Hotel is within easy reach of Union Square, Moscone Convention Center, the Financial District and San Francisco's best theaters and shops. Adjacent to the Serrano Hotel is the lively Jasper's Corner Tap & Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.