We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy cocktails for $1!
Ranked #59 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend and enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect. Close to shopping, food, the BART, and Union Square. Our room had two beds. The beds were small. (Not queen.) We had to ask for extra pillows. The room size was sufficient for our party of 4. The hotel has coffee and tea in the morning. And a wine tasting in the evening. They also have fruit infused water in the lobby all day. (The strawberry was our favorite.)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
20
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Concierge was very helpful. Found us a wonderful Italian restaurant and a seafood place. Explained cable cars and bus services. Booked our bus tours, made our dinner reservations. A fountain of San Francisco knowledge. Our rooms were very clean and quiet. If you like quiet, suggest the 9th floor. There is a bar and restaurant on the 5th or 6th that can get a little noisy. Rooms were well appointed, right down to the umbrella in the closet. Arranged for a limo to the airport that didn't break the bank and was stress free. All in all a very pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: 9th floor is the best for a good night's rest
See more room tips
Green Features: Rooms had separate wastecans for recycling. You could elect to not have your towels washed each day during your stay.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Close to everything. The lobby was really cool. There was four of us and I was expecting two queen beds however I was unpleasantly surprised to see that they were both full beds. The bathroom was tiny as well. I understand $/sqft is very high right now however it seemed deceiving to have such small beds. If you are taller than 5'6 you may want to reconsider your room stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at several hotels in this area when on business trips and this has become my go-to hotel. Great location and the staff has always been very helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, and getting me a cab at 4am for an early flight. The hotel is very comfortable and the restaurant in the hotel is very good.

Also, the complimentary wine bar they have each evening from 5-6pm is a nice welcome back from a day at the office.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wish we had spent more than one night here! Convenient, lovely and close to some great food. We had a wonderful stay after a long flight, slept like a baby. Woke to an amazing view. Highly recommend this for location and for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A trendy, compact hotel, the Palomar is located in an ideal spot on 4th Ave. just off Market Street in San Francisco. Our room was small and consisted of a king size bed with TV, table and one chair. The bathroom was adequate, and the closet had two comfy robes, one of which I used. The heating system was easy to regulate and kept the temperature steady.
Considering the location in the noisy city, the room was very quiet. We never heard other sounds. The lobby is small and chilly with the doors always open, even on the windy, cool day. Wine was served there every evening. Our son and his wife brought their greyhound to stay for the weekend.
The hotel staff was the friendliest that we have experienced, and the consierge so very helpful. The cost was on par with other medium priced hotels.
For a delightful, convenient stay in the city, The Palomar is a solid choice.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel through my employer's travel booking arm so wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly delighted since I love small boutique hotels instead of large hotel chains. The breakfast was not bad, but I was expecting better Chilaquiles for the Bay area, so I stuck with fried eggs rest of the mornings. The gym was perfect for my triathlon training needs, they even has a Schwinn cycling bike! The location is just awesome, the Moscone west was only a block away, Market street shopping is less than a block away, and I had plenty of restaurant choices in every direction. I would definitely stay here again. The service and care of the staff was very "Four Seasons" like. Thank you Palomar!

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor (where the gym is) and it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#80 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the world's top 500 hotels by Travel + Leisure, the centrally located Hotel Palomar San Francisco offers a sophisticated urban sanctuary. This luxury boutique hotel occupies a beautiful historic building five floors above the bustling city streets. Showcasing the acclaimed Fifth Floor restaurant, the hotel is within easy walking distance of Union Square, Moscone Center, the Financial District, the thriving SOMA district and the best of San Francisco's theaters, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palomar San Francisco
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palomar San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.