We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The suites are fabulous. I felt like a movie star.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1
Ranked #38 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Everett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The suites are fabulous. I felt like a movie star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

This is one of the few hotels that looks as nice in person as it does in the pictures. We stayed in a deluxe suite on the inside of the building with windows facing away from Market street. I was there for both work and visiting friends and brought my SO with me. It was great for everything we did. It was extremely quiet, with plenty of space , and we could close the doors if one person was working and the other wanted to watch TV. But perhaps the best part was the huge jet tub! It is literally about 4' deep with jets. There is a stair into the bathtub and a separate shower. Bring bubble bath! It was a great place to work and then have a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    467
    127
    47
    30
See reviews for
215
499
97
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozkay929
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a Saturday night stay here. We have stayed in many hotels in the city and were blown away by the experience at the Palomar, everybody from the door man to check-in were very nice and helpful. We got our room with priceline and were still treated in an excellent way. It was our anniversary so we had our room upgraded along with champagne and strawberries in the room all complementary of the Palomar, it was very thoughtful and nice. We loved the Palomar, the location, service and rooms very nice. Rooms are a good size, bathrooms are huge and with a sunken tub. The bed was very comfortable and the mini bar was well stocked and very reasonable prices. Not to mention free wi-fi that is special in it's self. Over all just an awesome experience. We will make it back to the Palomar and on a regular basis.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The Kimpton Corporation describes this hotel as a 4 star and, indeed, the room was spacious with newer decoration, a comfortable mattress, and spotless. It lacked a coffee maker which meant you had to have coffee/breakfast in their very expensive restaurant or brave the legions of derelicts to get coffee at Starbucks. The bathroom was tiny and while it had a newer sink, toilet, and floor tile, it still had the original tub and dingy ceramic tub surround. Worse yet, it lacked an exhaust fan so even the briefest shower turned the bathroom into a sauna. Be prepared to wait if you want to use the exercise equipment. The "fitness center" is shoehorned into one of their smaller hotel rooms and consists of one treadmill, one elliptical, one recumbent bike, and two weight machines. I was forewarned by reviews to request a room on a "nonpet" floor which I did one week before my stay. Nevertheless, they put us on the 8th floor where we listened to a yappy dog from about 9 to 10 pm. While some may call this hotel well located--walking distance to the Moscone Center, Chinatown, North Beach, and public transportation--it is also an area swarming with aggressive panhandlers and people who's behavior is not only bizarre but bizarre at high volumes. I didn't appreciate being intimidated every time a walked out the door and will look for a hotel in a less menacing neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We recently spent a week in San Francisco. Had a gerat stay at the Palomar. We arrived at just after 10 am on Saturday morning and were expecting to have to drop our bags and check in later, but they had a room for us and were more than happy to let us check in early.

The room was very clean and we did have the robes that people on here have mentioned that are tiger and leopard print...but it is a little funny too. A few people mentioned that doors slamming in the hallway, I did hear it from time to time but it wasn't something that kept me up at night. We attended the wine tasting a couple of times and it was nice to have a little drink in the early evening. The rooms were very clean and just enough space.

If I had two comments to make it would be that the staff are not as knowledgable as they could be as we received directions a couple of times and ended up taking a long route. The other is that the room service menu is quite limited.

The location is quite spectacular for shopping and is a short 10 minute walk to the Ferry Building. The BART stops a few steps from the hotel so don't bother wasting $45 on a cab from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We did extensive trawling of hotel sites on the 'net when planning our round-the-world holiday and found the Palomar which looked great. We wanted a decent hotel - a little bit of luxury - without having to spend a fortune. We arrived after a 14hr flight and were so pleased that the images and the things that we had read were a true reflection of the reality. The reception staff were so friendly and very efficient that straight away our tiredness from travelling slipped away and we soon felt suitably refreshed to go straight out and start exploring San Francisco.

The room was very spacious and met/exceeded expectations regarding decor and fitments and the bed was huge and probably the most comfortable that we have slept in. The room was also very quiet – there was no noise to be heard from inside or outside of the hotel at any point during our stay. The design, style and cleanliness of hotel bathrooms are so often a good indication of the general standard of the rest of a given hotel – we could not fault our bathroom in any way. Free WiFi was much appreciated.


The hotel is within 100m of the Powell Street BART station, so, ideal for transport from/to the airport. It is also right next to stops on Market Street for the street cars and almost opposite a cable car stop (across Market Street) which were both great for travelling around the city. We were put off other hotels by reviews that we read which mentioned that they were in or near less desirable areas of the city which raised concerns about safety but we had no problems at all at the Palomar in this respect.

The daily wine tasting in the reception area was a nice idea but we were a little disappointed that the person manning the desk, although very pleasant, was not at all knowledgeable about the wine that they were serving other than reading the label on the bottle whether it was a Merlot, Shiraz, Chardonnay etc. Considering California is a major world wine producer it would be have been good to have been told a little more detail about the wines being offered. At all other times when we needed information or assistance we found the reception staff to be extremely knowledgeable and so willing to help make our stay in San Francisco such a pleasant experience. If we had any suggestions for improvement it would be that there could have been tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

We booked our stay at the Palomar on Hotels.com and got a very good rate.

The thing that we liked the most about the Palomar was the location (and the hotel room and the staff!). There really wasn’t anything that we didn’t like.

If we return to San Francisco we would definitely want to stay at the Palomar - there is no need for us to look at other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Slaughter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We originally booked the Intercontinental around the corner and stayed there for 3 nights, the hotel was good and the room spacious...the only negitive was the charges for the internet....and they wouldnt give a favourable rate for the following three nights as a big conference was arriving in town....I found the Palomar on line and a great rate via Expedia, more than 50% less than the Intercontinental....

It was great not as new as the Intercontinental but the service was great and the room had everything we needed....and FREE internet!!!

The team at the Palomar were excellent, very freindly, happy to help and they had a smile on their faces!!!

A great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed at the Palomar for 3 nights in an executive room. We found it okay after a long flight from the UK and travelling in on the BART, getting off at Powell Street station which was a very short walk to the hotel. We had a great lady check us in who showed us the various places to go to on a local map and the places to avoid (Tenderloin district). She gave us a discount leaftlet for the open top bus service which was used. We were on the floor above where the wine tasting was held thankfully so we didn't have lots of people walking past the rooms and we overlooked Market Street. The room was clean and tidy with a small bathroom which was adequate with L'Occitane toiletries.

We were given strange dressing gowns to use in the wardrobe - 1 leopard and 1 zebra (I understand there is a giraffe too!).

We spent a lot of time in the room as we were very jetlagged and the weather was atrocious as it poured down with rain constantly. We managed to get about with the aid of a very trusty umbrella and did the open top bus ride (which was covered thankfully). The room was comfortable and the TV was fine with adequate channels.

We did try the wine tasting once but found the wine on offer that week would be the same every night, so decided not to bother again.

Everyone we came in contact with during our stay was really friendly, from concierge to the doorman. We left our cell charger behind in the UK and the concierge went through lots of chargers in his possession to see if one would match but unfortunately it didn't but at least they tried.

We were very happy with the position of the hotel as it was close to cable car and Union Square and very easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.