We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Central Location with Special Birthday Treatment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #37 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Maria, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Central Location with Special Birthday Treatment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I booked this reservation online directly through their website and stayed in room 902, a deluxe suite. This was definitely the most expensive hotel stay I've ever booked, but since it was my husband's birthday I wanted it to be extra special. While I was a little disappointed with the city view (a direct shot into some offices across the street), I think my expectations were completely met in regards to the spa bath and everything else about the room. We were staying in the room closest to the elevator and didn't hear a thing, which was wonderful!

The service we received was wonderful! I called in advance and spoke with Lauren, who was really nice and helped me set everything up for the room and my man's birthday. She had great recommendations for us. When we arrived, everything was arranged as well as a couple extra surprises which were so sweet!

We did use the Museum Parc Garage which is within walking distance at 3rd and Folsom to avoid having to pay $45 a night. It worked out well for us.

Bottom line- the best features of this hotel are location and service! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    464
    125
    45
    30
See reviews for
214
495
95
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

The hotel had an amazing weekend rate in July. I am still amazed considering the high quality of this hotel in a pricey city. The rooms were surprisingly quiet given that they overlooked bustling Market Street. All of the hotel staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, providing assistance with public and private transportation. Hotel is convenient to transit, shopping and AT&T Park. The only negative was that the mattress in the king room was due to be replaced, slightly effecting my nights' sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Granted, there is no pool if you have kids, but you are in SF! Great for couples and families, just keep an eye on the kids while walking around the streets. Close to movie theaters, and many restaurants (including cheap fast food). MANY Walgreens in the area and about a 5-6 block walk to Pier 1 of Fisherman's Warf and to Chinatown. Great transportation available (trollys, cablecars and busses) and BART station is a block away for commute to and from SFO (airport). Hotel is very clean, extremely friendly and the bell staff is really helpful. Compared to other prices, this is a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel is a little out of my budget, but my work paid for it, so I got two enjoy two nights in a fairly spacious room with a cozy king bed.

Every single member of the staff I dealt with (around 10 different people) was welcoming, courteous, and helpful. This includes the guys who parked my car and the maids I passed in the hallway. I tend to get a little discombobulated when traveling so appreciated that a lot.

A few other details that made me happy:
The room decor was tasteful and comfortable.
The temperature setting in the room worked perfectly and quietly.
The bathroom lighting had two levels: a low light and then a more intense light if needed (I have a pet peeve about bad lighting so I liked this a lot).
The internet connection was super fast and hassle free.
When I picked my car up in the basement upon leaving, the garage was immaculate.

I did not try the restaurant except for breakfast room service, which was fine.

I did not turn on the TV so I don't have any comments about the entertainment selection.

If I'm able to budget it, I hope to bring my wife here for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmetto bay fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We always stay at high end hotels and we were just delighted with our stay at the Palomar. The front desk could not do enough for us- they made great suggestions and were very accomodating with follow up calls for reservations often giving us the menus. They made us feel that it was an honor to be of service!!! They arranged car service for us at the price of a cab. The driver could not have been nicer . When we travel next ( which we often do) I will first look for a Kimpton hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Do you live in the Bay Area and can't find time to get out of town, but need a break from the routine? Try a Staycation at The Hotel Palomar! Perfect central location just off Market and a block from Yerba Buena within easy walking distance of nearly every venue. After check-in with the knowledgable & friendly staff you take private elevator to a modern, well appointed, clean & comfortable room above the city streets. The wine tasting from 5p-6p at the 5th Floor is a relaxing treat in a sophisticated bar and nice way to seque into your evening. Our first evening consisted of improptu swing-dancing one block walk away at Yerba Buena followed by stand-up comedy acts provided by SFCC on Mason St. nearby. Dancing, Laughing, Eating and the most comfortable beds yet. Large flatscreens and Ipod music docks add the the ambiance. Big win at great value close to home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I had a wonderful time at the Palomar. The staff was very helpful with all our needs and exceeded all my expectations. The wine in the lounge at the end of the day was a treat. It isn't uncommon to see the staff cleaning the fixtures and maintaining a spotless decor. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in SF.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.